Skip to content

A Special Thanks

June 21, 2009

Nearly a year ago, I put a call out to the wonderfully generous population of knitters far and near who visit my blog, and y’all responded with unbelievable swiftness, love and kindness for dear little Luke, my 8 year old neighbor who was suffering from a brain stem glioma (inoperable brain tumor).

Luke fought a tough battle, underwent a rigorous clinical trial of chemo and radiation. He showed great improvement and after the round of chemo and radiation even returned to school.

Luke recently took a turn for the worse and the doctors found that his tumor had returned. Luke lost his battle with the cancer on May 22nd 2009. He died at his home surrounded by family.

I want to again thank every one of you who helped me make the blanket for Luke last summer. I do know that he was very grateful to receive it and that it’s creation was filled with love and prayers from many across the country.

I apologize for not getting this info out on my blog sooner. Luke passed on the Friday of my Father-In-Law’s viewing, and I only learned myself after returning from the funeral weekend.

I am so saddened by the loss of Luke, for his family, his young twin sisters, his parents and grandparents. It’s never easy to say goodbye, and I imagine it’s even harder to say goodbye to such a young one.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    June 21, 2009 5:34 pm

    Thanks for letting us know. I’m so sorry life is throwing so much at you right now.

  2. June 22, 2009 5:33 pm

    Thank you for letting us know. So very sad to hear of young Luke’s passing… sending many good vibes to you and his family.

  3. June 23, 2009 1:09 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that. I’ll keep his family and friends in my thoughts.

  4. Amanda permalink
    June 24, 2009 5:28 am

    Hugs…

  5. June 27, 2009 11:53 am

    the words are never right. I’m very sorry to hear the Luke has passed. Hope you are doing okay. g

  6. July 1, 2009 12:28 am

    I am so sorry to hear of Luke’s passing. I am very glad I could be a part of such a special gift. Hugs and Love for you, Luke’s family, and all who were touched by his too-short life.

  7. July 1, 2009 9:09 pm

    I’ve been meaning to come back an comment here. Oh…that news made me so sad. I can’t imagine loosing my Luke (also 8). This had to be so hard for the family. I know he’s better off…without pain. Prayers for the hurting hearts.

Leave a Reply

