Skip to content

FOs and other such fodder

January 21, 2008

So, I finished up my sister’s birthday gift of 4 cloths, 2 dishcloths (ie. for dishes) and 2 washcloths (ie for the bath)… I had started this fourth one at my Ravelry sit and knit that I mentioned last night. I finished it while we watched the rest of the Giants: Packers game. I’m just thrilled my Pats are in the Superbowl as I’m not a huge football fan, and when the Pats are there, I’m more likely to actually be interested in more than the commercials…

My final two cloths for my sister are from Harvest Moon Designs patterns, the first, Gathering around the Christmas Tree (or is it Fir Tree), no matter, a very cool and interesting lace pattern that I knit in sugar n cream ‘summer’, and the second is called Baby’s Breath, knit in white Cotton Ease. Both were knit on bamboo size 6’s.

gathering.jpg

babiesbreath.jpg

I will cast on my Megan hat today. The one I’m doing is a quick knit and therefore will hopefully be out in the mail to Amanda tomorrow 🙂 I have a cute idea I’ve been toying with for a while so we’ll see how it comes out.

Additionally I promised photos from yesterday’s sit n’ knit. Here we go…

Welcome to Mountain Knits & Pearls

Mountain Knits & Pearls is located in East Stroudsburg PA. The front glass window has an inviting display of beautifully knit items (I of course didn’t get that photo)… the yarns are well marked and labeled and grouped intuitively. Each section had lovely knit items with their patterns available from Joanne (the shop owner) with a simple question as to the patterns designer.

Here’s Felicia, my co-cocoa swapper 🙂

felicia.jpg

debbiebliss.jpg

The Debbie Bliss section was hard to leave as I find the Cashmerino so soft and luscious…

Joanne stocks gorgeous hand dyed sock yarns and lace weights, as well as some beautiful high end yarns as well as the knitters stand byes like Cascade 220 and the like. I was thrilled that she had Second Hand Cotton, and that it was ON SALE! 🙂 My dishcloth swap pal will be receiving some, as well as a skein of one of her requested yarns… Not only is there a sale section.. but lookie…

hpim1953.jpg

That was just a close up of the sign, NOT the entire sale section, which was virtual one whole wall or yarns… 🙂

The needle selection was tremendous…

needles.jpg

Everything from Addis to Brittany’s and others including the plastic crystal palace Daisies that I love! There were Lantern Moons, and others whose names now escape me… an abundance of wonderful selections in all sorts of sizes… 🙂 Even the Addi’s of larger sizes that are circulars with that tubing that reminds me so much of my years of working in the lab!

Look at some more of the yummy yarns…

morepretties.jpg

mmmm luscious Cascade 220 colors

and oooh look… (this one’s for you Anne!)

noro.jpg

Noro! 😉

She had kits too, and a whole huge section of beads and beading supplies… and a luscious section of Dale of Norway… lots of their pattern books as well. The selection of Crystal Palace yarns was wonderful (I love their yarns)… and I just had such a wonderful time petting and oohing and ahhing over everything in the shop.

Joanne has a monthly newsletter that she emails/snail mails and regular weekly gatherings for sit n’ knits, and sit n’ bead, along with classes for socks and other fiber work. She’s starting a class Tuesday for the Great American Afghan knit along. Just a wonderful shop an owner all around!

I will leave you with a shot of some of the Ravelry knitters at work in the back classroom!

ravelry.jpg

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2008 10:45 am

    OOOHHH… looks like a wonderful yarn shop!!!
    GO PATS!

  2. chanknits permalink
    January 21, 2008 11:13 am

    Very nice. Maybe my crocheting gal pal and I can make a road trip. She loves “your part” of PA!

  3. Holly permalink
    January 21, 2008 12:43 pm

    What a great LYS. That wasn’t very nice to dedicate the “Noro” section to our sweet Anne. I am glad you had a good time.

  4. January 21, 2008 2:35 pm

    Looks like a great way to spend the day to me. Lucky you!

  5. Joanna permalink
    January 21, 2008 2:53 pm

    Hee hee! There’s the back of my head on your post!.

    Anyway, I was so happy to meet some new ravelers and to see the few I met last month. I hope this will be come a regular thing as (like yourself) I have had some difficulty finding people closeby who knit.

    See you next month!

  6. Mary permalink
    January 21, 2008 3:27 pm

    Oh you died and went to yarn heaven!!! I wouldn’t want to leave it….lol Great LYS.
    Your cloths look great too!

  7. January 21, 2008 8:34 pm

    Oh Michelle, I could just cry. It looks like heaven in that LYS. Those cloths are great too, I think I need to move to PA…

  8. kadezmom permalink
    January 21, 2008 10:47 pm

    I was so drooling when I saw the cloths….and THEN you put the pics of your LYS on here. Jealous doesn’t even BEGIN to cover it!

  9. January 22, 2008 12:03 am

    LOL I can’t wait till Anne sees the part dedicated to her. heehee

    That looks like a fabulous LYS!!! Makes me wish I lived closer!

Leave a Reply

