Skip to content

Butterflies and Rainbows

October 10, 2009

Almost as soon as we realized we were moving back to Raleigh we got excited for the fact that we could have our favorite clown for Alice’s birthday! Mimi performed at Rosalie and Emmett’s parties in the past…and we weren’t going to let the opportunity to see her again pass us by!

As always any party for my children involves some sort of baking and decorating extravagance… I have many baking books that the kids pour through as their birthdays approach… and they get ideas from their current ‘favorite’ activities and come up with some plan that I must figure out how to DO… This birthday was EASY PEASY though! Butterflies and Rainbows could be considered Alice’s theme.

As a participant in the HPKCHC challenge on Ravelry I saw another participant’s fun and yummy looking Rainbow cupcakes. I asked her how she’d made them and she linked me to her blog for a tutorial… and off I went. The only changes I think I’d make if I were to repeat this in the future would be to use a white cake mix rather than yellow to get more pure colors… the yellow cake made tinting red and blue difficult… , and to divide the batter unevenly… meaning… more Red, and slightly decreasing volumes for each of the remaining colors.

As always I took loads of photos… of the cupcakes and of the party..

First the cupcakes.

For a batch of 24 cupcakes, use a single boxed cake mix, slightly under mixed as recommended by Needlesnswiffers, and divided it evenly into bowls for coloring the 6 colors of the rainbow (standard colors.. nothing fancy here.. the party was for 5 year olds 😉 )

IMG_7577
*excuse the terrible lighting in this pic.. the lighting is EXACTLY the same in our kitchen.. it was unavoidable*

Add batter by spoonful to the cupcake tin (wrapper lined or silicone mold) beginning with Red… and moving through each color being careful to add just enough to not fill the mold too full (*I did a few in the reverse rainbow just because).

IMG_7578

IMG_7581

As Needlesnswiffers had cautioned, it was easiest to practice on ONE cupcake through all the colors to be sure that I was using the correct amounts of each color before moving onto ‘factory line’ style… As I was adding the colors progressively I noticed that they’d spread out more as they sat so I tried to add more red to start so it wouldn’t be overtaken by the remaining colors over time…

I baked them according to the box directions and cooled completely before frosting.

IMG_7584

Of course.. I taste tested one… to be sure it was suitable for 5 year olds 😉

IMG_7588 IMG_7593

and yes… they were suitable!

Next.. I moved onto the ‘decorating’… Alice wanted butterfly cupcakes… and picked them from one of my cake books… so a butterfly catching we went…

First I drew a template for the wings, and then taped it (covered with a piece of wax paper) to the table

IMG_7474

Then I melted my chocolate wafers…

IMG_7477

and finally.. piped the melted chocolate over the template… (it’s HOT people… so I had to work quickly… I made way more than I needed and still in the end ended up with 1 pair of wings short what I needed)…

IMG_7481

IMG_7485

I let them cool and harden and stored them between wax paper sheets in the fridge in an airtight container until I was ready to put the cupcakes together.

I placed the wings onto the cupcakes with an M&M on each side to ‘prop’ the wings open. I then piped the butterfly body with chocolate frosting. I think they came out cute!

IMG_7594

IMG_7597 IMG_7598

Finally it was time for the party , and for our friend Mimi to arrive… she always does such an amazing job at entertaining the kids.. they all laughed heartily and had a great time…

IMG_7642

IMG_7606

IMG_7623

And.. then.. finally our favorite part… the facepainting!

Our Birthday Princess
IMG_7658

Darth Vader (without his mask)
IMG_7662

The butterfly princess
IMG_7661

Marty ‘aka Mommy’ the Zebra
IMG_7681

Thanks Mimi for another awesome party!!!
IMG_7680

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 9:35 am

    I love it!!! They look fabulous, and what a fun party! Thanks for the heads up that you were blogging it. I am so happy that you liked the cupcakes!

  2. October 10, 2009 12:14 pm

    I think this is where I say that you’re Super Mom and bow down to your awesomeness. LOL Seriously, gorgeous work with the cupcakes.

  3. chanknits permalink
    October 10, 2009 3:33 pm

    Happy birthday to Alice! Great cupcakes and love the face painting.

  4. October 11, 2009 1:42 pm

    What an awesome birthday!! I saw your photos on Facebook of the party and the cupcakes, but didn’t realize how cool both really were! I want to come get my face painted by Mimi!

  5. October 15, 2009 10:06 am

    The cupcakes are awesome! I love the butterflies, they look so professional 🙂

  6. netfrog permalink
    October 21, 2009 2:32 pm

    What an awesome party! I had seen rainbow *cakes* before on another blog, but not cupcakes. I think your bands turned out perfectly and I am always a sucker for chocolate decorations. Well done.

Leave a Reply

