Skip to content

Oh the shame….

October 29, 2009

main_graphic_coffee_break1So… my children’s school system went with this county wide early release for every Wednesday afternoon … 1 hour early EVERY WEEK… they make up for it with extra time each of the remaining four days of school… and then hold their faculty/staff meetings on Wednesday…

 

I keep forgetting about this…ย  I mean.. I don’t know why… seriously… what’s so hard about remembering the bus is coming 1 hour earlier on Wednesday… on every SINGLE Wednesday!

 

This morning, I will meet the bus with a $10 gift card and 25 pack of munchin’s from Dunkin Donuts… because yesterday when I forgot… I wasn’t HOME…

 

The bus driver brought my kids to our home, and I WASN’T HERE!!!ย  I was at the post office…

 

… he had to drive the kids all the way back to the school.. and the school called the house and I still didn’t even know that I was late…it wasn’t yet time for them to be off the bus when they called (at least in my little bubble!)

OH MY WORD… what is wrong with me!?!?!?!

I blame stress…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 7:25 am

    We’ve all been there! My belief is that you get a pass on the first time. It’s the repeat offenders who make it a problem (I’m looking at YOU, younger sister of mine!)!
    Also, it gives the kids something solid to discuss with the therapist later.

    • October 29, 2009 7:29 am

      Solid to discuss with their therapists… hahahah cracking up!

      Well this is the 2nd time I’ve forgotten, but the first time I was home ๐Ÿ˜‰

      oh no.. I don’t want the bus driver to hate me…

      ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. chanknits permalink
    October 29, 2009 8:32 am

    LOL!! You’re human. Cut yourself some slack. Your kids now have something to roast you about at your 85th birthday luncheon… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. October 29, 2009 10:03 am

    Stress is really rough on a mom. I’m sure the bus driver will be thrilled with the Dunkin Donuts. You probably need to take a deep breath and get yourself a latte too.

  4. October 29, 2009 1:05 pm

    Don’t feel bad, these things happen. Cam’s grade one year was when Grace was an infant who still napped in the afternoons, and I would frequently nap along with her.

    The first time I overslept I arrived 10 min late, panting from the run to the school, to find him in the office crying because he didn’t know what to do.

    The second time I overslept he was worried, but just went to the office and called me, which is how I woke up.

    The third time I didn’t show he just went to the office and asked the secretary to call me….because I was probably asleep.

    I started setting the alarm for naptime after that.

  5. October 29, 2009 7:29 pm

    Hey, if I lived closer, I’d look after your kids for donuts–yum!

  6. netfrog permalink
    October 30, 2009 2:12 pm

    Now just remember that on top of the early release every Wednesday, there are Super Early Releases approximately once a month (6 per year) for Wake County kiddos. The normal early releases haven’t caused too much issue with us, but I have my PDA set to remind me of the SUPER early ones because it means making sure that DH can get off to meet the bus (or me schedule work so I can).

    I’m glad that your bus driver was on the ball. I doubt ours would have known the boys didn’t have anyone home as he drops off and the kids scatter.

    • October 30, 2009 5:09 pm

      the funny thing is that I haven’t had any issues with the super early ones because the day before my kids come home with stickers on their shirts REMINDING us forgetful parents ๐Ÿ˜‰

      So where in Wake County are you?

      ๐Ÿ™‚

      Michelle

      and yes.. my driver was thrilled with the coffee and donuts and told my kids I didn’t have to do that because it was totally ok… but I did because I’m so mortified with myself for forgetting!

  7. October 31, 2009 12:14 pm

    You know – it just means you’re human. Sent a weekly reminder on your phone – you’ll always have it with you. Just make sure you set it early enough that you can get home if you’re out and not so early that you have a chance to forget again. g

  8. November 5, 2009 7:09 am

    And it’s my fault! If you weren’t at the P.O. (((hangs head)))

  9. November 5, 2009 4:21 pm

    They are doing that here too…it’s weird! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. November 9, 2009 12:27 pm

    Wednesday’s is library day so I have to pickup Alora by the library and most of the time I forget this and then the teacher walks them over to the pickup area.
    I console myself with the fact that I’m not the only parent that doesn’t realize what day it is there are always several of us standing there looking generally confused;)Hugs Darcy

  11. November 24, 2009 8:02 pm

    Oh well …..it happens ๐Ÿ™‚ At least your school didnt just drop them off, they took them back to the school wich is good, when I went to school, the bus just dropped out off at your stop and didnt care after that.

Leave a Reply

