Skip to content

First Snow of the Season

October 28, 2008

And… first school cancellation, but not until after much confusion and a drive to school!  GAH!!! of course…

so… want proof?  I’m sure there are some who find it hard to believe it’s snowing here in Northeast PA!…

So.. of course.. I was volunteering at school this morning, and at 7:45am I still hadn’t received an email alert from the news station, and their website still listed ‘no closings’… so… I headed out to scrape off the car (we haven’t finished putting away summer stuff enough to fit our cars in the garage yet… ) and during the 5 minutes I was warming the car and scraping it… they announced a 2 hour delay… which I didn’t get…

In spite of how clean the driveway looks… the roads were horrible!  the 3 mile drive normally takes me about 7 minutes to drive… and that’s if I hit the light when it’s red…  today it took me 15… only to pull into the school parking lot and have the car greeted by a teacher announcing the delay (typical)…  so we drove back home… The teacher did say that the discussions at the district level sounded like they may be cancelling school and to keep watching the news (yeah right.. like that’d happen at my house) … and email alerts…

My kids have NO problems whatsoever in enjoying even the delay… so off they headed to play when we got home…

and I got myself this…. (the witch is there to remind EVERYONE… that it’s October… hardly the time of year **according to me** for snow…)

I enjoyed that cup looking at our back yard view… so pretty.. too bad it isn’t mid-November…

See the corner of the kids picnic bench… yep.. haven’t finished putting away all the summer stuff…

It’s all good though.. it’s supposed to melt in time for a nice frigid trick-or-treat night… 😉

Now that the schools have extended the delay into a full cancellation.. the kids are off doing what kids will do on a snow day…

Building couch forts…

I think I need more coffee……..

also… the weather forecast has increased winds with the possibility of electricity outages.. oh fun… I’ll be so tortured sitting on the couch knitting… I know you all feel so badly for me…

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2008 9:21 am

    It looks lovely. I hope you don’t loose your power though – nothing worse than knitting in a dark, cold house.

    when we lived in Montana, you could always expect snow on Halloween. Your snow doesn’t surprise me. Enjoy it – I hope it doesn’t last. g

  2. October 28, 2008 9:37 am

    Forts were the best!!!

  3. Cindy permalink
    October 28, 2008 10:10 am

    Wow, all we’re getting is rain, although I just checked weather.com and now it’s supposed to rain and snow tomorrow, but it won’t last. I love the first snow!

  4. October 28, 2008 10:47 am

    Sending you a big ‘ole mug of warm coffee vibes….. I can’t believe you’ve got snow and WE have rain… lots of rain…….. ugh.

  5. October 28, 2008 11:24 am

    Nooooooo! I’m not ready!!!! We just had a humdinger (eek, where’d that word come from???) of a dtorm on Sunday, complete with power outage. Tonight we are preparing for 50 KNOT winds (more than mph), definite power loss, and the exciting possibility of it lasting 2 days.
    coughcough, but at least it’s not snowcough….
    spike that coffee once the kids go to bed!!

  6. shelly permalink
    October 28, 2008 12:02 pm

    Bundle up and enjoy!!!

    Personally, I only check the school website. It’s about 20 min faster than the news…..and I’m sure my kids would LOVE a snow day, ANY day

  7. October 28, 2008 1:19 pm

    You know what saddens me more then the snow in October? It’s the fact that that wonderful pool is closed until Summer. {{{sigh}}}

  8. October 28, 2008 3:06 pm

    you were one of the first people I thought of when it started to snow here, I am like if its snowing in Morris County NJ My goodness Michelle must have snow!

  9. Anita permalink
    October 28, 2008 3:16 pm

    What pretty snow!!! I miss getting snow living down here at the coast. At least we got it a few times a year in Greensboro…. 😦

  10. October 28, 2008 3:34 pm

    Wow. It’s still way too warm to feel like fall here.

  11. October 28, 2008 6:53 pm

    I’m totally jealous.. October seems just right to me! 🙂 Looks like the kids enjoyed the day though, that’s at least nice – hope you enjoyed the knitting time and you’re all safe and have power still through the winds!

  12. October 29, 2008 2:12 am

    That cuppa cocoa looks mighty good. I’ll come join you for some snow, haven’t seen any for a few years being in rainy England (oddly). And when Vancouver had a freak snowstorm this past April when I was technically “home”, we were actually in Mexico for my dad’s birthday. Okay I know — shut up about Mexico… but actually I prefer to be cold to hot. At least with cold you drink hot beverages, cuddle, put on layers, make a fire… but when you’re too hot, there are only so many layers you can take off! Ugh I hate being sweaty.

    Anyway… I’ll come join you for some whipped cream cocoa and knitting and we’ll have a snow day! 🙂

  13. October 29, 2008 2:14 am

    That cuppa cocoa looks mighty good. I’ll come join you for some snow, haven’t seen any for a few years being in rainy England (oddly). And when Vancouver had a freak snowstorm this past April when I was technically “home”, we were actually in Mexico for my dad’s birthday. Okay I know — shut up about Mexico… but actually I prefer to be cold to hot. At least with cold you drink hot beverages, cuddle, put on layers, make a fire… but when you’re too hot, there are only so many layers you can take off! Ugh I hate being sweaty.

    Anyway… I’ll come join you for some whipped cream cocoa and knitting and we’ll have a snow day! 🙂

  14. Cindy V permalink
    October 29, 2008 4:58 am

    What part of Northern PA do you live in? I’m in Mass now but my family is in Wilkes-Barre/Scranton and a little town called Tunkhannock in NE PA.

    We got a little snow but no delay today here in north central mass.

  15. chanknits permalink
    October 29, 2008 7:58 am

    Pretty… but I’m with you that it’s too soon for snow!

Leave a Reply

