Skip to content

Startitis is rampant here…

July 9, 2008

Ugh… seriously I have this monster list of things I want to knit, and I’ve committed myself to a few designs that need to be submitted… and  I keep finding myself casting on something new… what is wrong with me???

Right now on the needles I have:

Spring Forward, from the Summer Knitty

Pomatomus, from Cookie A. (Knitty from a few years ago)

Design pattern #1 (due as soon as I finish it)

Grocery bag of my own design (no due date)

Baby Alberti Afghan (baby due in September)

February Lady Sweater (due for me in the fall)

Hemlock Ring Blanket for my mom’s birthday (August 6th, but she doesn’t arrive here until August 14)

Chewyghan, a blankie of my own design honoring our dear Chewy

But… I want so desperately to cast on a whole HOST of other things… sheesh!  I need to have some finishitis sent my way, and quickly…

We’re going camping this weekend, and I’m planning on bringing the Chewyghan and the grocery bag… simple knits, that don’t require paperwork to be brought (and subsequently lost)…  I find socks to be great car knitting projects so I’ll probably bring Pomatomus or Spring Forward with me for the drive.

I’ve been remiss in mentioning a few of my dear blog friends contests…

First, Aunt Kathy is having a two month long contest at her site… she will be doing random drawings from the comments posted weekly for weekly prizes… Her contest runs from July 1 to August 31!  So do check in with her daily for extra chances for each weeks prize!

Second… Monica, at Monniblog, is having a 1000th post contest… Can you believe she has made 1000 posts???? wow! I’m only at 393, and just amazed that someone has been blogging long enough (she started in 2001) for 1000 posts… amazing!

And finally, Gnat, at Bark N Knit is having a contest too… Gnat has a fun and interesting podcast that you should give a listen to sometime.. it’s about knitting and dog lovers… .. so quick.. run over and comment for a chance to win!

Finally… some ‘recent-ish’ yarn acquisitions.. these have been acquired over the last few months…  and I just haven’t had time to comment here about it… sheesh… slacker…

Contest winnings from Socks and More.  There’s a color for each month and you just need to knit and item in that color, with CPY yarn and you get an entry….

This Unique Sheep Pima Cotton won’t stay in my hands long… it’s for some designs I submitted to them… and is being used in the unfinished design items I mentioned above… it’s it lovely.. it’s a dream to knit with and I love how it feels…

I have a new LYS!  And I got this Brown Sheep Wildfoote sock yarn there to knit the Big Guy a pair of socks… sometime 😉

This is Berrocco ‘Love It Colors’ in the Salad Days colorway that Cass turned me onto with this knit of hers… it’s it gorgeous.  This colorway is discontinued so I was quick to scoop some up so I can have it to knit with 🙂  I plan to knit her most recent tam.. is it the Chicken Tam?? and perhaps… a similar shawl…

With my payment from Knitty for my Paw Cozy, I joined the Harry Potter Sock yarn club that Dani has at Sunshine yarns… and my first installment came… Gilderoy Lockhart.. it’s lovely and so very very Gilderoy Lockhart!

Also… from Dani…

Harry Potter: Mini Skeins.. with my short sock fetish.. this will be a fun group to knit with!

And…

Two skeins of her Sunsilk Tinkerbell.. which is destined to become a Swallowtail!

I love dani’s yarns…

I’ll be back for Whisker’s on Wednesday….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    July 9, 2008 10:08 am

    I wanna’ be in the HP sock club!

    That saved you from a rant about the pattern – February Lady – I am now downloading and will soon be shopping for yarn. All.your.fault. 😉

  2. July 9, 2008 1:03 pm

    Beautiful yarns!

    I love Sunshine Yarns, too.
    Wish I had been able to sign up for the HP Sock Club. 😦

  3. July 9, 2008 1:42 pm

    Wow Michelle

    I don’t know which yarn I want to steal from you first. lol

    Hurry up with your FO, I wanna see them.

  4. July 9, 2008 3:49 pm

    You and I have the same problem it would seem! Startitis winning over finishitis! 😉 Cool to see all your WIP’s and plans laid out. I, too, am going to be knitting a hemlock blanket. Actually two if I can get going on them. One for me and one for my brother for Xmas. Definitely post progress on that if you can as you work on it!

  5. July 9, 2008 6:07 pm

    I have mental start-itis! A few patterns I’d like to knit, but can’t find the right match for yarn in my stash – and vice versa.

  6. July 10, 2008 12:04 pm

    Such pretty yarns! I could sit and drool for hours.

Leave a Reply

