Skip to content

Blog on…

June 11, 2010

Well, it’s officially summer.. the kids are out of school, and so am I!  For those who are maybe still checking my blog (I’d be surprised at this point)… that don’t know me personally… I went back to work full time in February.  I’m now teaching 6th grade science, and I couldn’t be happier!

I love my new job, my students, and the school where I’m teaching… seems I fell into the perfect job.. my kids still have my full attention and I’m home with them for the summer, and I am back in the work force doing something I love and adore. 🙂

All that being said, I know that I won’t be able to blog much during the regular school year… but I do want to try… I do miss blogging… so I’m jumping back onto the blogwagon for the summer at the least…

Our last ‘big’ project, and probably the most popular of the year was to hatch chickens…  we placed 24 eggs into our incubator and were lucky enough to hatch 15 healthy chicks.  I chose a hybrid breed of the Arcauna species of chicken.  They are more commonly known as Easter Eggers because they lay green, blue, or pink eggs!  I knew that the interestingly colored eggs would entertain the kids, plus, the chickens are prolific egg layers and handle the NC heat well.  We found student homes for all the chickens which was a huge surprise to me!  The students really loved having them in class, and I know that these chicks will do well in the families they’ve gone to as they were handled so regularly in class…

On the last day of school, one of the girls had such fun perched on my laptop screen, watching me type… I just couldn’t resist getting her photo…

I’m of course still knitting,… Ravelry is a central part of my ‘entertainment’… and the Harry Potter Knitting and Crochet House Cup is still a very active part of my knitting life… I love coming up with ways to make something I want to knit fit into a HP theme and class…  so sorry if that dorks you out! 😉

The Littles are great.. not so little these days… Rosalie is only 3″ shorter than her mama now… and Emmett is growing like a boy weed always grows… Little Alice is 5.5 now, and will be a big kindergartener in the fall.  She’s built most like her Mama… petite… so I don’t know if she’ll get the ‘giant’ gene from her daddy the way her siblings probably have!

Gardening is my second love… and ours is well under way… I plan to take photos today…  we purchased our tomatoes as individual plants this year… we just always do better when we choose already healthy plants rather than trying to grow them from seed…  we have LOADS of green tomatoes already.. on the ‘Big Boy’ plant, the Grape tomato plant,  and the Roma plant…  our Cilantro flowered (oops)… I need to see if I cut off the flowering parts if the plant will still be useable… Basil is doing awesome, so are the onnions (green, red and yellow)…  Peas are producing lots already.. and this year we attempted corn.. the plants are getting big 🙂

My cucumbers and watermelon are both doing great!!!  Looks like we’ll have a great crop!  I need to get a tomato cage for the watermelon plant to grow on… the cukes are growing up their trellis great!

Hope you are having a great start to your summer… I know ours is going to be fantastic… filled with kayaking, hiking, running (yay), gardening and knitting… I do also hope to get a camping trip or two in!  Check back and see what we’re up to this summer!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    June 11, 2010 3:54 pm

    I am very happy to see that you are back! I always worry about bloggers that I don’t hear from. I teach 7th grade and I know just how busy it is to work and take care of children. My are all grown up but I happily help out with my almost 6 month old grandson!!

    I get out of school next week and look forward to more knitting and blogging and reading!

    Congratulations on the teaching position! You sound like an awesome teacher with your chicken project!!

  2. Amanda permalink
    June 11, 2010 9:30 pm

    Glad you’re back, sis!

  3. June 12, 2010 1:00 am

    Welcome back! That is a priceless photo of the chick on your laptop. So cute!

  4. June 12, 2010 6:06 pm

    Precious! I love the way her little head is cocked with interest. 🙂 Glad you’re back to blogging. I’ve been keeping up with your adventures on Facebook and through Holly, but I’ve always enjoyed reading your blog. 🙂

  5. Drew R........your student permalink
    June 12, 2010 6:24 pm

    Hello Mrs. Malach i would like to tell you that that is my chick on your computer!!!!1 Her name is mango if you didnt hear me say that when i was constantly at your desk asking to hold the chicks!!!!!!

    p.s. i am not a stalker Mia and I found it!!!!

  6. June 12, 2010 6:58 pm

    Hey Mrs. Malach it’s Drew R. I dont know if i have replied already because it didnt come up on my screen when i replied so i typed it again. I would like to tell you that that is my chick on your computer. Her name is mango if you didnt know that but you probably did because you heard me talking about 24/7 as i was at your desk asking to hold her!!!Haha

    ~Drew

    P.S. Mia and i found this website!!!!

    • June 12, 2010 8:45 pm

      Drew… you’re too funny. 🙂 I didn’t realize her name was Mango.. that’s very cute. She went home with Samantha you know.. so you may want to share her name with Samantha 😉 Have a great summer… Hi to Mia too!!

      • Anonymous permalink
        June 13, 2010 7:51 pm

        Yah i know she was the last one to go home!!!! I was very sad:(((

  7. chanknits permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:53 am

    Love the photo of the monitor-perch.

    Have a great summer!

  8. July 28, 2010 3:30 pm

    Cute chicks, I love the gorgeous colors of eggs those chickies lay 🙂

Leave a Reply

