Skip to content

Kids, Favorites and Cooking *Knitting content at the bottom!

September 20, 2007

(If you came for knitting content… scroll away…)

When I started this blog, I told my Sis-in-law that I’d be posting mostly knitting stuff, but that I would include the necessary hilarity that goes along with raising three children. We always have some crazy thing going on chez insanknitty!

Littlest Little (aka Monkey) is turning 3 in a few weeks, and Big Guy and I were talking about her ‘isms’ the other day… Of our 3 children, she is the only one to babble as a baby… the other two went straight to real words from coos (or at least in comparison to Monkey)… she had the most hilarious string of ‘Goo ta ga’s’ We’d all chime in with her chanting along.. ‘Goo ta, goo ta, goo ta Ga!’ and she’d get going… and we’d just laugh because it somewhat sounded like Chinese to us… she was having these full, detailed, animated conversations with us and we had absolutely NO idea what the heck she was saying!… Now… bring out a video camera and that’s a sure way to shut her up…. I tried hundreds of times to get it on video and there was NO way she was going to oblige… so we just have to remember it in our heads… and hearts…

so anyway.. I digress… the isms… Monkey didn’t so much as make up words like her older sister did (Melmo = water we’d tell the sitter, Neems is M&Ms, etc….) no, Monkey has her own version of the pronunciation of common every day words… for example…

The ‘livah’ (said in her best Boston accent)… is the Living room… Big Guy liked this one so much he took to calling the Dining Room the Dinah.. and Monkey would just look at him like he was crazy! She only very recently gave this one up… I’ve tried to get her to say it, but she kinda just smiles at me…

The eternal favorite for me is still the

‘Pocuter’… can y’all guess what that is??

Yep, the ever present in our household…

Computer

Monkey has others… but right now I can’t think of them…

And lets not leave Middle Man out… he called his sister ‘Bay Bay’ for eons… but when he could finally say Abby… it nearly made her cry! She begged him to say ‘Bay Bay’ and he’d just say ‘No, your name’s Abby!’

How is it that my little babies are now 7 1/2, 5 1/2 and almost 3?!?!?!

Rather than make a bunch of posts.. I’m going to combine my thoughts for today into one…
I have two new favorite items to share with you (oh the Marketing people will love me at Quaker and Lipton)…

My weight watchers ME has been working to get rid of the darn 10 pounds I collected through our move.. (why didn’t I know I was a stress eater?)… and I’m back to journaling and counting my points and watching my portion sizes… and I have two new things that are helping me out…

simple.jpg lpt.jpg

First… Quaker has a new oatmeal, called Simple Harvest. I LOVE this stuff… it’s a multigrain hot cereal (essentially your regular oatmeal with a bunch of other granola-ey stuff in it (yes I realize that’s not a real word)… My favorite flavor is the Vanilla, Almond, Honey (ok.. .I haven’t tried the others yet, but I’m a vanilla girl… always have been, always will be)… but it also comes in two other luscious sounding flavors… Apples with cinnamon, and Maple Brown sugar with Pecans… mmmm I am thinking that the Maple one is next on the grocery list when I finish this Vanilla box! The points values (for any of you Weight Watchers followers) are 3 for 1 packet for the Vanilla and the Maple, but the Apples and Cinnamon one is 2 points… (so maybe I should make that one my next purchase 😉 ) Usually, for me anyway, one packet of the oatmeal, which is one serving, is just not enough, I’m hungry for more and before I know it, I’m hungry for more food..it just doesn’t hold me till lunch, which is really my big thing… while I know that eating more smaller meals is one key to good healthy eating, I have a hard time just eating small amounts multiple MORE times each day, I do a lot better with 4 meals rather than 6… so I try to eat a breakfast that holds me until lunch… and one packet of this new cereal is doing the trick (of course I eat it with a piece of fruit and coffee 🙂 )

Another new grocery store item that’s been helping me is the Lipton Pyramid teas…in particular the Vanilla Caramel Truffle flavor… I LOVE LOVE LOVE caramels, hard or soft… and my recent swap pals have blessed me with bags of Werther’s butterscotch candies… YUM.. and I’ve enjoyed them in great quantities that I really really SHOULDN’T be snacking on… this caramel tea is scrumptious… and the sweet caramel flavor is just the sweet treat (I use splenda) I need in the later afternoon when I’m usually in the back of the pantry digging my hand into that (now empty) Werther’s bag. I was so excited to blog about this tea, especially since I’m in a tea swap right now, and then I read a not so great review of it (can I find it now to link for you.. nope)… and I decided to wait… but you know what.. I don’t consider myself a tea snob.. this is at the local grocery store and is affordable and a nice sweet treat in my afternoon! It’s keeping me from filling my mouth full of Werther’s (well running out of them is also keeping me from doing that)… I think it’s a great treat and will be buying more when my box of 20 runs out! 🙂 Run out and buys some if you’re a vanilla girl like me!

Those who know me well know that I love being home with my kids, being a mom (though some days I feel like Kate on Jon and Kate plus 8 … (Discovery Health channel, I’ve only seen the commercial, I don’t want the series).. the mom, Kate, is standing in the kitchen in her bathrobe holding onto her coffee for dear life, with this horrid expression on her face and you hear her voice saying something like.. ‘Today I’m going to go insane, I already decided it’… ), I love to run… (it’s my one sane, quiet moment of each day), and to craft… but I don’t often talk about how much I love to cook and bake. I love cake decorating and have done a pretty fine job (at least I think so).. of making the cakes for the kids birthdays… I include a number of baking sites in my bloglines that I read (usually they’re both knitting and baking)… and I whined and complained and even lied a little the other day when I saw a cool blog post about a Bolognese sauce.

