Skip to content

Dishcloth Topic this week

January 20, 2008

Weekly Topic: Dishrag. Dishcloth. Face cloth. I’ve seen folks get all fired up in forums when someone refers to their knit or crochet creation as a dishrag, as that’s somehow offensive to them! When you’re working on yours, what do you call them? Also, is there a difference between a dishrag and a dishcloth? How bout a facecloth? Are they all really the same thing?

A dishcloth is for washing dishes at my house while a washcloth or face cloth (though I most often refer to them as washcloths) are for the bathtub.  I don’t know why I have followed this unspoken rule, must be my mom’s fault 😉

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2008 12:09 pm

    I bet it’s a regional thing, like soda or pop, ya think?

    I say washcloth for most…when speaking, but when typing or talking about patterns I always say dishcloth, now does that make sense? Nope… but that’s me, LOL

Leave a Reply

