Skip to content

Survivor?

September 12, 2009

Ok, those who know me well know how much I have LOVED the show Survivor… I’ve watched every season since it began… and even sent in an audition tape once to be on the show…

I still would love to do it…

Today I got to do a ‘Survivor-esqe’ activity that I’d never really figured I’d do…

I ate bugs!

IMG_7378

Why on earth would I do this??? Well.. in the spirit of Bugfest 2009, in downtown Raleigh at the Science Museum… and of course to teach my kids that you should always try something… at least once…

I ate all three items… the chocolate chip grasshopper cookie, the meal worm fritter, and the sweet nutty bugs… the easiest was the cookie.. it had just a tiny bit of crunch in the one bite (in the center) that had the grasshopper… the hardest were the sweet bugs… in spite of the sweet flavoring, and the nuts.. there still was an overwhelming BUGGY flavor…

IMG_7380

The fritter was actually NOT that bad… assuming I didn’t LOOK at it between bites…

IMG_7379

Ok.. do that little ‘ewwwww’ quivver.. I just did!

We had a blast though at Bugfest…

In the knitting world, I finished a pair of slippers for Aunt Karen today…

IMG_7387to keep her tootsies nice and warm… Uncle Eddie puts her sneakers on every day, but I think slippers will just be that much more comfortable for Aunt Karen don’t you!?!?!

IMG_7358

In other knitting news… I finished my Ginny socks, and Sparky’s bed… 🙂 Sparky has yet to investigate the now dry felted Kitty Pi… but I know he will in time…

IMG_7361

IMG_7375

4 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    September 13, 2009 8:36 am

    Love all the FOs. You’re a brave soul… EWWWWWWWW!

  2. September 15, 2009 5:49 pm

    I started quivering at the beginning. Ewwww! My mom brought the kids a package of worms or something that were done in a cheese powder, kind of like cheetos. I couldn’t watch the consumption. lol

  3. netfrog permalink
    September 18, 2009 10:23 am

    I’m actually jealous. We have gone to bugfest every year for YEARS. We had just sat down to lunch at Red Lobster (in Cary) when I took a peek at my calendar and realized- IT WAS BUGFEST! Darn! Looks like you guys had fun.

  4. September 19, 2009 12:52 pm

    I am so glad you are back to blogging. I’m just going to comment here on everything I’ve read. I spent the summer laid off and just got back to work. My personal pantry challenge is to eat more local and organic. I’m going to make the treck to a local butcher and get fresh, organic, free-range meats. I understand that the better quality the less you actually need to eat for flavor. I’m sure I’ll spend more money – but hopefully it will be worth it.

    to get back to my weekly menu plans and grocery shopping. Not running to the store every couple of days. I spend so much money. I’m angling for a kitchen aide for my birthday and then I want to start baking my own bread.

    I also need to get back to taking care of me. I’ve totally lost the skill in the last couple of years. Hope you are taking care of you 🙂 g

Leave a Reply

