Skip to content

Never forget…

September 11, 2008

My mood is entirely too foul today… and I wonder what part of that is related to the fact that today is September 11th…
I didn’t lose a family member… I didn’t lose a friend…  but… I did lose my faith in our safety…

I have two ‘family’ members who are firefighters… both went to help with cleanup and recovery efforts…  and because of them… and because of the nature of the disaster this country and the world experienced that day ….I use today as the change your fire alarm batteries day, instead of the suggested change your clock, change your batteries that most fire departments recommend.  I can never get through this day without thinking about the fire… the intense heat and the collapse of those buildings and loss of all those innocent people and children…

Please change your fire alarm batteries…

I know I’ve been absent from this blog for a bit… and I have the excuse of life and three children and all that… but lately I just haven’t been myself…  I still don’t LOVE it here… I don’t fit in, … I’ve made only one real friend…  and I still miss my old school and friends from there…  I’m not sure I”ll ever fit in here in podunkville where everyone is from here.. everyone went to kindergarten and on together.. and no one has room in their life for a new friend…  (that is a direct quote from one of the people I’ve met here… )  I feel a tad like I’m wallowing in self pity, so I’m trying to find my niche.. trying to get my running back (I can’t tell you how annoyed I am that I’m still not over this injury)… and I’m trying to find a way to love more than just my house and family here…

Send me some good vibes folks.. I feel like I need them…

There has been much knitting… but I have some pattern that HAVE to get typed today… so I’ll post about all that later…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2008 8:27 am

    You got my prayers! Fitting in to a new place takes a long time, way long than you think it should!

  2. September 11, 2008 9:26 am

    Ah, been there, done that, TWICE. It just takes a while. Keep the faith.
    Something to consider-regarding the ‘known each other since Kindergarten’ crowd- sometimes a ‘newcomer’ who has lived many places, and experienced the world…threatens or intimidates people who have lived in one place all their lives. I think it’s one reason why it takes so long to ‘fit in’. In a big city, most everybody is ‘from’ someplace else, and it’s easier to find a way to connect. It will happen eventually.
    Good Luck Vibes headed your way!
    Marissa

  3. September 11, 2008 9:41 am

    I understand. I didn’t really move that far away from my hometown, but it took me several years to meet and build friendships with people in our new area. It’s hard. But, you always have us, no matter where you go! 🙂

  4. September 11, 2008 10:24 am

    Sending your some (((hugs))) and prayers! I live only 15 minutes from where I grew up…so I don’t know the moving pain. But, I’ve tried to join some already established MomsClubs and just couldn’t fit in. I finally found my niche about 18 months ago…but that was after a year of tears…having 3 close friends move out of state. It WILL happen…and probably in the most unlikely way.

  5. September 11, 2008 11:40 am

    Michelle I had that same problem here in my town. It’s very family orientated and there are several generations living here. We are outsiders still and I moved here in 1985, LOL But it’s getting better, working the polls helps. As the kids go to school and you got o functions and they make more friends you will feel more like the community too. {{{Hugs}}} my friend and remember if you really need a friend I am less then 3 hours away by car. hint hint

  6. Anita permalink
    September 11, 2008 1:05 pm

    I know how you feel…. we moved here in 2000 and I still don’t have any close friends…. most of my friends live far away & we stay in touch through blog land…. 🙂

  7. Mary permalink
    September 11, 2008 2:17 pm

    Oh I do know how yo feel! We won’t go there…lol
    I have online friends, though sometimes I still feel outta sinc….
    Prayers your way, chin up and smile, we all love ya!!!

  8. Cindy permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:17 pm

    Been there, done that. Finally, 2 years after moving back to Maine, we are making friends. It’s been a challenge as usual, and we will always be “from away” but we are starting to get to know people. Hang in there, it’s hard, but as your kids start to play more sports you’ll get to know more people.

    As for the running, injury sucks!! Can you ride a bike? I know it’s not the same, my old physical therapist hated runners because we want to RUN, duh!

  9. September 11, 2008 11:36 pm

    Direct quote, hmm? Well, first off, I’d have to say she/he has a very narrow life. Which is of no help to you. I’ve been through the same thing too. Probably everybody who has ever moved has been through it.

    At his 30 yr high school reunion, my ex was still called “the new kid.” He was the only new student in 4 years. yikes.

    Volunteer? After school library activity…scouts.. and I know you’re active in church. Those are all great resources for those who have moved into an area and don’t have an outside of the home job. Hugs.

  10. September 12, 2008 4:58 am

    i really understand your feeling, we moved a few years back and just this year am I starting to feel a part of things, it takes time, and since we were empty nesters we didn’t have the outlets Moms do so I had to find my own. I am so insecure that this isn’t easy and I would say I was going to do things and then bailed, but its getting better finally. Of course in about a year or so we are planning another move so here we will go again. I missed your posting though and am glad to see you back!

Leave a Reply

