Skip to content

Ravelympics

July 26, 2008

The Olympics…

In this household.. it congers up lots of imagery of Track and Field… I mean.. we’re avid runners.. and the Olympics is a great time to get loads of track coverage on tv that you don’t normally get… plus… some of the guest speakers we’ve had at our Camp are Olympic athletes… we had Carrie Tollefson the summer before she ran in the 2004 games… it was awesome… to know her.. and to feel in touch with her while she was competing.. so very very cool!

But as a knitter… posed with the option to compete in a knitting Olympic games… well the competitor in me jumped to attention!

The goal of the Ravelympics is to pick an item to cast on during the Opening ceremonies that will be a challenge to knit during the 17 days of Olympic competition and complete by the extinguishing of the flame during the closing ceremonies. Here’s what I’ve chosen…

photo from pattern page here

The yarn is already purchased and colors selected by the middle guy! I need to purchase the zipper and straps… 🙂 The middle guy’s been asking for this for ages and I want it to be ready for school. The older girl child wants one too, but hers will be a girl one I’m designing myself… She’s debating between a dog, fairy, and cat…

The smaller girl child is getting one of these for her preschool adventures that start this year…

photo and pattern accessible here

I bought the pattern from Anny before she opened her shop, what an impressive knitter…

Ok… ok… the fam has gone.. I have loads of photos to upload.. but I wanted to get on here and talk about ACTUAL knitting.. NOT that I shared my TRUE knitting (there really was a bit of it done this week)… but.. it’s a start.. I mean.. talking about knitting is almost as good as DOING knitting!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2008 10:57 am

    Those bags for your littlest are SO cute! I wish I had a little girl to do one up for!

  2. July 26, 2008 12:46 pm

    I’m too lazy for Ravelympics. lol Although, I may do my own Finishalympics and try to get my CPH done in the same time period. 🙂

  3. July 26, 2008 8:15 pm

    Adam just noticed the monster bag and let out a cry “monster” I had no clue what he was talking about until I looked up and saw he was looking at your blog with me, LOL

  4. chanknits permalink
    July 27, 2008 9:26 am

    Sweet! I’m going to do a laceweight shawl…

  5. July 28, 2008 9:44 am

    I’m in Ravelympic too! I’m competing in Laceweight Long Jump for Team New Haven!!!!

  6. August 1, 2008 11:17 am

    Good luck with your bag project! Those bags are so cute.
    I’m in the Ravelympic too. I’ll be doing the Fleece to Fencing (spin from a fleece and knit something from the spun wool). It should be fun!

  7. August 1, 2008 5:19 pm

    Cute bags!

Leave a Reply

