Skip to content

Dobby

January 7, 2009

dobby_medium

Dobby… we love you!  We need to have you here at our home.. so … your project was born!

You are a joint project… under the creative direction of the Big Girl.. I am knitting you…

At first.. I thought of making a teenie tiny version of you… aka ‘The Alien‘ and the Big Girl was in line with that… but making something so small so very ‘Dobby’ wasn’t working in my mind…

So then I started surfing.. I needed a pattern that was just similar enough in ‘look’ to get the body down.. I mean serious Dobby.. you aren’t exactly ‘buff’… you’re a scrawny little guy…  (I mean that in the nicest of ways… we have our own little scrawny guy here known as the Middle guy)…

I narrowed my search down to this Monkey pattern… with obvious changes.  I mean you don’t exactly have a monkey face, ears, or tail… but your body isn’t all that different from Monkey Moo… though.. you needed knobby knees… so, changes needed to be made…

First I screwed up the placement and look of your ears… so they got ripped back.. then it was your nose.. it just wasn’t right.. and that got ripped back.. but I think I’m pretty close now.  The only things left are your eyes and lips…  your eyes I’ve got.. but need to ‘deal’ with.. meaning.. they’re doll eyes, and don’t have posts for attachment.. so I’m jerry rigging that situation… and the lips… well I’m going to try for iCord.. we’ll see how I feel about that afterwards…

here’s how you’re coming along…

library_-_3098_medium

The Big girl ‘sewed’ you an outfit to wear so you aren’t ‘nakey’ until I can knit up a pillow case…

library_-_3093_medium

speaking of destashing, UFOs and sewing… (yes they all go together)…

check back later.. I need to get a run in on the treadmill before my butt stitches itself onto my favorite chair and I never get up!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    January 7, 2009 1:21 pm

    LURVERSES him! You’re going to write up a pattern, aren’t you?!

    (Although I think Winky would be more comfortable at my house, or even Kreacher, with some of the old stuff…)

  2. January 7, 2009 3:25 pm

    MICHELE!!!!!!

    there really is no end to your talent.

  3. January 7, 2009 9:07 pm

    Oh my Lord, Michelle! He’s PRECIOUS!

  4. January 8, 2009 12:30 am

    Aww … you could even adapt that to make a Yoda! Those ears are totally Yoda-like.

  5. January 8, 2009 1:44 am

    So precious;)Hugs Darcy

Leave a Reply

