Skip to content

I’m in love….

July 15, 2008

With my new chiropractor!

Active Performance Chirpractic

Dr. Armillei, you’re my hero… well, you and your ART (active release techniques) that is…

Back up.. back up…

background info is a necessity here…

We’ll go back to the Fall of 2006… I’m in the shape of my life, just ran a PR in the marathon (3:50), on an extremely hilly course…  I took a mild amount of time off (from racing longer distances anyway)… and ran a handful of 5Ks in the early spring with a goal to PR there as well..   We sold our house and moved to a rental during that time.  Much chaos ensued, and we end up with a bit of overtraining (stress relief to run a few more miles) and I start noticing a mild flare-up of my PF that I’ve battled off and on since 1995…  I did some self treatment that seemed to work to a degree but didn’t quite take it all AWAY…

By late summer, we’ve moved to PA, and run a few more 5ks, and had our week at camp…  by the end of which my PF is definitely back… and NOT really responding to self treatment.  We go through a fall of minimal running with the hope that the rest would do it some good… to no avail…

January 2008 cortisone shot number 1… not much relief, and a very slow comeback but a comeback nonetheless…

May/June 2008… up to 3-4 miles 3-4 times per week… feeling good until OH NO… flare up… and 2nd cortisone shot…  MUCH more relief this time… and right back into my daily 3-4 mile runs… until the big OUCHIE moment where I thought I’d had a tear…  MRI results just show a thickening of the PF… and the podiatrist says, REST and not a whole lot else to be honest…

July  2008… I’ve had 6 weeks off, NO improvement AT ALL, in fact.. it’s gotten worse.  Bad enough that our little hike over the camping weekend had me incapacitated for the remainder of the day… I returned home and visited the NEPARunner website in search of a message board where I could post my request for a sports physician/podiatrist in my area…

A runner there recommended Active Performance Chiropractic.  I’m a chiropractic enthusiast… I loved my NC Chiropractor… Dr. Pascal.. he was a runner, an athlete, worked with athletes (Olympic runners!) and I trusted him… he was awesome.. and I hadn’t looked for a replacement…  but now I have one, and dare I say, I like him even better… we want to invite him to camp!
‘Active Release Techniques – ART is a soft-tissue technique that focuses on restoring the integrity of muscles, ligaments, nerves, and tendons.  Many conditions are the result of scar tissue accumulation due to acute or chronic repetitive-use conditions.  Problems arise when teh scar tissue results in dysfunction.’ (quoted from the Active Performance Chiropractic pamphlet…

Basically, ART was like deep tissue massage on the muscles where I have scar tissue development…

I can honestly say that the ART Dr. Armellei performed on my lower body (Hips, buttocks, calf) decreased my heel pain to 60% what it had been when I walked into the office BEFORE he laid a finger on my foot… after working my foot I’d give it 80% relief… and with lumbar chiropractic adjustments, and feet adjustments.. I’d put it at between 80-90% relief.  I can’t tell you how thrilled I am…

I’m not at 100% and we’ll have future visits until I am… but wow.. the relief is tremendous… I’m so very thankful.

Now… as a word of caution.. anyone interested in ART… you ought to be prepared for a very painful procedure.. it’s not like going and getting a relaxing massage… during some of his procedures it was all I could do to keep myself from jumping right off the table… and there was one where I did finally have to ask him to stop… but the pain relief is well worth that…

Appointment number two… THURSDAY… :-)…

Running trails.. here I come!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 10:57 pm

    I’m so glad you found something that’s helping! 🙂

  2. chanknits permalink
    July 16, 2008 7:33 am

    I’m glad ART is working for you. My back is too much like mincemeat for that option to be fully explored, but I’m improving, so…

    Keep healing and here’s to a great, painless run very soon.

  3. Anita permalink
    July 16, 2008 12:07 pm

    That’s wonderful!!! I’m happy for you, that you found someone that was willing & able to help instead of telling you to just rest!

  4. July 16, 2008 3:40 pm

    Michelle that’s awesome. And just in time for the mini reunion at your house, lol

  5. Cormac permalink
    July 17, 2008 1:13 am

    Great news! Don’t forget what I told you either; it’s self-help, so the intensity can be controlled by you. All soft-tissue injuries are going to boil down to one thing: scar tissue. I could’ve done it for free…then again I’m 3,000 miles away!

  6. July 18, 2008 11:02 am

    That’s great! I had PT during my first marathong training, and they did some deep tissue work which work like heck, but I felt so much better afterwards.

Leave a Reply

