Skip to content

Finishing Friday (2-weeks worth)

February 20, 2009

finishing_friday_button_medium

I never was able to get online last week to do a finishing friday post… so’s life with 3 children, the stomach flu and loads of school committments… ahhh the life of a Mom.. 🙂

I want to write this now because it’s only a bit after 6am, and no one else (besides Murphy and Sparky and I) is up…   ahh the bliss of a quiet house… the only sounds are the wind outside, the computer whirr, and thank goodness the sound of the coffee pot finishing up it’s brew!

The last two weeks have seen a little less knitting than I like… but a lot of fun with other activities which, (knock on wood) I’ll get to blog about later today… including snow tubing, the ice festival, the father/daughter Valentine’s dance, Emmetts final basketball game of the season, and a magic filled Valentine’s day party… I have loads of photos… my favorites are from the ice festival  where we got to watch a carving… so so cold… and so fun at the same time!

Another thing I’ve struggled with over the last two weeks is a touch of startitis… I feel my rules faltering….  the problem (though I have NO excuses here) is that I have 4 babies coming in my future… 2 in April alone…  and I have these grandiose ideas in my head of what to knit for them…  I need to keep that under control, and at the same time get busy… one April baby lives in Massachusetts so I want to send my gift out in more than enough time… finding the RIGHT things though seems to be a problem for me… I’m still trying to work that out…

But.. anyhow… I did finish up a few things… fun things really…

First, for my cocoa swap pal, a cute little (mini) marshmallow key chain. (she’s been so crazy busy that I doubt she’ll make it here to see my photos… we agreed to a later mailing date as we have co-hostessed this swap and wanted to dedicate our time to that and get the package out whenever 😉 I’m so thankful to that idea because these last few weeks have been too insane)  I knit him up from my Marshmallow (wo)Man pattern and  just stopped ‘early’ in the increases.  I knit him on US2’s and stash white yarn of a name I cannot recall.. it’s soft and has a very low ‘cashmere’ content which is nice…  🙂  Darcy, from the cocoa swap, gave me a great method for making a loop on top to attach the keychain to… (THANKS Darcy) it was super easy and made a very sturdy loop… (hmmm beginning to wonder if th ephotos are on this computer or my iMac….)

img_2285_medium-1

img_2287_medium

The photos don’t do his size justice… he is truly the size of a marshmallow… which is quite cool actually I may have to ‘ammend’ his pattern to include this version of the little guy…  I haven’t mailed him out yet so I will take photos today of his keychain attachment 🙂

Next is Grace’s 5-heart lace dishcloth. (ravelry pattern link) Grace has some amazing patterns, not to mention a lovely blog.  I chose her pattern for the first ‘quick’ intro to lace for the lace class I began teaching at my LYS this month.  I figured a worsted weight mini project was the best way to start on lace, and it seems as though I was right on the money… my students appreciated the intro on easier yarn to handle :-).  Knit in Lily sugar ‘n cream hot pink, and easy quick project… perfect for the nearly Valentine’s Day start to my class.

img_2283_medium

Speaking of Valentine’s day.  I couldn’t let that slip by without knitting something fun for my kidlets…

img_2186_mediumThe mochimochi land hearts pattern… cute, easy knit… and fast… each of my Littles got 3 hearts and I had a few left for moi! 🙂  These were all knit with worsted weight feltable wool, and very lightly felted before final ‘construction’  I knit up the heart pieces in one evening and felted and completed in another… in all I knit 12 hearts…  total time maybe 3 hours?  Mochimochi Land has the CUTEST patterns… seriously… I’d like to knit nearly all of them 🙂  I feel their ‘Grass’ pattern coming on for my Easter Basket this year…. (Free patterns they offer are here, it includes the grass pattern).. but seriously I’m willing to pay for these 🙂

Finally, the big knit of the last two weeks… the Dream in Color shrug.

dream_medium

My first jump into ‘garments’.. I love how it came out, though.. I had a bit of trouble that was of no one’s fault but my own inability to measure correctly… doh… This photo was actually taken before I fixed the ribbed opening.  I had seemed the two sleeve too much… they were only supposed to be seamed a total of 10.5 ” on each sleeve and one I had seemed at 11.5″ and the other at 12″… duh!  Yeah.. it was too tight… so I had to rip out the ribbing, remove the inappropriate seam amounts and then pick up and knit the ribbing again.. not a horrible mistake to fix, but sheesh… I was so thrilled when it was finished and then it didn’t fit correctly… I’m sure you can understand my frustration!!

