Skip to content

Time for the Bee Bush

July 18, 2008

When we moved into our home last July, this bush was in full bloom, with a host of house-guests… BEES…  now I’m certain that I’m not the only mother of small children who are petrified of bees.. so it will come as no surprise that the children at this household NAMED the bush(es) and are avoid it in the months of July and August like the plague!
It’s actually a beautiful bush, that I think may be St. John’s Wort… (see flowers in photos below)… but I’m not 100% certain… I tried to Google it.. but can’t be certain… some botanist out there want to help me??  We pruned this sucker like you wouldn’t believe and it came back bigger and badder than last year’s version… I’m thinking that sadly, this is the ‘last’ summer for this bush…  the kids cannot navigate that corner of the  pool decking… and just opening the pool gate is a threat of a bumble bee aggrevation… It will be particularly hard to see it go for Murphy who loves to lay under it’s branches in the shade…

See that happy worker bee… collecting untold amounts of pollen… his legs look heavy!

Look, another happy worker bee!

Big beautiful puffy yellow flowers.. is it St. John’s Wort??? anyone???

9 Comments leave one →
  1. anita permalink
    July 18, 2008 2:18 pm

    You got me on that one… I don’t know. If I think about it I’ll look in my huge book of plants & shrubs tonight…. remind me if I forget! 🙂
    Sure is pretty though!

  2. July 18, 2008 3:33 pm

    Pretty to look at… but I’d have to chop that sucker down pronto. I. DON’T. DO. BEES….

  3. July 18, 2008 4:12 pm

    WE HAD A BUSH LIKE THAT! My mom and I ripped it out of the garden. Yuckyuckyuck. I have No idea what it was….

  4. July 18, 2008 4:14 pm

    I just checked out the Wikipedia link… I agree that it’s St. Johns Wort now that you put that link!!

  5. July 18, 2008 6:04 pm

    Too bad it’s a bee magnet. It looks pretty to me!

  6. July 18, 2008 9:18 pm

    We have plants in our yard, not a bush but these HUGE leafy things, and they are wasp attractors.
    I just try to ignore them, haven’t been stung yet. Welcome to the North East, lol

  7. July 19, 2008 8:53 am

    Maybe you can just re-plant it somewhere else… They are having a problem with the number of bees dropping and if that is a good source of food for them maybe just move it somewhere away from the pool…. Just a suggestion

  8. July 21, 2008 3:07 pm

    Transplanting is a good idea. It’s a lot of work, but completely doable. I’ve transplanted several of the bushes in my yard.
    The other option would be to just leave it there and keep it trimmed close. Bees typically won’t bother you as long as you are not bothering them. And by bothering them, I mean trying to kill/capture them. I work in the garden all the time and I’ve only been stung once – when I was a child trying to capture a bee for a science project.

  9. July 22, 2008 8:59 am

    i’d just like to chime in on the bee thing….we’ve lost a lot of the bees in our area–vermont–and in the US. i have 3 perennial gardens and have seen 90% of the honey bees disappear. st. john’s wort is a highly medicinally-valued plant–in vermont it’s a weed in meadows and roadside. never seen it so huge! please don’t cut it down! we need the bees! a vast majority of our foods need to be pollinated, and honey bees, well, provide honey too!

    one tip: just keep sugary drinks away from the poolside–sodas, sweetened iced tea, etc–they attract both honey bees and wasps!

Leave a Reply

