Skip to content

I’ve been dyeing to try

February 27, 2009

Dyeing!

So finally I thought I’d give it a go.  I have several skeins of Lion and Patons Wool in Aran/Fisherman color…  that aren’t earmarked for anything..  so off I went ‘researching’ (aka googling)… to find just the right tutorial.. and of course Knitty had it… pictures and all… I’m not sure why I didn’t start my search there to be honest…
I love decorating cakes, so of course I have loads of Wilton cake colors… and since it’s nearly St. Paddy’s I decided to go with a graduated green… 🙂 I used leaf green, and follow the instructions so well written by Julie Theaker.  It was easier than I’d thought it’d be.. and am happy with the resulting skein that’s hanging to dry in my upstairs bathroom…

here’s my photo account of the process… well much of it anyway 🙂

img_2335

img_2331

img_2336

Next… of course Emmett HAD to do a skein of his choice.. I figured.. why not try the hot-pour method for his skein… he chose his colors.. (though without any assistance from ME… I tried.. really hard, to convince him to choose fewer than the original 6 colors… I talked him down to 4 though I’d have preferred he’d have chosen only 3… )

The hot pour method said that water level was finicky… and it is.. we found quickly that the colors mixed to the muddy brown I was afraid we’d make with all those color choices.. but in the end.. he’s happy with the way it looks…

here’s how it started..  it’s NOT as bad as I’d expected… but it’s not the lollipop color he was hoping for either 😉

img_2334

He hasn’t determined a name for it yet… but here’s the result.. not bad actually.. I think he was hoping for the bright colors of a swirled lollipop… it’s very ‘rainbow’ and I like it nonetheless…

img_2340

img_2341

Rosalie’s was next.. she said she wanted to make a ‘sunset’ colorway… picking pink, red, orange and yellow colors (again I failed at the request for only 2 or 3 colors… kids… 😉 )

img_2343

img_2345

Now little Alice is going to choose her colors.. I’m afraid Mama is going to enforce the three color rule 😉  I’m guessing she’s going with pinks/purples

img_2348

Still need to get to my Finishing Friday post!

The finished products…

img_2365Emmett’s Summer’s End

img_2370Esme’s St. Patrick

img_2369Rosalie’s Popsicle

img_2364Alice’s Pinwheel

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2009 4:56 pm

    Awesome St.Paddy’s yarn! I definitely want to try dying as well. What an awesome experiment for the kiddos.

  2. February 27, 2009 6:09 pm

    How fun!!!

    I haven’t tried the wilton cake dye yet. I wonder if I have any left in the basement. I’m sure it’s not edible if I do, so what a perfect idea. I can’t wait to see what the lollipop one turns out like. That’s the most fun…the guessing!

  3. gimpykatk permalink
    February 27, 2009 8:18 pm

    One day I will try it, among all the other things I want to try

  4. February 28, 2009 2:04 am

    First, Seriously – how did I never notice that all your kids were named after Twilight characters? Or are these nicknames and I missed it?

    The yarns all look fabulous. So, will you be teaching the Cullens to knit next? g

  5. Anita permalink
    February 28, 2009 11:22 am

    Love all of them! The kiddos did good! 🙂 I’ve got some fiber I’m gonna try to dye with koolaid, we’ll see what happens…..

  6. February 28, 2009 1:37 pm

    Did the kids each use a full skein? I’m going to try this SOON. I hope soon doesn’t mean summer, but it just might.

  7. March 1, 2009 1:37 pm

    Love ’em! Thanks for explaining the hot pour method.

  8. March 2, 2009 1:31 am

    They look great! What are you going to knit with them?

Trackbacks

  1. Helplessly late « InsanKnitty

Leave a Reply

