Skip to content

Summer’s here

June 20, 2008

Edited 6/21 to remove photo and comments about Yarnstorm, still a great site, beautiful photography.  See comment in comments section.


I do know that I won’t blog nearly as much as I do in the winter months.. for one, we’ll be away for a couple of trips and for the second… we spend a LOT of time outdoors in the summer, and while the laptop does have a battery, it’s age is showing, the charge doesn’t hold for long, and.. have you ever tried to work on a laptop in bright sun??? not good… it’s just not good..

My camera is gone… BOTH of them… actually… The Big Guy dropped our good camera at the Princess party last week, so that’s still got to be fixed, and today he left to work at a Track Meet in Greensboro, NC for the weekend and took our other camera (still a good one, just older)… so he can try to get his photo with Carl Lewis… I’m jealous, not because of Carl Lewis, but because he’s going to NC, and I’m NOT! I so badly want to go visit my old friends… see the old stomping grounds… but no… I’m stuck here.. with the kids… ahhh it won’t be bad… we have a new yarn shop opening here Tomorrow! Exciting… but not so much when you have to bring your children… ahh well.. I will survive…

In knitting news … this morning I’ll be ripping back a row or two of my February Lady Sweater because somehow last night I found myself 1 lousy stitch off… grrr so I need to go find where I dropped that stitch…

I admit though to being a tad worried about this weekend. I learned last night that a man from the ‘water company’ that visited our home on Wednesday may have been a fake, out casing the neighborhood… he claimed to be here to change something on our water meter allowing the workers to more easily check the meter from a greater distance, thereby not requiring them to actually come into our backyard. It seemed legit at the time, but stands as a reminder that you can never be too safe, and I should have asked for more specific credentials. I figure that if someone was casing the neighborhood that they might try to come back here on the weekend..and while the Murphster is a fabulous dog, and would defend our home… he’s deaf as a doornail and didn’t even flinch when the doorbell rang Wednesday afternoon. The whole house will be locked up TIGHT this weekend for sure. I always lock up, but I will be locking all the windows as well just to be safe.. I have left a message with a neighbor who knows more info about this to get more of the details.

In other sad news. My dear friend Chan lost her sweet Pop yesterday. Please go over and let her know you’re thinking of her.

Well my children are stirring… it’s time to get on with the day.. I’m sorry to have missed Whiskers on Wednesday and Dogs on Thursday this week. There’s a shout out contest going on at Whiskers so do stop by there and check out the details! I even managed to get some Sparky photos for it this week, but sadly, they’re on the camera that just pulled out of the driveway on it’s way to NC!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2008 7:22 am

    Michelle, {[[HUGS}}}

    Our power company can check our meters here by driving by, they no longer have to go in the basement or anything. We don’t have water meters (yet). You’ll be safe because you know there will be many prayers of protection for you and the little ones while you are home alone.

    I hear you about blogging, it’s my release, a place to stop and breathe.

    I have never been to a LYS you know, EVER. I am so jealous.

    OK off to send Chan some hugs too.

  2. June 20, 2008 8:26 am

    I would probably have let the water guy in too, ours really did install a remote thing so they don’t have to go into the basement to check the meter.

    A LYS with fabric, I’d spend way too much money there, have fun, bribe the kids with food or toys!

    I too like the Yarnstorm blog, I was sad she’s taking time off but I do understand, kids grow up so fast. Plus I’ve been a delinquent blogger lately, there is only so much time for all the stuff you want/need to do.
    Have a good weekend.

  3. Anita permalink
    June 20, 2008 10:34 am

    I wish you were still in NC!!! 🙂
    Have a good weekend!! And have fun at the new yarn shop, I’m sure you can even with the kids.

  4. June 20, 2008 12:28 pm

    Our water company just installed one of those, but they do it from outside. Granted, we live in a small town and I recognize most of the guys that work there. Be safe!!!

  5. June 20, 2008 1:19 pm

    I would appreciate it if you checked whether is it’s OK with me before using one of my photos – especially this one which is going to be up on my blog all summer.

    Thanks.

  6. Cindy permalink
    June 23, 2008 10:52 am

    Wow, interesting…

Leave a Reply

