Skip to content

um.. seriously.. what have I done to deserve this?

February 27, 2009

A few weeks ago I brought the stomach bug home from my job at the gym… it was UGLY to say the least.. but for some miraculous intervenion, of God’s, everyone else avoided getting the bug… maybe it’s because for the first time I actually had my husband come home so I could stay away from the kidlets and rest…
Fast forward 3 weeks and Emmett gets the bug… probably picked it up from the kids at school.. it’s been rampant there.. and I thought we were incredibly fortunate NOT to have gotten it thus far…  He missed school on last Friday but seemed quite back to his usual energetic self by midday Saturday… On Tuesday night little Alice and then only one hour later,  her older sis Rosalie started with it… UGH… I literally didn’t get back to sleep after 2am… it was a brutally long day.. and the big guy ended up coming home early from work not feeling himself… so then I had 3 sickies on my hands.. GAH…

Two days of school  missed for Rosalie, but Alice bounced back quickly… so I was super relieved that after two straight days of NON-STOP laundry, and a serious climb up laundry mountain… and where the Lysol bottle RAN OUT (gasp)…  I thought for sure… I can get my life back together and get more than just LAUNDRY done in my house… and what do you know.. Emmett wakes up with a fever of 102!  Good Grief Charlie Brown!?!?!?!

Emmett missed school yesterday and of course today too… at bedtime his fever was up to 103!… The fever hasn’t gone above 101 today… and the Tylenol does seem to work for a few hours anyway.. right now he’s back at a normal 98.2… lets see what the next few hours brings!

I’m most worried about the rest of the house picking up whatever bug he’s brought home now… like I need yet another week without one single minute alone….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    February 27, 2009 1:04 pm

    Hang in there… There are germs flying here too. Thinking healthy thoughts for you!

  2. February 27, 2009 2:04 pm

    Oh wow. That’s awful! Sending what’s left of my sanity your way. Sounds like you need it more than I do! ((hugs))

  3. February 27, 2009 3:13 pm

    Maybe your doctor already suggested this but incase he/she didn’t, when my kids were young and even now when they are very ill with a high temp, we alternate the ibuprofen and tylenol. It keeps an even stream of fever reducing meds in them without over medicating them with one product. So I would give them Tylenol at say 9:00 and then Ibuprofen at 12:00 then Tylenol again at 3:00 and Ibuprofen again at 6:00 and so on. (Something like this)…..My two youngest had such severe astham and woud catch everything in the world. This worked well.

    Actually my Ortho had me do this when I had a bursitis flare up in my shoulder….

    Just a suggestion that worked and was given to me by my kids pediatric pulmonologist as well as PCP.

  4. February 27, 2009 3:21 pm

    I seriously don’t remember this many germs when I was a kid. I want my kids to enjoy their childhood…not remember all the days they were sick. We’ve escaped the stomach bug going through the whole house, but we’ve still had our share. I do like when we can consolidate germs and keep on kid from contaminating the rest. Prayers for energy. Attack that mountain of laundry.

  5. February 27, 2009 4:57 pm

    Have a hot cup of tea, I’m sure it’ll pass quickly!

  6. gimpykatk permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:32 pm

    I agree with the alternate of meds, I used to do that too.

    Just coming off of a week of this high temp and fku like symptoms I can so relate. Fever is gone but I am wiped OUT and haven’t knit in over a week, {{sigh}}

Leave a Reply

