Skip to content

A challenge maybe we should ALL take…

August 28, 2009

Yesterday while surfing the net.. for the first REAL surfing in a while… I found this video… and am going to take this challenge… with a few personal changes…

No Shopping for One Month

First… since I haven’t even finished unpacking my pantry boxes from our PA home… I will start the challenge on September 1st… with the following adjustments…

1. I will shop for meats prior to the September 1 start date, because we currently have NONE in the house. I will make single purchases of family packs of our three ‘staple’ meats… Hamburger, Pork chops, and Chicken Breasts.

2. The following items can be purchased on an as needed basis and I will keep track of exactly how many of those purchases are made, I know that my inspiration only purchased milk, however with 3 children in school during lunch hour each day in September, bread will run out fast, and since they cannot heat up leftovers at school it will be difficult to send most leftovers to school with them:
a. Milk
b. Bread
c. eggs
d. One fresh fruit family bag can be purchased each week.

3. I will blog the dinners we prepare which means I have to get back to full time blogging come Sept. 1!

I want to see how long I can go, not specifically JUST a month… and.. there’s a second part of this challenge that I find makes the challenge almost a necessity for us… We have a contingent offer on our home and are waiting for the buyers home to sell… so.. until that time, we are paying our mortgage as well as a rental… any amount saved right now is critical!

Wish me luck! I’ve found a couple of blogs/links that I think will help…

Eat From Your Pantry
Crockpot 365
8 tips for making the most of your leftovers
And yet another article on leftovers

5 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    August 28, 2009 2:37 pm

    I’ll just watch and admire. We have a hard enough time planning the couple of meals we eat in each week!

  2. August 29, 2009 8:51 am

    Welcome back to Blog World. From the first two entries I sense that you are much happier where you are then where you were! Last winter due to economic times I found a number of blogs that helped me tremendously to save money and also take a close look at bad habits I had developed over the years. Luckily my children as they grew up did not develop these and I have been learning from them now….I have learned that I don’t need “stuff”, and there is always something in the fridge to eat, meal planning is very thrifty without you knowing it. etc. etc. Anyway….good luck. Here are a few blogs I check daily that help out tremendously….There are so many that I have separate place for “knitting” blogs and “savings” blogs in my favorites!

    http://www.moneysavingmom.com
    http://grocerycartchallenge.blogspot.com
    http://www.gettingaheadblog.com/
    http://www.lifeasmom.com/

  3. August 29, 2009 6:15 pm

    I agree with Chan. I’ll cheer from the sidelines. 🙂 Sounds like a good idea, though.

  4. August 31, 2009 9:23 pm

    This is totally doable for many normal families. But wow…after a move?! I’ll be watching to see how you do. I’m sure it will be harder than average since you probably didn’t move a lot of food. I know we could totally live for a month with just milk and eggs and fresh produce. If we ate frozen veggies, then we’d need less, but the fresh ones taste so much better. If you run out of bread, try pb&j in a tortilla. Yum!

  5. Kathy permalink
    September 7, 2009 9:49 pm

    Oh what a challenge. Think I may join you although Sept 1st has passed.
    Glad to see you’re back.

Leave a Reply

