Skip to content

For the Love of Luke

August 17, 2008

It’s finished! 🙂 and it came out lovely!  You all are the best for your help in this project.  I have been re4miss in  posting pictures of the most recent arrivals which  resulted in rearranging the blanket I’d laid out a few days ago… but that’s ok… 🙂  I’m also going to NOT (shame on me, but I”m extremely pressed for time at the moment) post those new squares individually today… I did photograph them, but, our camp begins today at 1… and I need to be on the road by 9… I still haven’t even packed my clothing !!!! eeeks…

In the end I was able to sew a silky backing to the blanket.   My kids insisted on it… they each have a ‘cold and soft’ blankie as they call it.. and they were adamant that Luke had one too.  My sewing skills are basic at best, and it took a bit of finagling (with the help of my awesome Mom) to get the backing on just right…

Here it is…. (click photo for a larger picture)

and here’s the backing… (click for larger picture)

In other ‘finishing’ news, I finished the Middle guys ‘Monster Backpack’… (no time for links at the moment sorry, it’s in my ravelry projects if you want to see the link to the pattern.)  Yay Me!  This was my ravelympics projects, this next week at camp I will bring some unfinished items (WIPs) and see what I can finish during camp (not much most likely!)… I entered a few things in the WIPwrestling category!

Have a great week friends… Luke updates can be found here.. I’ll try to get a photo of him with the blanket and post if I get permission from his mom!

My mom is here in town and will stay with Murphy and Sparky.. I am sure after yesterdays help with the afghan she’s ready for a bit of a rest! 😉

Thank you again to everyone who helped with this project…  Do you know that I received a box yesterday with 37 beautiful crocheted squares yesterday… AGAIN… I MUST Learn to crochet!  I will use them with any other leftovers to make another afghan for the family…

HUGS everyone!!!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. holly permalink
    August 17, 2008 10:37 am

    You have been a busy girl to no surprise. It all looks great. I need to make a back pack for Dylan, he would love that. Have fun at camp. I will miss you! Next year, right?

  2. August 17, 2008 2:12 pm

    Michelle that silk back was a wonderful idea. I am so glad your kids insisted. It looks so good. I know Luke will love it for a long time.

  3. August 17, 2008 3:11 pm

    The blanket came out great.. I know he is going to love it and think of all the people that are praying for him everythime he looks at it…. it is so sad that someone so young has to go through what he is going through 😦

  4. Mary permalink
    August 17, 2008 10:02 pm

    Oh how beautiful that blankie came out!! I’m almost got the toy done, got alittle distracted and not as much time as I thought, but almost finished.

    I love that block with the button on it, I sure hope its a pocket 🙂 Aren’t the blogger friends the greatest!! Great job to everyone!!

  5. chanknits permalink
    August 18, 2008 11:21 am

    You so thoroughly rock. Sorry I missed your call… I guess I spoke to your mom yesterday?? Call me again if it was important!!

    xoxo

  6. August 18, 2008 1:21 pm

    The blanket looks great! I love the backing.

    The backpack is just adorable 🙂

  7. August 19, 2008 2:54 am

    Yeah the blanket is gorgeous you are so sweet:)
    I love the backpack you are very crafty;)Hugs Darcy

  8. August 19, 2008 9:22 am

    It’s lovely! Can you tell me how you added the backing? I have an afghan that I want to add a backing to but am hedging how to begin – handstitch or machine?

    Thanks!

  9. August 19, 2008 10:44 am

    It looks AMAZING!!!!! I hope we will get to see a picture of the special little man with his new blankie! I’m so proud to have been a part… what an awesome thing!

  10. August 19, 2008 2:41 pm

    Hi Michelle–

    My mom knit a square and has asked me to mail it to you. Will you send me your mailing address?

    Thanks!

    Sarah-Hope

  11. August 20, 2008 6:39 pm

    Thank you for allowing us to participate. It was awesome to be included in this special project.
    The blanket is beautiful with a lot well wishes included in each square, I’m sure:)

  12. August 22, 2008 12:58 pm

    Luke’s Blanket came out so AWESOME!!!!!!! You did a great job of putting it tog. I hope all the prayers and well wishes that went into making each square and the love and concern we all feel, helps that child!! My thoughts are with him and his family and to you and yours for organizing such a wonderful project…May God Bless…Fondly, Joanne

  13. August 28, 2008 10:46 am

    I’m so glad it made it to you in time. I wish I could knit faster :D. The blanket turned out great!

Trackbacks

  1. And So It Begins… « Dragonknit
  2. Yay! Pictures! « Dragonknit

Leave a Reply

