Skip to content

She does still knit

October 22, 2008

But not a lot lately…

Over the summer I said that I couldn’t blog because I was too busy outside with my Littles… I knew for sure that I’d be back to my daily blogging self once school started… and then wham…  I got hit with all the school volunteering, the soccer, choir and piano practices…  and.. well… blogging kinda went right out the window… sadness…  knitting kinda did too! GAH.. now… y’all know that running and knitting are my sanity savers… and since I’m STILL suffering from Plantar Fasciitis and unable to run for at least a few more weeks (I should be fully adjusted to my new orthotics by then)… well.. now what am I to do to keep me sane???

I’m squeezing knitting in at every possible opportunity, and it’s obvious because I have knitting bags stashed everywhere in my house and car…

The other night though.. I cleaned my closet.. and organized my yarn stash (yes it’s far too significant in size)… and I found an unfinished project that I’d grown bored with last year… and decided that it’s simplistic 2×2 rib was perfect for watching some tv for the first time in weeks… and generic chilling that I needed… and I’m cranking right along on it…

I give you the Middle Guy’s teacher’s christmas gift in the works… a pencil (scarf)

The pattern is technically for a child.. so I should have cast on more stitches.. but still.. it’s a cute teacher gift.. and his teach in particular is the perfect recipient for this sort of scarf 🙂  I’m finally at the point of adding the eraser… so I’ll have this baby finished, woven and blocked by tomorrow! 🙂

I also submitted a new dishcloth/soap sack pattern to the newsletter ‘The Smart Knitter‘.. I think they came out cute.  A christmas tree and Christmas ‘cracker’…

And… the big girl’s Hermione (year 1-2) scarf is complete.. as is her costume… and to think.. she balked when I bought felt to make the student hat… thank goodness for printable iron on sheets… found the perfect Hogwarts Crest online to compliment the hat!

She had a blast at her Brownie’s  Halloween Dance… and.. there were two other Hermione’s and a Ginny too!

Now… with all the craziness I mentioned.. y’all know I haven’t given up on my usual ‘mom-ness’ activities… we had spider web pancakes (with bacon of course) for dinner last night… and the night before.. mummy dogs 🙂  The Halloween spirit is still strong here at our home…

My camera batteries were dead.. so.. to see the Mummy dogs.. click the link to the Pillsbury site for instructions and a photo 🙂  My kids love this one year round…

So.. today’s a volunteer day.. I’ll be running ragged much of the morning.. I hope yours is a lot calmer 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anita permalink
    October 22, 2008 7:41 am

    Cool pancake… making me hungry this morning! 🙂

    Love the costume!!

  2. October 22, 2008 9:37 am

    I so love the pencil scarf! That would be perfect for the boy-child’s teacher.

    Hermione looks great, btw. 🙂

  3. chanknits permalink
    October 22, 2008 11:08 am

    Love the pencil scarf, but Hermione steals the show. 😉

  4. shelly permalink
    October 22, 2008 3:09 pm

    You rock! How much fun are you with holidays?!?!?!? Everything is so durned cute. Great job. (on all of it!)

  5. October 23, 2008 8:49 pm

    You amaze me woman!!! I’m tired just reading about all the energy, creativity, and go-get-em that you have.

  6. October 26, 2008 9:20 pm

    Spiderweb pancakes! You’re a genius! Where did you get that idea? And how do you get them to stay in shape? I’ve tried to make funny-shaped ones before, but they just ooze outward…

Leave a Reply

