Skip to content

Must I be tortured?

April 8, 2009

Seriously…

I mean really people!  Every single week since the first of February we have had one illness or another in our house…  EVERY. SINGLE. WEEK.

I know it’s a short week for us due to school break beginning today at 12:30… and I may have been jumping the gun last night when I whispered to myself that we are in the clear this week for the illness situation… I mean … Rosalie had her last dose of her antibiotics from her Strep on Sunday..

as an aside… who’d have thought that whispering could bring on the curse… I mean I even only whispered it IN MY HEAD!  (seriously it’s ok for me to YELL now… )
Emmett woke this morning with a bout of vertigo like symptoms, and a fever of 102…

I brought this on myself for thinking that we’d finally broken free of the curse!

Today’s plans to help at school are now on serious hold… sadness… I had been looking forward to helping with Emmett’s class…  My working at the gym two days per week has completely decreased my volunteer time in the class to  ZERO…

On the bright side, I can get a lot of the packing done for our trip tomorrow to the in-laws for the holiday weekend.  I’m always without email/internet when I am there.. which is a bit relaxing in all reality… I can get a bunch of knitting done, the kids get their cousins to hang with and it’s usually quite nice… 🙂

I’ll leave you with some recent knitting….

img_2722_medium

A new beautiful baby girl joined our friend’s family… Jacqueline received this ‘Jaywalkin’ Babyghan’ from our family… I tweaked the Jaywalker sock pattern to be knit flat with an eyelet edge for a ribbon, which I then decided NOT to use…

img_2723_medium

I really like how the jaywalker pattern looks so crisp when it’s blocked

img_2669_mediumSpeaking of babies, my cousin’s fiance delivered Ryan Michael this weekend!  They’re big Sox fans, so off when this goody (arriving the day before Ryan Michael)… before mailing I added a cute ‘It’s a boy’ ribbon to the booties, should have taken a photo.. but hopefully I’ll one day get one of little Ryan in this outfit!

img_2716_mediumI occasionally design for an online knitters newsletter called “Smart Knitter” … their April edition will include these Pilgrim socks… this particular photo is of Alice’s size… (toddler)… and I have got 1 sock complete of Rosalie’s size (kids shoe size 1-2) here’s some more of the patterning of the ‘Pilgrim’ socks (so named because of the colorway of the yarn used… ‘April Showers Bring May Flowers’… and in our house.. we always say… ‘ and what do Mayflowers bring?’….

Pilgrims

img_2712_medium

abbysock_medium

I learned a new technique while designing these socks… Toe Up… LOVE…  🙂 now if I could just fall in love with the short row heel…. 😉

maybe with the sickie on the couch I can sit and knit… hmmmm now there’s an idea!


Calgon…. take me away!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 1:29 pm

    Enough of the sick already. Let’s hope this means you’ve had your share and you can all be healthy for the rest of the year!

    Cute socks! How do we find out about this newsletter?

  2. chanknits permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:34 pm

    Poor Emmet! I hope he’s already on the mend and you get a break from all of this.

    LOVE the socks. They’re precious. The blankie is incredible!

    Happy Easter!

  3. April 8, 2009 2:30 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear you’re still dealing with the “crud”. We haven’t been able to get completely well around here either. Have you found out what Emmet has?

    Pretty socks!

  4. Amanda permalink
    April 8, 2009 3:17 pm

    Aw, Michelle! I’m so sorry to read sickness is STILL in the house. I can’t believe how much stuff just goes around and around this year for so many. People cancel appts all the time at both of the clinics I work in because of cold/flu/strep… you name it.

    Have a great weekend, just in case we don’t get to chat before then. I love the Pilgrims, BTW!

  5. April 11, 2009 10:41 am

    Michele I love the Pilgrim socks.

Leave a Reply

