Skip to content

I’m worried

February 17, 2008

About my baby…

murph.jpg

Murphy is 13 1/2 almost…

He has had seizures for .. hmm… too many years for me to remember…  but they were never severe enough, according to our vet, to require medication.  In fact.. he went nearly a full year at one point without a seizure (that we knew of)…  and being that I stay at home and care for my kids, well, I figured I was around him enough that I’d have known..

His worst seizure was really scary… but definitely not bad in the overall scheme of how seizures can be…  he drools, sometimes loses control of his bodily functions, though never his bowels… his joints lock and he is essentially ‘frozen’ in place until the seizure passes…

Sometimes I don’t even realize he’s had one until afterwards when he’s drooling so badly that he keeps panting and licking and licking and licking…

Well, at 4am I woke up to his panting… incessant panting.. it was driving me nuts… so I took him downstairs and put him out (sometimes he does that when he needs to pee?!)… and in my extremely tired state I didn’t pay close attention to his behavior, we just climbed back up to bed… but… I couldn’t fall back to sleep… it could have been partly due to the fact that the little girl laying next to me kept talking in her sleep… ‘mommy, will you change the channel to a kids show?’… what?? she said it clear as day as if she were wide awake.. but… sure enough her pretty little eyes were closed…  no.. I couldn’t sleep because the panting started again… and then the licking… I knew that he must have had a seizure… I waited.. 20 mins.. and still.. the licking and panting… so I went down the hall and crawled into little girls bed and slept there until 9am!  Wow.. maybe I should sleep there more often…

So… I got up and was surprised to find that Murphy was not able to walk normally… STILL… this has never happened before… never…  if during or right after a seizure you try to bring him outside… or out of the room he’s in (I often move him from the carpeted area to a ‘easier to clean if necessary’ space in the house, like the bathroom or kitchen… )… if you do that during or right after a seizure.. he walks stiffly, and sort of leans to one side.. almost like he’s dizzy…  well, he’s been that way the entire day… and I’m really really freaked out…

was this a doggie STROKE?? or just a much worse seizure than he’s ever had…?  Oh please let the vet be open tomorrow morning… I hope they aren’t celebrating President’s day…

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2008 5:23 pm

    awww… I am sending good doggy thoughts to you! I can just imagine the emotion you are going through. Good luck and I hope the vet is open for you tomorrow.

  2. February 17, 2008 6:36 pm

    So sorry. Hope he’s okay.

  3. February 17, 2008 9:01 pm

    Oh honey. I’m so sorry. It’s so hard when they can’t tell us what’s going on. I’m sure the vet will be open tomorrow. Dealing with doggie seizures is so difficult. I’d guess your instincts are right, sounds like he’s had a big seizure. You know the Uberdog has them too. (((((Michelle)))))
    I hope he rests easy tonight and the vet is in first thing tomorrow.

  4. February 17, 2008 9:29 pm

    I’ll be keeping Murphy in my prayers. Hopefully it was just a really big seizure and it’s taking a little longer than normal to get over. ((hugs))

  5. holly permalink
    February 17, 2008 9:32 pm

    Murphy is in our prayers. Much hugs your way and will be waiting to hear about him.

  6. February 17, 2008 9:34 pm

    I’ll be thinking of you and Murphy in the morning.

  7. February 17, 2008 11:27 pm

    I think vets have “on call” just like dr offices, yes? I’m sure you’ll get to the bottom of it no time. I’ll be praying for you.

  8. knitisses permalink
    February 18, 2008 4:51 am

    So sorry! My best wishes to your doggy* I hope it’s nothing serious*

  9. February 18, 2008 6:38 am

    Maybe since he’s never had a medication before, it will be time for a medication and you’ll see an improvement.

    Our good thoughts are with you and Murphster.

  10. Mary permalink
    February 18, 2008 9:24 am

    Sending good doggie vibes your way! Sure hope he’s okay! Good thoughts, Good wishes, lots of prayers!

  11. February 18, 2008 9:41 am

    I’m thinking about you!!! Poor Murphy!!!

  12. chanknits permalink
    February 19, 2008 8:37 pm

    Hugs to you and Murphster. Sissy is much better, so I can now worry almost exclusively about Murphy.

    Love ALL the FOs and WIPs. I’m rather jealous of your Chan bag, which is so much cuter than the one I made a year ago. You know why, but which border would you do if you did it over again?

Leave a Reply

