Skip to content

For the Love of Luke

August 6, 2008

Hero Cloth, Frogiezplace
Bernat Satin Solids, US 7 Clover Bamboos
Love the way the square turned out
Finished size 9″x9″ (yes you read that correctly, see below)

I’m in awe of the generosity and love of the knitting and blogging communities…

You guys (said in my best Bostonian accent) amaze me!

I’m certain I’ll get enough squares for little Luke’s blanket, and have no fear, if you send me squares and I have too many.. I will be putting together blankets for his two sisters who will certainly need some extra love and attention during this confusing and difficult time for their big brother..

I knit my square last night… and I have three things to say…

#1 WHY for the love of all things Knitted do I NOT knit gauge swatches???

yes… beautiful knit square… 9×9″ gah! well, I’ll hold it and hope that maybe the squares in 8×8 that I requested will be a tad off here and there enough to make my square work.. if not.. I will swatch and knit a new one asap!

#2 Why don’t folks (MYSELF INCLUDED HERE) include gauge or better yet, completed cloths size in their dishcloth patterns…

Ok, if there had been a completed size listed, or if I’d read a gauge clue on my pattern then I’d probably have had a better chance at getting the 8×8 size I’d requested… I am 100% at fault for this, so if the pattern writer reads that here… you can see that I too fail to put a gauge and/or finished size in any of my dishcloth patterns.. um… it’s a dishcloth,… (most of the time) so who cares what size is what I thought when I wrote my patterns!

#3 so totally unrelated, but while I was knitting my square, my daughter who I taught to knit last year leaned over and said, boy that yarn is splitty mom!..

Can I just tell you… My heart overflowed with joy and love… my baby is knitting, and she knows what splitty yarn is!!!!! I didn’t ever tell her that word either.. I swear… She was sitting next to me knitting a ‘dobby hat’ for the dobby she wants me to knit her.. UGH… the never ending list of ‘Mom will you knit THIS for me?’ grows… someone for the love of Pete teach me to crochet so I can make these little toys much faster!!!!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2008 11:36 pm

    I love the Superman… I have that qued because DBF loves Superman

  2. August 7, 2008 11:55 am

    I started a square lastnight. My prayers are with Luke and his family. Please send me your address to mail the square to. God Bless!

  3. chanknits permalink
    August 7, 2008 8:32 am

    My square somewhere between 8-9″… You’ll be fine. Pick up a stitch one row in or something when you seam…??

  4. jessecreations permalink
    August 6, 2008 7:46 pm

    Hi there,

    I will be happy to crochet a square if you’d like … I don’t so much knit. You can email me at jessicacook17@hotmail.com if you want. 🙂

  5. August 6, 2008 5:22 pm

    I’m sure it will work. I was able to ease things together in the blanket I did at the end of June. My square was sent off in the mail today.

  6. Mary permalink
    August 6, 2008 2:23 pm

    I love the square, its great and you know you could put an extra border around it if worse comes to worse so it would measure more to blend in with the right sizes…but I’m sure some squares will range differently too..lol
    I’ll whip a few squares up and get them out….
    hey, what toys??? Any crochet??? let me know!

  7. August 6, 2008 2:21 pm

    GREAT square… it’ll fit…… I’m sure!

  8. August 6, 2008 2:08 pm

    I agree Michelle, I sew afghans together for Close Knit Hugs often and the squares often vary… you can make them work.

    I will get my squares done this weekend and out in the mail to you I hope.

    Thanks for the help with the fleas too, man they are awful.

  9. Cindy permalink
    August 6, 2008 12:27 pm

    Don’t worry about the size too much, I had a bunch of what were supposed to be 4×4 squares that I crocheted together for a baby blanket. Some were 3×3 others 5×5, they all worked just fine, some were stretched a bit others were squished together but it came out looking great.
    I’ll knit a square but if you need help putting it together I can do that too.

  10. August 6, 2008 11:46 am

    Okay, so now I know that there was a reason I never got started on my square last night…you picked the same exact pattern in the same exact shade of blue that I had! ROTFL!!! Great minds think alike, huh?

    I’m about to sit down with KnittingPatternCentral and pick something out so I can get started. The ladies in our knit night group are also contributing, so we should be able to send you a nice size package.

Trackbacks

  1. Knitting for Luke | FO, Knitting | Monniblog
  2. Just Like Me? « Chan Knits
  3. Opening Day « Chan Knits

Leave a comment