Skip to content

Chocolate Cake Day

January 27, 2009

Did you know that today, January 27 is Chocolate Cake Day?

Well it is… according to these crazy holidays… so we’re celebrating.. it’s cold, and something warm and chocolaty will surely warm the hands, and heart 🙂  While you’re at it.. listen to some Mozart.. today’s his birthday too!
We decided to make Hot Chocolate Mug cakes… so easy.. and of course.. yummmy!  It’s a Family Fun recipe, but is so simple you don’t really need to ‘read’ the recipe…  Basically, make your favorite chocolate cake mix, pour batter into oven safe mugs (sprayed of course) and bake according to directions for cupcakes.  Now my mugs are quite large… so I had to bake mine a bit longer than what the cupcakes should bake for.. which is fine by me…

cupcakes

Top the cakes with marshmallow fluff, or vanilla frosting… either is luscious.. I even sprinkled a bit of crushed peppermint on top of ours!  YUM!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. gimpykatk permalink
    January 27, 2009 5:31 pm

    Chocolate Cake Day? Oh my. I came acrosss a recipe last week for this…
    http://flashbangfibers.blogspot.com/2009/01/chocolate-gteau.html
    OMG Michelle I have to try this. No doubt it will make me very sick since I can’t have sugar anymore, but NOTHING until I saw this cake has even made me think about sweets. I am in TROUBLE, lol

  2. January 27, 2009 6:48 pm

    YUMMY!!!!!!

  3. Amanda permalink
    January 27, 2009 7:23 pm

    What a fantastic idea! Fun to do with the kiddos, too!

  4. January 28, 2009 10:16 am

    D’oh! And I would have celebrated.

  5. January 28, 2009 10:28 am

    You are so clever. Are you having blueberry pancakes today? g

  6. January 28, 2009 4:56 pm

    **drool**

  7. January 28, 2009 7:20 pm

    Yesterday was Family Literacy Day here… and nothing against literacy, but I kinda wish I’d know it was also Chocolate Cake Day!! That crushed peppermint looks SO good!

  8. January 30, 2009 4:21 pm

    YUM! Oh man… I missed it. Maybe I’ll have to make my own Chocolate cake day for this year.

Leave a Reply