Pattern, Dream in Color Shrug, knit in dream in color classy (LOVE this yarn by the way)… of course at the moment I can’t remember the colorway… oh well… super easy knit, pretty lace repeat… I’ll knit this again for sure… I actually was finished with it within a week of starting, but waited nearly another week before ripping out the ribbing and fixing my errors…

I started a pair of baby socks which will be ripped today because the pattern, though simple enough, resulted in a sock much too large for the newborn I intend to gift it too… bummer…  I found other patterns which I hope to begin soon…  and since I was so frustrated with my sock issue I cast on a pair of socks for me, simple easy knit again (Vivace socks) not so much because I have the Vivace sock yarn (because I don’t) but because it’s a stockinette sock pattern with a pretty picot edge… it’s working veyr nicely in my Dumbledore colorway of Sunshine yarns…(Dumbledore is halfway down the page)… yummy yummy sock yarn!  I’m at the toe of sock 1… I will finish it today and hopefully sock 2 as well.. I really want to because I joined the sock stash knitters group on Ravelry and I have YET to post a finished pair for 2009…  though I am crazy close to finishing mom’s Eclipse socks, and really really want to pick up the Pomotamus socks again… hmmm see… startitis… 🙂 hmmm I see a few pairs of socks and some Baby items for next weeks report 😉

Here’s my updated WIPs/UFOs list

1. Snowman Hat for Rosalie
2. Snowman Hat for Emmett’s Best Bud
3. Vine Lace Scarf for Lace Knitting Class
4. Reader’s Wrap for Bella aka ME ** More than half done, but ran out of yarn, checking for more today at AC Moore
5. Ravenclaw Trapped Bar Scarf
6. Dobby for Rosalie **Nearly complete, need to get eyes finished today if possible, again need to get something at AC Moore for this
7. Hamster for Emmett
8. Kitchen Bag for Me
9. I Love Edward Socks
10. My Eskimo
11. My Underthings
12. Carlisle’s Cabled Hat – Moved to the Frog List
13. Chewyghan ** Balled the yarn for the finishing of this lapghan, no excuses now!
14. Esme’s Crest Bag (Design)
15. Peppermint Cloth
16. Rosalie’s dishcloth afghan
17. Alice’s Dischloth Afghan
18. Alice’s boa scarf
19. Emmett’s green fuzzy scarf
20. Halloween Cloth (Ball band)
21. Alien Hat
22. Odessa for Me
23. Hemlock Ring Blanket
24. Pomatomus Socks
25. Cabled Scarf ** Can’t find pattern, may end up frogging
26. Bus Scarf (Design)
27. Blue Linus Project Pattern baby afghan
28. June is for Jag Scarf (new 2009)
29. Amanda Hat (new 2009)
30. Neck truffle (new 2009)
31. Secret PIF Gift (new 2009)
32. Swallowtail (new 2009)
33. Cocoa Swap Buddy (new 2009)
34. Tracey’s Reading Mitts (new 2009)
35. My Reading Mitts-remix (2009)
36. Dream in Color Shrug (2009)
37. Denise Hat Test knit (2009)
38. Valentine’s Hearts (mochimochi land) (2009)
39. 5-Heart Dishcloth (2009)
40. Mini Marshmallow Keychain (2009)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. gimpykatk permalink
    February 20, 2009 8:51 am

    Michelle I LOVE the mini marshmallow key chain… very cute. Can’t wait to see the rest of your photos, hope you enjoyed your coffee. I haven’t had coffee since October.

  2. February 20, 2009 9:11 am

    I too love the mini marshmallow key chain, what a great idea And the shrug is wonderful, I really must look at that pattern I have a sister who loves shrugs, and thanks for the plug!! Your washcloth came out great, I first knit it in a varigated but the solid does it so much better justice!!!

  3. chanknits permalink
    February 20, 2009 9:31 am

    Precious WEEEEE marshmallow, and the shrug looks great! Enjoy your weekend.

  4. Lesley permalink
    February 20, 2009 9:31 am

    I can relate to finishing something and then it not fitting…..feels like a punch in the face 🙂

  5. February 20, 2009 11:19 am

    ACK… I love that you can finish all of that in two weeks. I finished a sleeve of a sweater.

    I love the marshmallow key chain… so cute! And he looks like he has this really cool secret with the way his smile and eyes are.

    Can’t wait to hear of your other adventures now that you are feeling healthy again.

  6. February 20, 2009 12:06 pm

    Wow! Amazing what you got done with the list of activities and everyone being sick. I’m frightened of what you’ll accomplish when everyone is well.

    Love the socks and that tiny, tiny marshmall man. Too cute! g

  7. February 20, 2009 3:35 pm

    That shrug is goooorgeous!! Hope everyone is feeling better and no more illnesses.

    I love the idea for an intro to lace being in worsted weight. I’m so scared of lace weight yarn!

  8. Amanda permalink
    February 20, 2009 6:39 pm

    Whoa, girlfriend! You have been “wicked” busy!

    I love the color of your shrug – how did it fit you? Looks like it is perfect!

  9. cindy permalink
    February 20, 2009 6:45 pm

    Wow, you are busy, the mini marshmallow is so cute, I might have to try them, they would be great Christmas ornaments for a gift swap.

  10. February 23, 2009 1:13 pm

    Love the socks!
    Happy Mailing!

  11. February 24, 2009 12:36 am

    You’ve been busy! The shrug looks beautiful!

  12. March 16, 2010 8:40 am

    Love your knitted hearts…. Sweet idea
    Jacqueline

Trackbacks

  1. Helplessly late « InsanKnitty

Leave a Reply

