Skip to content

Finish/Frog Friday

January 16, 2009

I don’t want to forget to post this.. so I’m going to do a quickie even though I don’t have ALL the pictures I need…

3192358916_fbc0cd3ff2

First though I need to send a huge THANK YOU out to my bud Chan for the beautiful birthday gift that arrived in the mail yesterday. Chan knit me (photo stolen from her blog until I get my own photos taken)… the Voyager Lace Stole, and let me tell you.. it is totally pure Bliss… I LOVE it… 🙂 blue, one of my favorite colors (tis always a toss up between blue and green for me)… and it is lusciously soft… Sparky even tried to claim it as his last night…

Thanks Chan you’re so sweet!

Now.. Onto Frogging/Finishing Friday!

This weeks projects mostly revolve around Frogging

frogging_friday_button

As a reminder.. here’s what I had to frog…

1. Baby Afghan – Yellow (bernat Satin)
2. Ribbed Scarf – Blue Cashmere blend
3. Baby Afghan – Peter Pan and Wendy Yarn (white, green and blue)
4. Spring Forward Socks – need to go down a needles size
5. Pink Tom and Jerry Sweater
6. Mid May KAL (ran out of yarn, don’t need cloth that large)
I ended up having to add a project to the list:

7. Carlisle’s Cabled hat

Because I was unable to find the hat pattern which had been a part of a pattern a day calender from 2008.  Sadness…

So.. I ripped away… and finished frogging ALL the items in my list!  Wahoo!

I’m happy to show the ‘Frog list’ as COMPLETE

1. Baby Afghan – Yellow (bernat Satin)
2. Ribbed Scarf – Blue Cashmere blend
3. Baby Afghan – Peter Pan and Wendy Yarn (white, green and blue)
4. Spring Forward Socks – need to go down a needles size
5. Pink Tom and Jerry Sweater
6. Mid May KAL (ran out of yarn, don’t need cloth that large)
7. Carlisle’s Cabled Hat (misplaced pattern)


I didn’t want to photograph the re-wound balls of yarn.. thought it was a bit boring to show those pics… sorry… but holding the yarn from the the Cabled hat that wasn’t to be had me very much inspired!  Carlisles hat was knit in Malabrigo … YUM!

So.. now to the ‘Finishes’

finishing_friday_button_medium

So.. I immediately cast on the Amanda hat (which I documented in this post) and then promptly finished for my Birthday gift to me! 🙂 I have of course worn it EVERY day since.. all two of them 😉

My first finish of the week was my June is For Jag lace scarf for my Lace class that is postponed until February.  I did get this off to the shop but managed to get a quick photo of it while it was blocking…

library-3125

Very Simple knit… I like how it turned out… 🙂 I’ll update the yarn info etc. tomorrow when I can think a little more clearly… knit in green of course 😉

library-3315

The Amanda hat did not require the full skein of yarn, so I quickly peeked through my queue for something small and fitting for that yarn and decided to cast on (remember all those finished projects I have.. I’m allowed to cast something new on!)… a secret knit for one of my Pay it Forward pals…  actually it’s a secret pal.. which I’ll explain more when I send her package out.  Let’s just say I didn’t have enough people sign up for my Pay It Forward pledge… so I picked someone to pay it forward to as a surprise… that’s the point really isn’t it?

Anyway, I picked a cute Cowl (Neck Truffle).. very fitting for it’s recipient.  Lord forbid I should actually follow a pattern correctly, so I had to make changes… the pattern calls for Bulky weight yarn, and this Malabrigo is worsted.. so I did the appropriate gauge swatching and math and altered the pattern accordingly.  I finished it today and have deemed it adorable and perfect for my PIF pal. 🙂

For the updated list… ooh this is fun seeing it shrink 😉

1. Snowman Hat for Rosalie
2. Snowman Hat for Emmett’s Best Bud
3. Vine Lace Scarf for Lace Knitting Class
4. Reader’s Wrap for Bella aka ME ** More than half done, but ran out of yarn, checking for more today at AC Moore
5. Ravenclaw Trapped Bar Scarf
6. Dobby for Rosalie **Nearly complete, need to get eyes finished today if possible, again need to get something at AC Moore for this
7. Hamster for Emmett
8. Kitchen Bag for Me
9. I Love Edward Socks
10. My Eskimo
11. My Underthings
12. Carlisle’s Cabled Hat – Moved to the Frog List
13. Chewyghan ** Balled the yarn for the finishing of this lapghan, no excuses now!
14. Esme’s Crest Bag (Design)
15. Peppermint Cloth
16. Rosalie’s dishcloth afghan
17. Alice’s Dischloth Afghan
18. Alice’s boa scarf
19. Emmett’s green fuzzy scarf
20. Halloween Cloth (Ball band)
21. Alien Hat
22. Odessa for Me
23. Hemlock Ring Blanket
24. Pomatomus Socks
25. Cabled Scarf ** Can’t find pattern, may end up frogging
26. Bus Scarf (Design)
27. Blue Linus Project Pattern baby afghan
28. June is for Jag Scarf
29. Amanda Hat
30. Neck truffle

I’ll have to post pics of that one tomorrow.. for now.. I have a birthday Spin bike in my living room waiting for me to break it in…

off I spin!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 9:02 pm

    Wow, you’ve been busy. I love your bday gift…Lovely. Like the green scarf you are working on as well.

  2. chanknits permalink
    January 16, 2009 10:32 pm

    Happy spinning! Congrats on the frogs and finishes!

  3. gimpykatk permalink
    January 16, 2009 10:55 pm

    My you have been busy. Thanks for reminding me about frogging/finishing Friday. I am going to blog soon and now I remember what I was supposed to blog about, LOL

  4. January 17, 2009 1:20 am

    You’re doing great! I need to get on our treadmill. ::sigh::

  5. January 17, 2009 4:33 am

    I love your voyager it is fantastic:) I have 2 unfinished projects I would like to finish this year and Iam doing a blanket in a year kal to.I want to get the Wii to excercise with so hubby and I can lose weight together;) Love the hat and lace scarf .Hugs Darcy

  6. Amanda permalink
    January 17, 2009 7:40 am

    The scarf that you knit (pic of it being blocked) looks like a good knit for a fearful lace knitter like me. What are your thoughts on that?

    Chans shawl is gorgeous. Wow, what a nice gift!

  7. January 18, 2009 8:22 am

    Nice work!

  8. January 19, 2009 5:40 am

    love your voyager gift, its beautiful and that Chan is awesome

    Nice knitting on your part too, I have been meaning to make both the j scarf and the amanda hat but just haven’t done them yet!!

Leave a Reply

