Skip to content

Christmas re-cap and OH NO.. what is she thinking???

January 7, 2009

I never did get the chance to post about Christmas…  we had an amazing time this year… it was relaxing and fun… and ya know.. it was just the best… The Big Guy and I did a great job with gift selection…  some years you just get the RIGHT stuff… and this year.. was that year for us…  if I had to sum it up… it’d be the ‘Year of the Game’…. board games, Wii Games, the DS …. we did good!

The gifts that we choose for our ‘family’ we end up giving to each other under the tree so that we can each ‘get’ some things to unwrap.  We don’t really give each other gifts anymore for the holiday… it’s more things for the family I suppose… like.. the Big Guy got a snowblower… I mean.. we need it… and it’s a toy he enjoys playing with… my big gift… well.. it was more like the traditional gifts.. I got a Spin bike.. well.. I’ll be getting one anyway…  I gave up my gym membership when we moved here and our expenses changed… the Spin Bike was my ‘return’ to the Gym … (Thank you hubby)..

Aside from my Spin Bike… my favorite gift was a book given to me by my  sister-in-law, Helen.  It’s a family snack book… so cute and fun.. and so very very me… Thanks Helen!

I had a fantastic time playing games (a big favorite is the Hogwarts edition of Clue, as is the Mario Kart for Wii)… and having many ‘jammie’ days with the kids.  We even had a trip to the in-law’s for my MILs birthday brunch.

The most ‘intriguing’ gift???

Those who know me well, know that I love the series Twilight.  I enjoyed reading it so much that I even put down my knitting needles for the whopping ‘week’ that it took me to pour through the four books.  I enjoyed the movie almost as much as the books!  I’ve always been a fan of fantasy…

That being said… I am 37.. (well shortly to be 38)… and the gag gift one of my other SILs gave me was a bit ‘over the top’.  In all honesty, I’m not really a fan of gag gifts… I find them to be a waste of money … and especially with the economy the way it is right now… I don’t know.. I did hear that she only spend $5 on it.. but still….

I did ‘model’ the item for her benefit.. and can see the humor in it,   Her husband ensures me she got a giggle out of my model job… I’m just not sure what to do with the gift now…  I guess I could bring it to the high school and find an admirer who’d like it…

edward

For those who might think it’s a bit open for me to write about this… I know my SIL could stop by here and read this post.. I don’t think she will, but…  I don’t mind if she does either.. I mean.. her gift doesn’t make me angry or anything, and I’m not insulted or anything.. come on.. Edward… ahhhh …….yum….

I just kinda wish she knew me better…

I’m not the type who just opens my mouth SAYS what’s on my mind the second I think it..
Speaking of thinking… I think everything to death…
I HATE confrontation… (even if the topic isn’t confrontational.. just the fact that I have to admit to the person that I don’t LIKE what they said or did)…
I hate comparisons.. people aren’t inanimate objects they can’t be truly compared because they don’t share the exact environment or genetics (umm I do realize that scientists do try to do scientific comparisons, that’s not what I’m getting at here)
I believe everyone is entitled to an opinion, and I don’t necessarily think I should have to defend my opinions to death… (can you tell I’ve been in my share of opinion related confrontations?)…
I’m easily offended… even though I try so hard not to be..
I have ALWAYS been this way… this isn’t something new…

I guess what I’m saying is.. while a blog post is rather openly discussing something I typically keep to myself.. it is my passive was of telling her how I feel … should she happen to stop here… 😉  If that’s the case… please.. NO MORE JOKE GIFTS>…. or ANNOYING ONES EITHER… being the winner of the ‘most annoying gift’ isn’t something I ever would strive for… it’s just… Annoying…

hmmm maybe I shouldn’t publish this post.. see.. there I go again… NOT SAYING WHAT’S ON MY MIND… AVOIDING CONFRONTATION… ahhhh passive passive passive…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2009 11:54 am

    HILARIOUS

  2. January 7, 2009 12:18 pm

    ((((Hugs))))))Darcy

  3. chanknits permalink
    January 7, 2009 1:04 pm

    Hogwarts Clue? Now shopping for THAT will improve my spirits! 😉

  4. January 7, 2009 3:22 pm

    Okay, that’s it. We must share some dna somewhere.

    I love Mario Cart as well, we’ve rented it a couple of times already.

    Glad to hear that y’all got some good time together. I’ll be exited to see your new spin bike. That should be easier on your poor foot, and MUCH easier to do than to run on ice.

  5. gimpykatk permalink
    January 7, 2009 10:13 pm

    OK Michelle, lets see, it could be a dart board, or you could shred it and use it when packing your Cocoa Swap 2 package. LOL. Or you can roll it back up and re-gift it to her next Christmas. hahahahahahaha

Leave a Reply

