Skip to content

WoW

July 9, 2008

Whiskers on Wednesday!

Our kitty is a standardly traditional cat… he has need for you ONLY when he has a need… so… we don’t get much lovin or snuggling, which for my allergies is actually a blessing. Sparky does truly love my knitting, so this past winter I got a lot more of Lap Lovin from him than the norm… but now that it’s summer… he’s more than happy to stay away from us and only come for a visit to the door (he’s an indoor/outdoor cat) when he needs some food…

Because of this situation, I”m going to highlight my in-Laws cat, Luke..

Yeah, I realize, not the best picture, but I kept finding him sleeping whenever my camera was available…

Luke, also known as Lucifer, was the wild (literally) cat found and adopted by my husbands grandmother. When she passed away, hubbys family adopted Luke. We think he’s around 15 or 16 years old, and a remarkable thing has happened in the last year for this kitty… actually two remarkable things…

first, he’s now much much more interested in visiting with you and being pat… where before you were lucky if he came anywhere nearby… I guess he was more in tune with his wild roots until just recently…

Second… he was JET black, until this year when he turned a chocolate brown. I don’t know about you, but I have NEVER seen any cat that is totally chocolate brown in color… I’ve seen Tabbys with that color in them, but never a wholly chocolate brown cat… it’s really a pretty color, but surprised me when we saw him this past week!

Luke is a great kitty… we hope he sticks around for a few more years! He’s one of only 2 of my MILs cats that allow my kids to pat him!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    July 9, 2008 10:40 am

    I wanna’ go take a nap on the porch with Luke!

  2. July 9, 2008 12:31 pm

    Me too Chan! Naptime!

    My old black cat Ziggy used to be BLACK … but in the summer with all the sunshine, his coat lightened to be more of a browny colour. In fact… apparently cats are never TRUE black.

  3. July 9, 2008 1:45 pm

    My cat’s black fur is turning gray, just like mine, lol

  4. Anita permalink
    July 9, 2008 9:10 pm

    Even though you can’t see his face, it is a sweet photo. 🙂 And the napping looks devine!

Leave a Reply

