Skip to content

The ‘magic?’ of 12

July 15, 2008

We’re back from Camping at Watkin’s Glen State Park… what a lovely campground and fun time was had by all, even with that day of nearly non-stop rain…. 😦  Bleh…

quick a few pics from our time away… (click each for a larger image)

A view into the gorge from the Gorge Trail.

Walking back up the Gorge Trail, view of some of the falls, I think this section is called Cascade Falls

Obligatory Family Pose

Hay Ride Fun

The kids and cousins on the hike

So… virtually NO knitting on the trip… somehow camping never ends up with me relaxing??? what??? isn’t that what camping is for?  Apparently not… I hate that about the two most recent camping trips… but hey… there’s always a third try right??? maybe, though we haven’t actually planned anything for the remainder of our summer with regards to camping…

The camping was fun, the food yummy, and the company great. 🙂  That’s all you need for a good trip…

So, I know you’re wondering about the ’12’ in my title… well.. the magic of 12 is that I have 12 people, yes.. 12 … coming this weekend for anywhere up to 1 week of visiting… YIKES… all are family members so that should mean I don’t have to really kill myself to clean.. but y’all who know me well enough know that I will still be busy cleaning… plus.. I have to get the room above our garage ready to house some sleepers.. 😉  We have plenty of floor space, but a quiet, pet free, allergen free zone for my niece is quite a necessity…

Oh the fun!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 9:08 am

    I love that park! David and I stayed there when we went to pick up our truck – we were stuck there last memorial weekend while on the way to see the potential wedding sites. Actually, we were stucked at hammondsport. So the weekend after when we went to pick up the truck, we camped there for the weekend for fun and tour the fingerlakes a bit.

  2. chanknits permalink
    July 15, 2008 9:16 am

    Beautiful photos. As great as the nature ones were, I think my favorite is of the stair-step cousins.

    Are we still on for the end of the month? The last thing I want to do is add to your stress and bustle…

  3. July 15, 2008 9:55 am

    That camping looks wonderful. I think the relaxing comes when the kids are a bit older. I always remember my mom reading on our trips. I think my brother and I took off white water rafting by ourselves and came back hours later. We were probably 8 & 10…maybe she read so that she wouldn’t worry.

    You’re a brave woman to have 12 house guests. I have a hard time with 12 for dinner. But, then again our house is tiny.

  4. July 15, 2008 2:51 pm

    Those are great photos of the family & kids. They will cherish those photos when they’re older!

    The relaxing is definitely when the kids are older and can entertain themselves… they don’t need/want constant attention OR there are “kid activities” wherever you’re going. My parents started doing that to us more and more LOL … stay at a ranch with guided horseback riding for us, and a golf course for them. LOL

    Good luck with your house guests… you can always “assign” your kids to a guest to keep them entertained. (Although this is more to get the kids our of YOUR hair! lol)

  5. July 15, 2008 4:13 pm

    Michelle I always imagined you taller, but next to your husband you look as short as me.

    Great pictures though

Leave a Reply

