Skip to content

1 pm today

February 18, 2008

I have to wait until 1pm today to see the vet. They have surgery all morning on Monday’s. They will be calling though if surgery ends sooner than expected to get Murphy in asap. Thank you to all the well wishes from my blogger friends… it really means a lot.. and I think the Cindy calmed my fears the most (while at the same time acknowledging something i’d secretly been hoping)..

Cindy’s dog had a seizure a year ago, and had a similar situation after the seizure with what appears to be doggie Vertigo. There is a name for it… Geriatric Vestibular Syndrome, which reading about has me absolutely convinced that this is what we are dealing with. It can be a result of an ear infection, but is often a sudden onset situation which will just as suddenly resolve over the next few weeks. I’m armed with positive feelings and education for the appointment this afternoon. 🙂

Since I’m much calmer now… I feel like I can do my usual Weekend FO roundup… so here we go…

First up the easy things to post..

The pinwheel blanket, for my friend’s baby, knit on Size 9 clover circs, with Plymouth Encore Worsted in two shades of green (close in color to the hat and booties I made for this baby too)…

pinwheel.jpg
I made one mistake that mildly bothers me and am unhappy with how the edges are curling even after blocking… going to have to think about how to proceed with this… I may just give as is.. because other than the curling, I love how it looks… the mistake is obvious to me, but I’d be surprised if Elizabeth found it right away…

Next… some items for my Dishcloth Swap pal…

A DW washcloth. I’ve heard umpteen people rave about this pattern and finally gave it a shot. Super easy knit… very quick too, and I do like the finished product 🙂

dwdishcloth.jpg

Also for my swap pal, a ‘scrubby’ of my own design. I have knit them before, they fit like a thumbless mitten over your hand and work great for washing cups and such that have ‘harder’ to reach areas for your washcloth… now I know most people put their cups into the dishwasher, but we have a few larger beer glasses from various vacations that cannot be washed in the dishwasher because of the painted design on the outside… and these scrubbers are great at getting to th bottom of those types of glasses…

in the ‘winter doldrums’ spirit of this swap, I made it look like a hat 🙂

dishclothhat.jpg

Both of these items were knit with Bernat Organic Cotton (gifted from Cass in the Dog Days Dishcloth Swap), US6 clover needles.

Next up, a surprise gift… and I know a few people out there KNOW they are getting a surprise gift from me.. so I feel confident that it’s ok to post this picture… it’s recipient might guess it’s for her.. but I love how it came out and am too impatient to NOT post it until after it’s been received…

The Kureyon Chan bag, slightly modified…, Knit with Lion Wool in pink colorway (pink, red, brown really). I changed it to have the strap pull through one side.. as you can see in one of the photos…

bag1.jpg bag2.jpg

bag3.jpg

I love this bag, super easy knit, and the perfect grab and go size 🙂 I’ll be knitting more of these soon! 🙂

I’ll finish with the item I’m so excited about… it’s the first sock in a pair.. though there’s one thing that I’m less than thrilled with, and I’ll outline that in this picture…

Knitting Pure & Simple, Easy Children’s Socks #203 
DPNs US4, King Cole 4 Seasons DK, in pinks and purples (#40491)

seehole.jpg

See that gaping hole??? Well, the pattern said to pick up 10 stitches along the heel flap, and I could tell it definitely should have been 11… but, having never knit socks or dealt with the whole heel/gusset thing before.. I wanted to follow the pattern… and now… the hole… well.. I’ll find a way to fix it and on the second of this pair I’ll be sure to follow my gut.. 😉

finishedsock1.jpg

toobig.jpg

Sock #1 of many I’m sure… it’s a tad too big, but I’m not going to complain… 🙂 The little girl won’t dream of taking it off and keeps asking me where the ‘pair’ is?? 😉

every kid in the house has since asked for their pair to be knit TODAY… hahahah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2008 10:27 am

    1) Sending healing vibes Murphy’s way. Good luck this afternoon!

    2)I think I see the pinwheel mistake, and it would bug me too. But I would not fix it if I was giving it away (since then I’d not have to see it). In any case, it’s a lovely blanket.

    3) Pretty felted bag!

    4) Socks. I usually pick up at least one more stitch than what is called for. Just be sure to pick up the same number on the other side. Also, if you knit that top gusset stitch through the back of the loop for the first round after you pick up, it twists it and helps to close that gap.
    And YAY! for sock knitting!

  2. February 18, 2008 10:49 am

    Wow! You were very productive considering all that was going on with your pup!

  3. holly permalink
    February 18, 2008 11:00 am

    Love the blanket and it is perfect. It will be wrapped around the baby anyway.

    Dishcloth looks great and scrubby too.

    Cute bag!

    Looks like you better get busy knitting all the kids socks today.

  4. February 18, 2008 11:58 am

    Give Murphy a big ole hug for me.

    Everything looks great! Especially the sock! That hole…all of us sometimes get a hole right there. You can always pick up an extra stitch and then K2TOG on the next round to bring the stitch count back down. 🙂 Easy as pie.

  5. February 18, 2008 1:38 pm

    Sending puppy love over via virtual petting and hugs.

    I LOOOOOVE the bag! What pattern is that again? I’ll have to make myself one!

    I think I see the pin wheel mistake, but I would also just gift it as is like Lesley since I won’t be seeing it again anyways.

    As for socks, I usually pick up however many stitches needed to close the hole, and just make sure I do the same on the other side.

    I just realized, I could have just said “Ditto to Lesley’s comment”… Oh well.

  6. lauriec permalink
    February 18, 2008 2:06 pm

    Belly rubs to Murphy!

    The blanket looks lovely & there is a philosophy amongst the men who make persian rugs—they purposely put a mistake in their work b/c “only God is perfect”.

    The hole in the sock wont be visible once they’ve been washed & the fiber relaxes!

    And your bag is adorable!

Leave a Reply

