Skip to content

I said it was an addiction didn’t I?

March 2, 2009

So.. I have LOADS of the Wilton’s dyes… and I wanted to see what each color would be on my yarn… so … I wound up 21 mini skeins (just enough to get a ‘light’ and ‘dark’ version of each dye)…  and set to work…

The Wilton’s Colors I have are:

img_2402

and here they are in groups

1-Pink (top)
2-Teal (left)
3-Christmas Red (middle)
4-Copper (right)
5-Sky Blue (left)
6-Brown (middle)
7-Golden Yellow (right)

img_2403

8-Cornflower Blue (top)
9-*Care Bears Blue (left)
10- Buttercup Yellow (middle)
11-Rose Petal (Right)
12- Aster Mauve (Left)
13- Violet (Middle)
14-Orange (Right)

img_2404

And finally

15-Black (top)
16-Juniper Green (left)
17-Lemon Yellow (middle)
18-Willow Green (right)
19-Creamy Peach (left)
20-*Care Bears Orange (middle)
21-Delphinium Blue (right)

img_2406

Each mini skein was dipped entirely in dye for 5 minutes, then half was removed and the remaining yarn was left in the dye for an additional 45 minutes.

Now I know what to expect from my colors 🙂

Of note… the colors in my p hotos don’t match perfectly the way they are in my yarn.  When they’re fully dried I’ll add a tag to each skein or attach them to cards or some such thing…  The black in particular… it’s more of a DEEP purple color and I actually like how it came out 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 3:29 pm

    That’s a great idea! I’ve always liked the Wilton’s Dye. I didn’t have to worry about it around the kids.

  2. March 2, 2009 4:24 pm

    Oh yeah, you’re addicted. ENJOY!!!!

  3. March 2, 2009 6:15 pm

    OHH so very cool! Darn you are tempting me to get into dyeing yarn….I’ve been soo wanting to lately!!!

  4. March 2, 2009 6:56 pm

    SO FUN! Now should these become a mini color book or will you knit a mini sampler with the bits of yarn?

  5. chanknits permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:39 pm

    You crack me up. Thanks for sharing the color tests with us.

  6. gimpykatk permalink
    March 2, 2009 8:48 pm

    Great idea… the sky’s the limit now

  7. March 2, 2009 9:27 pm

    oh my yummy! yummy!

  8. Amanda permalink
    March 3, 2009 6:31 am

    AWESOME!

  9. March 3, 2009 10:54 am

    I’m just curious, but won’t the color depend on the base you start with? I don’t get this whole dying thing. Anyway – love the little mini hanks, they are very cute. I think knit samples would be awesome. By the way – love the new header photo, looks very springy. g

  10. March 3, 2009 11:51 am

    delurking here…This is a great post! Thank you for sharing. I have a bunch of Wilton dyes too that I haven’t gotten around to doing anything with yet.

  11. March 5, 2009 2:45 pm

    Great job I love the yarns:)(((((Hugs))))Darcy

Trackbacks

  1. Helplessly late « InsanKnitty

Leave a Reply

