Skip to content

Mmmmm

January 15, 2009

Mmmmalabrigo…..

A new love… 🙂

I received 2 gorgeous skeins of Malabrigo from Devin in the HSKS3 swap… I know.. eons ago.. I think the HSKS folks are on swap #7 now!  I stopped doing them, not because I didn’t love the swap but because it was so tremendously time intensive… they have some really very interesting side threads now in the swap which sound like so much fun… especially the duelling… which is very much like Hat Attack .. where a pattern is released and you duel with your partner and move up through the rankings… very very fun I’m sure. … of course.. I’m rambling.. oops… something new for me right?!?!?

Devin gifted me the Malabrigo… and I had put it aside… (I seriously wonder about my sanity for the fact that I tucked it into stash and didn’t immediately begin to knit with it)…  I finally pulled it out to knit a hat… for Carlisle… and it was gorgeous and  unbelieveable to knit with… and … then life got in the way, and knitting a hat in summer.. well.. just wasn’t something I wanted to do at the time… so it moved to the UFO list that I posted last Friday…   This past weekend it was cold.. really cold… and Carlisle is now putting in time with the Snowblower toy he got for Christmas… I thought… I really should finish that hat… so… off I went.. and wouldn’t you know it.. the pattern is NO WHERE to be found… and I searched seriously … high and low…  and in the process weeded through all my old printed patterns (that are so easy to get on ravelry)… and couldn’t find it anywhere…  so… RRRRRRip… RIP… the hat,… and also rip… it’s already ripped and balled and ready for another project…

I went hunting.. what hat can I knit for Carlisle??? and what did I turn up…  oooh something sparkly over there… (more knitters ADD)… a hat pattern for me… I didn’t even spend much time deliberating over whether or not I should wait and knit his first.. nope.. I cast on the Amanda Hat on Jan. 13th, and finished it last night as a birthday gift for myself…  Seriously fast night folks.. and seriously happy with the results…

library-3315

library-3309

Amanda Hat (Ravelry Link)
US 9 circular needle (Clover Bamboo)
Mmmmalabrigo, (dang where’s that tag)
used less than 1 skein, plenty leftover for a surprise knit that cannot be discussed at the moment
Who wouldn’t love a hat in a color that makes my blue eyes pop even more than I thought they were capable of…  🙂 Plus, didn’t I mention.. it’s Malabrigo… and soft as butter… 🙂

I do have a second skein… so no worries.. I’ll knit Carlisle some wicked awesome (Maineahd terminology yeah I know) hat… I promise…

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2009 10:40 am

    Happy Birthday!

  2. chanknits permalink
    January 15, 2009 11:26 am

    Lovely!!! And welcome to the world of Mmmmmalabrigo addiciton.

  3. January 15, 2009 11:45 am

    Gorgeous! That’s on my list of upcoming knits.

    I just finished the Armando hat for my hubby in some gorgeous Mmmmmalabrigo in kind of camo colors. I just *love* your Amanda hat. Mine may have to move up the queue a bit… 🙂

    (My Armando hat is here: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/yarngeekier/the-armando-hat)

  4. gimpykatk permalink
    January 15, 2009 12:25 pm

    So far I have yet to see any malabrigo in person. I’ve never knitted with Butter, LOL

    You look good in the hat, I look horrible in hats, just horrible.

  5. holly permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:55 pm

    That hat does make your eyes very blue. Very cute hat. Good for you, put yourself first on your Birthday!

  6. January 15, 2009 2:59 pm

    Great hat!!!!

  7. Amanda permalink
    January 15, 2009 4:23 pm

    I love Malabrigo…

  8. January 15, 2009 8:48 pm

    lovely!

  9. January 15, 2009 9:29 pm

    What a lovely mmmmmalabrigo hat. Good on you. 🙂 g

  10. January 16, 2009 4:25 am

    GORGEOUS! I’m so glad to hear you treated yourself on your birthday! Great idea!

  11. January 16, 2009 12:43 pm

    Isn’t the Amanda hat FAB-U-LOUS??!! Love yours!

  12. January 16, 2009 12:47 pm

    Don’t you just love the Amanda Hat?!? I made one for my SIL (speaking of which, I still need to mail their gifts out) and it turned out so nice.

    Oh, and I got the box today. Did you ever figure out how much? lol

  13. Kathy permalink
    January 18, 2009 2:15 pm

    Love that hat! I need to get some of that Malabrigo:) NOW! LOL

Trackbacks

  1. Finish/Frog Friday « InsanKnitty

Leave a Reply

