Skip to content

Projects and Holidays

November 25, 2008

Well, we’re approaching the holidays…  and that always means I’m super busy… baking, cooking, kids projects, school… and knitting…
This year I joined a Ravelry Group, called ‘Year in a Blanket’… for two reasons… one… I’ve always wanted to knit an afghan from the 12-Days of Christmas washcloth squares designed by Katherine Matthews.

**NOTE… ugh… I just went looking for the pattern for the next square… 2-turtle doves… and seems that Katherine Matthews only designed the first..  YIKES… planning??? what’s that???  there is another set of cloth patterns for the 12-days of christmas… and I will try with those.. though.. I’m thinking I’m going to have to make some adjustments to keep the sizing similar.. GAH!

And the second reason, is I have this ‘afghan’ design in my head that is screaming to come out but I haven’t had time to think/work on it… so… I’m taking this opportunity to start.

I have finished my first square… the Partridge,

partridge

And hope this week to get onto paper the first square of my ‘Calendar’ afghan… which I’ll share whenever I get that completed…

I’ve been busy designing, mostly in my head, somewhat on paper in a few cases… and am hoping that this round of designs that are coming to mind will be productive 🙂 wish me luck!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    November 25, 2008 10:42 am

    You’re just a designing fool… and I mean that in the nicest way. Sheri (The Loopy Ewe) interviewed Ann Hanson most recently, and Ann said that sometimes, she literally has a headache from all the design ideas in her head. You have to be much the same!

  2. November 25, 2008 10:49 am

    What a clever idea. Now, how are we going to get you the next 11????

  3. November 25, 2008 1:43 pm

    The Partridge came out great. I have the 12 days saved too, it’s been 2 years now and still I haven’t done them. Are you going to use different colors or all the same?

  4. November 25, 2008 8:49 pm

    I love your Partridge, I am in that group too and plan to do a similar 12 month theme, I am using Cascade Eco in 2 colors what are you using for yarn

  5. November 26, 2008 10:30 am

    That will be a lovely afghan. I hope you actually have time to slow down and enjoy the holidays. g

  6. November 28, 2008 12:18 am

    I need to go check out that Ravelry group. It sounds like a great idea. 🙂

  7. December 3, 2008 11:56 pm

    Wow, thats gorgeous! I cna’t wait to see your blanket finished and al together!!

Leave a Reply

