Skip to content

The kitchen is CLOSED

July 9, 2008

Since this morning, I have cooked/prepared:

Two boxes of Spanish Rice

2 Boxes of thin spaghetti

Refried beans

24 meatballs

Diced (well big chunks) chicken in garlic

Guacamole

1 batch of brownies

Spaghetti Sauce

Yes.. you read all of that correctly…

We are going camping at Watkins Glen this week… (tomorrow actually), and we’re meeting my BIL, SIL, and their 3 kids…

We’ve been camping with them before, and I find it easiest (as does my SIL) to split the dinners so that we aren’t all packing the same stuff.. or competing for the same grill with competing meals..

Ya’ll know me, the mildly anal retentive (shhh I’m thinking it’s mild, so don’t burst my bubble)… perfectionist… I don’t like running around at meal time like a chicken with my head cut off… it just doesn’t make me a happy mom. AND.. .when I’m camping, I like to have as LITTLE to do at meal time, as possible..

SIL is doing the first dinner, some sort of grilled chicken meal with salad… we’re doing the second, pasta and meatballs, and green beans, and then we’re ‘sharing’ the third, grilled stuffed burritos and quesadillas… somewhat from leftovers, somewhat from what we’re collectively bringing for the meal.

My meatballs are cooked, and the sauce doctored (I have yet to find a jarred sauce I love as is)… and the spaghetti is already cooked and frozen.. so on meal night, I’ll need to boil some water to speed cook the al dente pasta, and steam the green beans, and heat up the sauce… not that big a deal. We also bring garlic bread which we toss into the fire and have cook right in the bag… if you turn it regularly it won’t burn.. SERIOUSLY…

For burrito night I made up some guacamole, and the SIL is bringing salsa… I made spanish rice, and have the re-fried beans read (of course, I need to doctor those as well.. sheesh.. perfectionist)… so now all we need to do that night is set up the conveyor belt ‘build your own’ stations for burritos… wrap in foil and grill away! mmmm

The only other thing I cooked today, already, is tonights dinner… if my kitchen stands a chance at cooling down AT ALL today I had to get it done… nothing special.. just some sauteed chicken with garlic that will be tossed with olive oil, blanched broccoli and fresh diced tomatoes.. mmmm YUM!

too bad it’s raining because it would be great to escape this heat and eat outside!

No brownies though until camping… they were a special request from the Big girl!

THE KITCHEN IS NOW CLOSED

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2008 6:05 pm

    Darn it! I was going to ask for a lasagne or some other fast and simple dinner (SNOL)

  2. Mary permalink
    July 9, 2008 10:29 pm

    lol gotta love the smart butt friends…I was honestly thinking the same thing..lol (why I’m lol)
    Hope you have a good time! Sounds like meals for an army 🙂

  3. July 10, 2008 6:00 am

    Wow! What a great menu! You’re much more ambitious than I am. My family is lucky to have cold canned ravioli. 🙂 OK…perhaps meat thrown on the grill. I DESPISE spending time cooking while camping! 🙂 Enjoy your time away…and make sure to take plenty of photos to share!

    Kris 🙂

  4. July 10, 2008 10:15 am

    Wave to me Michelle on your way to Watkins Glen, and if you are so inclined drop off some of those refried beans, my favorite.

  5. July 10, 2008 1:15 pm

    Have a great time, Michelle. I agree, camping is for relaxing and we bring as low maintainence food as possible. Have a great time!

  6. chanknits permalink
    July 10, 2008 5:37 pm

    Wonder Woman…

    😉

    I’m going to make my own brownies right.now. and you can’t stop me from eating one tonight.

  7. July 10, 2008 7:33 pm

    That’s why I wasn’t ready for the full trip just yet. Though, if not before then, we’ll be going at the end of September. I did prepare most of our food ahead, but I was glad to still have my fridge. We had foil wrapped burritos that were heated on the grill for lunch. Yum! And I loved the ‘trash breakfast’ that I found here… http://boondockers-used-sports.com/foil-cooking.html
    Have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

