Skip to content

Stormin’ Grace

July 25, 2008

Leave it to Grace to come up with a unique and intriguing question…

Go on over there (click the mega link) and comment…

OK, science geek warning…

The mythbusters did an episode on getting struck by lightening because of a tongue piercing.. you can read their results here

honestly…

if you’re standing on your roof, during said lightning storm, and you hold up your knitting needles to the skies… you do stand a higher chance of getting struck, and if you wanted to increase your odds.. hold up a copper knitting needle! … In Grace’s general situation (in your living room knitting along to the sounds of the storm).. you won’t..

first… metal knitting needles are generally either aluminum, or nickel plated brass… neither of which are good conductors of electricity. In fact.. nickel plated brass ‘knitted’ mesh is one of the top googled items for lightening protection for airplane fuel tanks.

All that being said… Lightning has a mind of its own sometimes.. it’ll strike where it can get a ground… so.. if you’re IT this time around.. it won’t matter what type of needle you’re holding… metal, bamboo or plastic!

I seriously have NEVER considered the consequences of knitting with metal during an electrical storm.. and maybe I should have… but I can say this.. even if I were to become a ‘crispy critter’.. I’d at least do so doing one of the things I love most! 😉 That being said… I knit almost entirely with bamboo needles.. I do have metal ones.. but they aren’t used nearly as often as my bamboos!

The last of our family visitors leave early in the morning.. so I promise to post, with pics and more info about what we’ve been doing these last few weeks… 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2008 10:33 pm

    I only use bamboo needles now. I think I gave all my metal needles away

  2. July 26, 2008 2:16 am

    That’s pretty much what I figure. If your number is up, then…ZAP! Although, the hubby’s father was struck by lightning once, so maybe I can ask him. 😉 I think he was on a golf course, though. Anyhoo…

    Oh, and I love that you used the Mythbusters picture! I love those guys!!! 🙂

  3. July 27, 2008 2:58 pm

    thank you so much for your informative piece, several of you have mentioned mythbusters, I wonder if we contacted them if they would do a piece on it for their show, that would be really cool!!

  4. August 1, 2008 2:24 pm

    Thank goodness you resolved that dilemma for us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

