Skip to content

Moving right along

September 20, 2009

We’ve been in our rental for almost a month… just a few days shy of our month date actually.. and things are moving right along…

Rosalie and Emmett both love their new school even though it wasn’t the one that I wanted for them.. no problemo really. The schools in our county are all fabulous.. so there’s no real ‘wrong’ school. I was rather disappointed that they didn’t get in on the Appeal we filed, but, all things happen for a reason… and I’m certain the reasons for us being at this new school will be obvious soon enough. In fact… one really good thing has come from the new school already… Rosalie tried out for and got accepted into Chorus. She’s so excited (I’m still floored that they required a 4th grader to try out… she had to sing some scales for the teacher nothing too stressful but still… try outs?)… Both Rosalie and Emmett have made great friends, and are happy with their teachers. They both still argue over which teacher is prettiest πŸ˜‰ at dinner each night.
IMG_7277

Alice had to warm up to her transition kindergarten class for a few days before she announced she’s glad she isn’t going back to her old school. Not that she didn’t like it.. but I think it was all or nothing with her… at first she wanted nothing to do with the new school.. because it wasn’t her old one… and now… it’s the opposite. I’m just happy that she likes it so much! I will be assisting with the catechism classes on Wednesdays… I’m sure I’ll enjoy it too.. they have a really interesting and unique (I think) lesson plan setup for their teachings…
9424_130736072265_741642265_2561267_5009136_n

I signed up for (and have already had 2 classes) cake decorating. It’s the Wilton 1 class, which I already know most of the material from. I really wanted to learn about flowers and making them, and have learned more than I expected already… Last week we had to bring a cake to decorate to the class. I baked the household (minus Mommy) favorite… chocolate. The kids enjoyed the cake, as did Carlisle… I had a piece, and it was ok.. but I’m just NOT a big chocolate fan. The point of the decorating of this cake was to learn pattern transfers, and to practice using the start tip.

IMG_7412

For this weeks class I need to bring cupcakes. I’m making a coconut cupcake recipe that got rave reviews from Bon Appetit magazine, and I may also make the icing from the Barefoot Contessa’s recipe. I have to only bring 8 cupcakes to class… and the Bread Chick’s blog made me want to try both recipes, and both icings… so I will give them a go (at least the icings anyway… The 8 cupcakes I bring to class need to be frosted with a buttercream frosting that is acceptable for decorating in class… so the cream cheese frosting will be used on the extra cupcakes… I’ll definitely take pictures of everything once it’s all completed πŸ™‚

While I’m talking about cakes… and decorating.. two things are coming up.. first.. there’s an amateur division to a cake decorating contest going on in Fuquay Varina as part of their ‘Taste of Fuquay’ event next weekend. I have until Tuesday to sign up if I want to enter a cake.. and I’m actually considering it. I figure I can use it as practice for Alice’s birthday cake for her party on Oct. 9th… πŸ™‚ You know there’ll be photos to follow ….

In the knit world… y’all know I”m always keeping busy. I’ve knit a lot of fun things this month as part of my participating in the HPKCHC group on Ravelry
IMG_7397 IMG_7402

IMG_7407 IMG_7436

IMG_7434 IMG_7433

IMG_7394

I’ve got to tell you.. it feels so good to be back here in NC.Β  It seriously feels almost like we had never left… I feel like I’m at home again!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2009 5:38 pm

    I love that you’re taking cake decorating classes. I can’t wait to see the amazing creations and skills you learn.

    Glad to hear about the kids’ schools going well.

    What are all the colourful mice for? And what did oyu think of Cat Bordhi’s felted Kitty Pi Bed? (If that’s the pattern you used)

  2. September 20, 2009 6:43 pm

    Girl, you are one of the busiest people I know! The rainbow cake looks beautiful. πŸ™‚

  3. September 20, 2009 10:35 pm

    I’m so glad everyone is happy to be back in NC – not that there was any doubt! You do so many interesting cakes, I can’t imagine what you will come up with after this class!

  4. chanknits permalink
    September 21, 2009 9:22 am

    Glad to hear you’re all settling in so nicely! Cake decorating is one of those things on my list of “want to do someday”…

  5. September 21, 2009 10:30 am

    Happy to hear everything is going well! Your little mice are adorable, and all that talk of cake makes me want to bake one…I get 300 extra calories a day while I’m pregnant, right? πŸ™‚

  6. September 27, 2009 10:43 am

    So how is the weather in NC? I hear it is pretty there. The kids all look so cute! I love the cakes and all the knitting projects, especially the cat bed…isnt the cat supposed to lay IN the bed LOL

  7. July 4, 2012 10:31 am

    That cake looks brilliant!

Leave a Reply

