Skip to content

Hmmm?

February 18, 2008

Well, we had our appointment… Murphy actually seems a tiny bit better.. walking a little more ‘stable’ and not walking into as many things… but… that being said, the vet didn’t seem overly assuring…  his ears look fine, no signs of infection, which would certainly contribute to Geriatric Vestibular Syndrome,  but… his eyes are doing this ‘rotation’ thing… which is definitely contributing to his vertigo-like behaviors…  this could be the GVS, but could be a neurological problem that might NOT correct itself.

In the meantime, he’s on a strong antibiotic to try to clear up any potential underlying infection… and we wait and see if he gets better…  when we got home  he did drink some water, which was a relief…

So much for the good mood finishing that sock gave me…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2008 2:33 pm

    I’m sorry you don’t have more solid answers. My parent’s dog was having problems with his rear legs, and I know that we were all on edge through out the whole process- from the “regular” vet to the U of M Vet Center. But, that was months ago, and he’s still kicking! He’s also 13- a boxer- Buster. Hope the antibiotics help!!!

  2. February 18, 2008 2:59 pm

    At least he is doing better. Small steps…

  3. February 18, 2008 3:21 pm

    ((hugs))

  4. February 18, 2008 5:29 pm

    I don’t know the symptoms of the illness you hope Murphy has. But I do get vertigo occasionally. In humans (and I don’t see why it would be different in canines), vertigo is caused by a middle ear problem. Which is not visible by exam and not caused by an infection treatable with anti-biotics. Not that I think you should stop his meds, just FYI from what my M.D. has told me.

    Hope he improves. Happy blogiversary.

  5. February 19, 2008 12:53 pm

    Keep me posted! Give Murph a big hug & kiss from us.

  6. Cathy permalink
    February 19, 2008 9:15 pm

    Hi! I stumbled onto your site, and I was instantly drawn to your comments about your dog Murphy. I had a dog “Heather” (scottie) who had Geriatric Vestibular Disease (or Old Dog Vestibular disease as my vet called it). One morning, Heather woke up and was very unsteady on her feet, and she had the “googly” eyes. Our vet prescribed a Vertigo medicine (can’t remember which one), and she improved greatly. I hope it helps Murphy.

Leave a Reply