Well, Jessica (who didn’t leave a blog link when she commented, so I can’t link her)… quickly pointed me to Rachel’s blog with the post about the Bolognese sauce… the lie I mention is that I said that I checked EVERY link in my bloglines… well, I skipped a few… the ones that I knew were pattern sites and just simply WOULDN’T have a post on them about cooking, including Rachel’s… HAH.. taught me!

bolognese.jpg

Well, I made the bolognese sauce and only changed the recipe slightly (I added 5 cloves of garlic… what is a pasta sauce doing without Garlic???) I was pretty pleased with the sauce and Big Guy liked it too (a meal with meat is a meal complete in his mind!)… I should have added more tomato paste, but just didn’t have enough… oh well.. .:-)

I keep a binder with all my favorite recipes.. and I can’t find it, so I had to call my sister-in-law, who shares my name to get the banana muffin recipe that she shared with me so long ago and has become a staple in our family… I make this recipe and the kids devour it at breakfast for as long as they last… 🙂 I had a bunch of rotten bananas (well not yet ROTTEN.. but certainly on their way)… I made a double batch and froze tons to get us through breakfasts for a little while!

This recipe is ‘extra’ healthy in my opinion as it’s loaded with fiber and low in fat… I don’t have the specifics on nutritional info, but I worked the points out ages ago, and it’s 1 point per muffin (as a mini muffin)

I usually make it as mini muffins and add a small amount of chocolate chips (mini sized) to just be a tiny bit of extra yumminess…

The recipe: (and this is how I prepare it as well)

Mix together:

  1. 3 overripe mashed bananas
  2. 1/2 cup oil
  3. 3/4 cup honey
  4. 1/2 cup apple sauce

Then add:

  1. 1/2 tsp salt
  2. 2 tsp baking soda
  3. 1/2 cup wheat germ
  4. 1 cup rolled oats
  5. 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  6. Optional (1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips)

Line muffin pan with cupcake papers and bake at 350F for 12-14 mins

mmmmm Yummmm!

Oh… You came here for knitting content didn’t you… 🙂

I’m making good progress on my swap knitting… I had to purchase needles yesterday to get busy knitting my Felted Bag pals bag, and I also finished getting her goodies… as well as the goodies for my dishcloth swap pal, tea swap pal, and Harry Potter Sock Kit pal… 🙂 Sheesh… I need to swear off swaps for a little while!… Now to finish the knitting and then I can box them up and continue onto my long Christmas knits list!

Here’s some views of things in progress… not a ton, but it’s progress…

swapbag.jpg

I’ve ripped out the intarsia that’s slightly showing here and started just doing a relief of what I was trying to do intarsia… normally my intarsia isn’t GREAT… but it’s worse on DPNs… 😉 Can you guess my Sock kit pals house?

candycorn.jpg

Now, I thought for sure that there was a pattern for this out there in the free pattern world .. but with all the googling I did, I couldn’t find one… I found the crochet pattern, and the shadow pattern, but no candy corn shaped knitting pattern, so I made one up myself… 🙂 My dishcloth pal loves candy corn.. and so do I… Monkey has claimed this as hers suddenly.. so I have a feeling I’ll be knitting 3 or 4 more today! 😉 this was a trial one anyway.. I have an idea of how to make the edges a little cleaner… so on to trial number 2 (and then when big girl and middle guy see them, … trials 3, and 4!)

 

WOW.. that was a long post… go refill your coffee… and have a great morning!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2007 1:28 pm

    Let me know when your package arrives- the owl post assured me that it would be there in 3 days!

  2. Haley permalink
    September 21, 2007 7:24 am

    I was reading your blog after you linked it on the family site – I miss you! I don’t think I have a current email for you – can you email me?

  3. September 21, 2007 9:18 am

    Lots of great stuff there. I’d missed the carmel tea, so that will jump in my buggy tomorrow. I also want to try the sauce this weekend, so over to Rachel’s I go… And maybe banana muffins too?

    Oh – and anything Italian needs garlic, and lots of it. Duh? 😉

  4. September 21, 2007 9:57 am

    Garlic and Basil are the secret to great italian, believe the Mediterannean girl… ;-))

    I so wish I could try your sauce!

    I need to try that caramel tea! Since, the beginning of the Tea Swap, the size of my tea stash has increased so much… LOL

    I am watching Jon and Kate +8 series. I love it! So cute and hilarious! :-))

    But I guess it is only funny to me as I have “only” two to handle… 😉

    Love your knits. Cannot wait to see more!
    And I loved that post! :-))

  5. Lee permalink
    September 21, 2007 9:19 pm

    Michelle, miss you! Sounds like you are keeping busy. I have been knitting socks like crazy. Ran into Susan the other day and she wants to knit again…..I will believe it when she calls me!! BUT, I do miss our knitting circle. She has a new neighbor that knits…..maybe the group will “fly” again. Have a great autumn! It is still hot here…we did get a little and rain and some cooler temps, but it is warm this weekend. blessings, Lee

  6. Neila permalink
    September 22, 2007 6:31 pm

    I haven’t seen that tea but I am definitely going in search of it. Being a fellow WW (and Ravenclaw), I completely understand that need for something sweet in the middle of the afternoon. After my trip to Scotland, I am struggling to get back on track with the journaling and counting points.

  7. September 23, 2007 6:35 am

    What a great post 🙂 Its fun to read about your crazy life and find myself further stunned that you manage to get anything done with that much going on LOL. I love your cloth, of course, and will be looking forward to see what you do next!

  8. September 24, 2007 2:38 pm

    My 2 1/2 year old refused to call her little brother by his name for the longest time. He was just “Baby”. In fact, he wasn’t a boy or a girl either – just baby. I almost wish it hadn’t stopped – lately she’s been referring to him as “poopy boy.”

    Kids are so much fun, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

