Skip to content

Who lives in a pineapple…under the sea?

March 23, 2009

Why Spongebob of course!

He was my inspiration for my next attempt at dyeing… this time with Jacquard acid dyes… I obviously need more practice.. though my kids will love socks knit with this anyway…

The color struck fast… and didn’t penetrate the entire skein… hence the speckling… grrrr any dyers out there with suggestions???

img_2683 img_2684

and.. my attempt at ‘Bella’… browns and blues… the white I wanted for her pale complexion.. but not the speckling again… gah!

img_2686 img_26851

And… my cute little BUG… got honored for a BUG award for her 2nd quarter grades (BUG = Bring Up your Grades.,.. she had to improve her overall grades with no more than one grade slipping… honestly she has no where else to improve next quarter so I don’t know if she’ll receive this award again…)

img_2678

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 12:45 pm

    Are you making sure your yarn is thoroughly wet before adding the dye? Are you using premixed dye or mixing your own? If you are mixing up from powdered, are you making sure it is completely dissolved and then straining it just to make sure you have no lumps? Just a couple of thoughts off the top of my head.

  2. Amanda permalink
    March 23, 2009 3:04 pm

    The color will strike quickly if you soak in a vinegar bath before adding color – so I don’t tend to do vinegar bath… I put the vinegar into the dye mix, and massage onto the yarn, or if in warm kettle bath, move yarn slightly with a utensil to get the dye to touch all yarn. Then bring up to temp to set the dye.

    Hope that helps!

  3. Amanda permalink
    March 23, 2009 3:04 pm

    P.S. Abby looks adorable.

  4. March 24, 2009 12:41 pm

    lol I should do some Spongebob stuff for my kids, too. That’s their favorite. ::shudder:: Drives me insane, but…

    As for the suggestions, both Barbara and Amanda already said everything I would try. 🙂

  5. chanknits permalink
    March 24, 2009 1:25 pm

    Spongebob kept Sissy sane while she was an only dog, so I’m still prone to humming “Who lives in a pineapple under the sea…”

    Congrats to Abby. You must be so proud!

  6. March 25, 2009 9:56 pm

    Congrats to Abby! Doesn’t she just look the best there – so very proud and happy.

    My suggestions about the dye were already said, so it must be unanimous!

  7. March 26, 2009 1:16 pm

    I love the sponge bob colors, I even like the speckling, but I still don’t like sponge bob, lol

  8. March 30, 2009 4:14 pm

    Beautiful colors! Congrats to Abby!
    Thank you so much for the stitch markers and notepad! I got them last week, and with all of the moving hysteria I haven’t had my camera to post pics. I’ll most likely be posting tomorrow. They’re beautiful!

  9. April 2, 2009 5:01 pm

    Coming out of lurkdom
    Superwash is really bad for doing that, it really pulls up dye quickly and doesn’t let it penetrate. I mostly do kettle dyeing and the way I get around that is to add the dyes first, squish a little bit to get them to penetrate, and a couple minutes later then add the vinegar (this is all when it’s all at the high temperature).
    Or I add dye at the very beginning when it’s cold so I’ve got a “base” layer, then add the “overdye” (not really, just needed a word) and vinegar when it’s hot.
    Good luck

Leave a Reply

