Skip to content

Urgent Prayers and a Knitting Request

August 5, 2008

A neighbor and friend of mine and her husband, just found a little over a week ago that their 7 year old son, Luke, has an inoperable brain stem tumor. He will be receiving 6 weeks of radiation along with an experimental treatment at a premier hospita

The family just moved into our neighborhood in July from another neighborhood in our town, and have twin daughters who turn 5 in September. They are members at our parish, and Luke’s Mom is very involved in the town’s Welcome Club.  They’re a fun and wonderful family.

Each day I am brought to tears imagining what they all are going through. Luke is just one year older than our middle guy and the two boys play well together, it seems impossible to me that something so horrible could be happening to such a sweet boy… and could happen to any of our children… you never think about God calling one of your children to Him before you… and I hope that he has a miracle in His plan for Luke.

Please add them to your prayer lists!

For all my Knitting friends… I have a request.

I want to knit a blanket for Luke, but am seriously strapped for time right now due to our camp week coming up very soon, and the eyeball high pile of paperwork I have to get through…

I know I can knit a square or two, but a whole blanket is out of the question for me right now. If I am going to pull together a lap blanket for Luke to have in his drives to the hospital which is several hours away, and perhaps for during his radiation , I will need your help!

If you feel inclined to knit a soft acrylic blend (easy care) 8×8″ square in boy colors (blue, green, yellow red, whatever)… and can get it mailed to me by August 12th then please comment at the end of this post and I will email you my mailing address!

Luke Loves Baseball, Soccer, going Fishing , and doing Karate… I’ve seen loads of free dishcloth patterns out there in these themes that might make nice squares…

51 Comments leave one →
  1. patty hafford permalink
    August 16, 2008 9:06 pm

    I would gladly love to help knit some squares for you. please email me your address. God be with you and your family at this time.

    patty
    canandaigua ny

  2. Carol Keith permalink
    August 11, 2008 12:53 pm

    I would like to send a square or two. Please send me a mailing address.

    Thanks.

  3. August 8, 2008 10:54 am

    Iam going to knit a square for Luke please send me the name and address you need me to send it to:)Hugs Darcy

  4. August 8, 2008 9:05 am

    Jessi gave me your address last night and I have a square on its way to you today.
    What a wonderful project!

  5. August 8, 2008 8:03 am

    Michelle – you have a lot of squares coming it seems, but I am happy to whip one out this weekend if you will need it. Please let me know. I have been praying, too.

  6. August 7, 2008 9:14 pm

    I can make one. Just send me the address.

  7. August 7, 2008 3:20 pm

    Do you still need squares? Sorry, I’m a little late to the square party.

  8. August 7, 2008 2:20 pm

    Have the square done….just need the address…I put a photo on my blog of the square I did….
    Big Hugs

  9. August 7, 2008 7:30 am

    I am a friend of Nichole’s, she told us about Luke…I made two squares last night at our guild meeting and I will continue until the weekend, send them on Monday…God Bless…Joanne

  10. August 7, 2008 3:35 am

    Michelle,

    I read about this on Aunt Kathy’s blog. Prayers are first on the list, of course! Luke and his family will be in my prayers, and I’ll send a prayer request to my Small Group, who then will send the request to all they know who will pray for this situation. This little guy and his family will be covered in prayer!!

    As for squares, I’ll be more than happy to send you some. This is a wonderful idea and will be a comfort to Luke and his family.

    Send me your address, and they’ll be out this weekend!

    Beth

  11. Paula permalink
    August 6, 2008 9:51 pm

    I don’t think I’ve every actually commented here before, but this post really struck a chord with me. My husband passed away last week at 43 from stomach cancer. He had only been diagnosed a week before, and was only sick for 2 1/2 weeks total. I know how awful it is to lose a loved one to cancer, but I still can’t imagine what it would be like to have your child be sick like that. I will be praying for your friends’ child and have already asked my husband to put in a good word up there for him – maybe he can help that miracle along.

  12. Jen permalink
    August 6, 2008 9:48 pm

    I’d be happy to knit a square for Luke. Please feel free to email me your addy and I’ll get one out within a day or two.

  13. August 6, 2008 4:26 pm

    I’m in, and I’ve got your addy.
    Big big hugs Michelle!
    (and Casey will hopefully knit one as well.)
    XOXOX

  14. August 6, 2008 3:22 pm

    Michelle
    May I please have your mailing address…I am hoping to be able to throw in 3 comfort bears also (they will be crocheted) and is 100% acrylic alright?
    Thanks
    basilwendy (at) yahoo (dot) com

  15. August 6, 2008 2:24 pm

    I’ll add my prayers to everyone else’s. Now, let me see what I can do about a square…

  16. DOTK permalink
    August 6, 2008 2:20 pm

    please email me your address. I will send 2 by august 12. Thanks for your thought it this situation! How blessed this boy is to have you as a friend and neighbor.
    Kari
    (kari[dot]dyan[@]hotmail[dot]com)

  17. August 6, 2008 2:18 pm

    I’m so very sorry to hear… and with all going on on the homefront here, can relate. I’m going to get a square off to you and also mention it to the girls in my group tonight.

    HUGS.. sending lots of good vibes Luke’s way!

  18. August 6, 2008 1:35 pm

    I’ll be glad to help as well. I’ll start knitting immediately. Please email your address and I’ll get them shipped off.

    Blessings
    Kandilion in IN

  19. August 6, 2008 1:13 pm

    I used to work with both Ross and Lisa, and I heard about Luke through the grapevine here just the other day. I have a bunch of other knitting commitments, so I’m not sure about squeezing in a square for this afghan, but if you’d like to mail me your address, I can try. Or, if you’re going to be at B&N tomorrow night, I can get it from you then.

