Skip to content

Ooooh the fun!

January 20, 2008

Y’all can laugh all you want… but I had fun! And that’s more than I’ve been able to say about here in a long time.  Since moving here I have been LOOKING high and low for a knitting group.  I started a regional group on Ravelry in hopes of finding some folks locally that I could meet with, start our own get togethers sort of thing just like I had in my old neighborhood in NC.. but I seemed to keep hitting a dead end…

Well, I had sort of ignored my Ravelry group for a bit, kinda because I get easily sucked into hours of surfing Ravelry sometimes and just don’t really have that kind of time…  so I popped into my group the other day to find out that a semi-LYS for me was hosting a monthly get-together at the shop!  The shop is Mountain Knits & Purls, in East Stroudsburg.  The shop owner was absolutely lovely, and her shop.. wow… wonderful!  Great selection, great prices, and great discounts!  20% off in your birth month on your purchases… free patterns with the purchase of yarn, and even a discount section!  Fabuloso!

The teaching room was wonderful, large, well lit and the group of Ravelry ladies there were all such a pleasure to meet!  I had such a fun time meeting and chatting with Felicia, who I selected to be in my group for the Cocoa Swap when I saw her address was as near to mine as anyone who might randomly sign up!

I did manage to finish the 3rd dishcloth for my sister’s birthday gift… and started the 4th and final one before making the 50  min drive home 🙂

I’m finally thinking that it might not be so bad here afterall…
I took some photos of the shop and will post them tomorrow and write up a report for Anne’s LYS blog! 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    January 21, 2008 12:08 am

    Wow, that sounds like a great LYS!! and what a coincedence in meeting a swap bud!!

    Have a great week!

  2. January 21, 2008 9:03 am

    Why would anyone laugh? Seems to me you have it covered b/c….
    1. discovered a great new place to exercise your stash acquisition muscles.
    2. saw fruition of your ravelry plan.
    3. met a real-live, imaginary friend.
    4. are liking betterer and betterer your new location.

    win/win I would call it.

  3. chanknits permalink
    January 21, 2008 9:12 am

    Sounds just awesome. I’m jealous, but happy for you!

  4. January 21, 2008 10:48 am

    That’s awesome! I am lucky – there are 4 SnB each week near me, that’s not including the surrounding towns ones, and that’s not including anything that’s not called SnB!

  5. January 21, 2008 12:11 pm

    I so want to find a local group to knit with. Hmm do you think the three hour drive to your neighborhood is too much for once a week???

  6. January 21, 2008 9:23 pm

    The dishcloths look great and all that yarn looks yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

