Skip to content

Until Further Notice

June 15, 2009

I’m logging off of blogland… I will be back, but this post should explain why I need to take a break from my blog for a little… My hopes are to be back on here in the fall…

A whole month has passed since my last post and so much has happened in that time…

1. we decided to move back to North Carolina
2. my father-in-law became suddenly ill and died within two weeks time
3. the big guy moved south leaving us here to get the house packed up and on the market so we can join him by summer’s end
4. my nephew came to live with us for the summer (along with grandma)
5. my sister had a mild heart attack (she’s 37)
6. ????? seriously.. what’s next?

got this on email, seems fitting for the some of the way I’ve felt this month…

One day I hopped in a taxi and we took off for the airport.

We were driving in the right lane when suddenly a black car jumped out of a parking space right in front of us. My taxi driver slammed on his brakes, skidded, and missed the other car by just inches! The driver of the other car whipped his head around and started yelling at us. My taxi driver just smiled and waved at the guy. And I mean, he was really friendly.

So I asked, “Why did you just do that? This guy almost ruined your car and sent us to the hospital!” This is when my taxi driver taught me what I now call, “The Law of the Garbage Truck.”

He explained that many people are like garbage trucks. They run around full of garbage, full of frustration, full of anger, and full of disappointment. As their garbage piles up, they need a place to dump it and sometimes they’ll dump it on you. Don’t take it personally. Just smile, wave, wish them well, and move on. Don’t take their garbage and spread it to other people at work, at home, or on the streets.

The bottom line is that successful people do not let garbage trucks take over their day. Life’s too short to wake up in the morning with regrets, so….. “Love the people who treat you right. Pray for the ones who don’t.

Pray for my sanity, my family (immediate and extended), and that I don’t become a garbage truck.. I don’t think I’m acting that way.. but I can see how my stress is building and building… I don’t want it to explode out like the garbage trucks out there….

My knitting is keeping me calm most evenings (when I can fit it in).. I’m participating in a Ravelry ‘kal’ of sorts… Harry Potter related of course… I’m enjoying every second of it… I’ll share my stuff at some point…

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 1:02 pm

    Best of luck to you & yours! I really cannot believe that you would ever become a garbage truck!

  2. June 15, 2009 2:06 pm

    ::hugs:: to you all. I like the garbage truck theory, I have always tried to answer any garbage with a smile as well. Things will get better… sending you some sunshine.

  3. June 15, 2009 2:07 pm

    I’m so sorry things are rough right now. 😦 Sending lots of happy, stress-free vibes your way! ((hugs))

  4. June 15, 2009 3:01 pm

    Hope this summer goes better for you!

  5. June 15, 2009 3:57 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss. The saying, “when it rains, it pours” sure seems to fit. It seemed like you weren’t too happy with PA so maybe moving back to NC will help out also at this hard time. Remember the good times with your father in law. It will help.

    Keep knitting. It keeps my sanity for me, especially when I went through my MIL’s illness and death and my mom’s Alzheimer’s woes. It also helps me to get through my fear of inheriting the disease.

    I look forward to your return in the fall.

  6. chanknits permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:27 pm

    I’m so very sorry!! I wish I’d known… I’ll just keep you in my thoughts and prayers and wait for your return to blogland.

  7. June 15, 2009 9:35 pm

    Holymoly- that is a lot to handle. Be sure to take time for yourself! I’m so sorry you’re getting hit with all that at once.

  8. June 15, 2009 11:24 pm

    Prayers hugs and all sorts of good thoughts are being sent your way. Its been one of those years, hasn’t it?

    I hope soon you are onto smoother roads with less stress and upheaval. Until then, we’re here if you need an outlet… and will still be here when you do make it back. Good luck moving!!

  9. June 16, 2009 12:04 am

    This is where you get the insane in Insanknitty! Prayers will keep on flowing. I can’t even imagine this move without your hubby there with you. I know that in a few months it will all feel worth it…but for now…WOW. Wooly Hugs…

  10. June 17, 2009 12:28 am

    I am so sorry to hear all that you are going through. I think the worst has to be the Big Guy heading south, because now who can you dump on? Feel free to email me, try hard as we might, sometimes we need to act like a garbage truck – you won’t be like that long, but if you need to . . . .

    g

  11. June 18, 2009 11:38 pm

    That’s a great statement about Garbage Dumping people.

    Enjoy your hiatus, I hope the move goes as smoothly as possible. Big hugs and at least the kids are big enough to pack a lot of their own stuff!

  12. Anita permalink
    June 22, 2009 6:43 pm

    I hope you & the family are doing well!! Lots of good wishes being sent your way!

  13. June 23, 2009 2:50 pm

    I was just popping in to see what you’d been up to. Gosh, you have an awful lot on your plate right now. The Tall Guy moving south and everyone else moving in can’t be easy while trying to sell the house. But I’m sure everything will work out. Just think of the lazy afternoon you’ll enjoy – knitting and drink of choice by your side – once you’re back in NC!

Leave a Reply