    If you could let the family know I’m thinking of them, I’d appreciate it.

  20. August 6, 2008 12:58 pm

    I can knit a square. Does it matter what weight the yarn is? Please let me know where to send the square.

  21. August 6, 2008 12:14 pm

    Please let me know where to send and I will get me, and my mother and sister to knit as well!
    Heather

  22. August 6, 2008 12:03 pm

    Is 100% acrylic ok?

  23. August 6, 2008 12:03 pm

    I have had brainstem issues for seven years with my lupus and if the family needs another patient to bounce questions off of or just to know what it’s like–although, I don’t have cancer–I’m here for them. Thank you for being there for them, too.

  24. August 6, 2008 11:10 am

    That is very sad to hear…I will make sure to think good thoughts

  25. August 6, 2008 10:53 am

    If you still need one after all these wonderful responses, I’ll be happy to send something your way.

  26. August 6, 2008 10:50 am

    I will be praying for Luke and his family that he will be touched by God’s healing hand. This situation is so very unique because I also just posted about another 7 year old who’s name is Luke that is also suffering from a cancerous situation in which his whole spine, brain stem, and brain are surrounded by these cells that will eventually cover all those areas with a tumor. His doctors have all but given up hope because this little Luke’s cancer is so rare. So, will you remember this little Luke when you are praying for your little Luke? I know God can and does work miracles every day!!
    Sue

  27. August 6, 2008 10:29 am

    count me in. Thanks, Marie.

  28. August 6, 2008 9:04 am

    Hello! I came to your blog from Wendy B’s blog site. My group and I would love to help Luke. We make caps and lap blankets to patients undergoing chemotherapy and radiation and we donate these items to the Cancer Therapy and Research Center here in San Antonio, Texas. We would be honored to make some caps and blankets for Luke. If I could have a mailing address, I can get our members’ needles clicking. Our website is kaps4karing.org, if you would like to check us out. Please be assured that only our members will see Luke’s information, and we will NEVER EVER sell his information or send him or his family unwanted junk. We will also NEVER solicit his family for donations, all of our items are sent free of charge and with love. I look forward to hearing from you soon. My email addy is naoverland [AT] rayfarisinc [DOT] com. Have a great day!

  29. August 6, 2008 8:48 am

    i would be honored to make a square.

  30. August 6, 2008 8:41 am

    I will try to make a square, I am new to the knitting bug, but can make a diagonal square..I also posted on my blog of your request and even if my “friends” can not make a square I know they will at least add a prayer. Was also thinking that if you get lots of squares that maybe you can make comfortghans for the twins. It is going to be a trying time for them with their age.
    Big Hugs and prayers……

  31. August 6, 2008 8:18 am

    I hav a few made up in encore – wool/acrylic blend. If that will do for your blanket, I can send a few squares right now.

  32. August 6, 2008 7:49 am

    Do you need anymore squares? If I knit one up tonight and have it out tomorrow or so it would probably make it in time.

  33. August 6, 2008 12:33 am

    I will most certainly add the family to my prayers, I know that you will get heaps of squares. I would knit one too but I know that with the distance it wouldn’t get there in time. God must have a plan for this little boy.

  34. holly permalink
    August 5, 2008 9:28 pm

    I will start tonight. So, count me in.

  35. debbie permalink
    August 5, 2008 8:48 pm

    My friend and I will knit squares. Just let me know what you need.

  36. Karen permalink
    August 5, 2008 8:36 pm

    I’ll start knitting a square ASAP. I can’t even image how to handle it.

  37. August 5, 2008 6:45 pm

    You are amazing Michelle. Of course I’ll help!

  38. August 5, 2008 5:24 pm

    I think pink is a perfectly good “boy color”!

  39. August 5, 2008 4:36 pm

    I’m in the square. Let me know yarn specifics i.e. cotton/acrylic and I’ll cast on this evening.
    Prayers and thoughts are going their way.

  40. August 5, 2008 2:38 pm

    Poor little guy. I’d like to help out too! I hope to start a square tonight.

  41. August 5, 2008 2:17 pm

    Count me in, too. Poor little thing. What kind of yarn do you suggest and any patterns you know of that he might like? I figure something washable, but I didn’t know if cotton would be too rough for him. Let me know and I’ll get started. ((hugs))

  42. August 5, 2008 1:53 pm

    I’m going to cast on for a square as soon as I get home tonight. Prayers sent out.

  43. August 5, 2008 1:39 pm

    I’m so on board. I’ll set everything else aside and knit a square. g

  44. August 5, 2008 1:33 pm

    I would like to send you some squares that I have ready. Our church knitting group have just completed 8 blankets with some of them are the the 8×8 squares.. they are small lap blankets and we had about 4-5 squares remaining. Please send me your address and I will mail you to you.
    Our prayers are with young Luke putting him in God’s hands … his parents as well. God Bless – Jan

  45. August 5, 2008 11:18 am

    absolutely!!!

  46. Anita permalink
    August 5, 2008 11:14 am

    My heart goes out to Luke and his family! They will be in my prayers!!

    Count me in for a square!

  47. August 5, 2008 10:56 am

    Michelle you know I am there in prayers and with squares.
    I have your address but if you need anything else you just ask.

Trackbacks

  1. Caffeine- Doing Stupid Things Faster « Shut Up, I’m Counting
  2. Work is getting in the way! « H3Dakota’s Weblog
  3. Prayers and Squares « Alabama Fiber Dreams
  4. Palm, Prayers and a Parcel « Chan Knits

Leave a comment