Skip to content

Dogs on Thursday, wait till you get a load of this!

June 12, 2008

Sooo… for… hmmm pretty much every day since we moved here.. I’ve wanted to stop and check out this…

 

actually they have a much nicer sign on the top of the shop, but my camera was being persnickity (low batteries have a tendency to do that sort of thing)… 

So… this self service dog wash shop actually has posted hours, though, when I went in, there wasn’t anyone there to talk to about the shop.

 

At least now I know that about 2 miles from my house is the location to bring Murphy if he should ever be sprayed by a skunk!

Inside the Yuppy Puppy there are two wash stations, that look like this:

There’s one designed for smaller dogs, (the one above) and one with a deeper tub for larger dogs.  Both have ‘candy’ stations for your pup:

I don’t live in a rough area, but, I’m assuming that at one time someone tried to walk off with the dispenser?  or else they’re just being extra cautious with the chaining to the wall…

The wash station is automatic with self pay, like the automatic touchless car washes… (though I think you’ll need to touch your dog to give it his bath.. maybe it’s more like the car washes with the hoses you  can pull down  yourself to wash your car… see.. you put in your money on the left side of the above picture… you can just barely see the machine…

 

 

and in case you forgot your towel… never fear… they have them! 🙂

I haven’t yet met a person who uses the Yuppy Puppy, but I”m not counting it out for the good old Murphster one of these days… 

Have you ever seen anything like this???

 

So.. in other news… My MRI went fine.. I almost fell asleep,  but honestly that banging noise was just enough to prevent the full sleep mode… it was super relaxing though.. so now, it’s just a waiting game until the doc calls me to let me know what’s up…

While in the waiting room I worked on this… 

 

Yeah, it’s bright outside, so the pink is quite washed out there.. but I’m loving the Tofutsies! 🙂

 

And, I met a guy (yes, a guy) in the waiting room who was so intrigued by the knitting.. he told me about how when he was a child his older neighbor, a grandma figure, taught him to crochet.  She promised to one day teach him to knit… but then she passed away.  He still remembers how to crochet (he was there bringing his dad in for an MRI)… and after talking with me for a while, he’s decided to go to AC Moore to pick up a book on how to knit.  He seemed very excited.  I also recommended he ask there about beginner classes as they often have them listed…

First time I’ve ever met a guy that interested in knitting…. I’d have spent some time teaching him myself if I’d had the time!  Totally cool!

Then I went for my hair appointment.  I’d told Anita that I’d been planning a similar cut to hers when she posted her pics… and here’s how mine came out…

 

So now it’s off to get the kids into the pool…  and wait for the hubster to get home from his DC work trip…. and tonight.. we’re going to a barbeque.. looks like summer is here!

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. holly permalink
    June 12, 2008 1:40 pm

    Cute Hair!

    That is a cool place to wash the dog. Wish we had one. We stop that bathtub up and have to clean from top to bottom by the time we finish. Have fun swimming.

  2. June 12, 2008 2:12 pm

    I’ve seen those in rural MN. They’re generally attached to the self-serve car washes. But, I never ventured inside one.

    Your hair looks super cute!!! Hope you’re enjoying your pool time!

  3. June 12, 2008 3:48 pm

    very cool… but I know of a much better self-serve dog wash option that is easier to use minimizes the mess. visit http://www.tmcpetvending.com.

  4. June 12, 2008 8:16 pm

    That’s so neat! I’ve never seen one of those, but it seems like a good idea.

    I love the hair!!!

  5. June 12, 2008 8:25 pm

    What will people think of next?

    Love the hair cut, but honestly I am always captivated by your beautiful blue eyes.

  6. chanknits permalink
    June 13, 2008 8:06 am

    We have one. Fred and I tried it, and he had a nervous breakdown, which resulted in taking a wet hound home in December… I had to push AND pull him up the ramp to the wash stall, but it’s a great concept. Sissy and Mugsy both just leap into the bathtub (well, Mugsy USED to, when he was younger), so for now, we’ll stick with that.

    LOVE the hair. Mine is similar, but you’ll just have to trust me on that, because it’s been too hot to have my hair down!

    Very cool about Mr. Wanna Knit! LOVE the pink Tofutsies, of course. Are you liking the yarn?

  7. Mary permalink
    June 14, 2008 12:51 pm

    Oh that is crazy!! We have those car washes out here, haven’t seen the doggie wash yet…lol Neat idea though, saves the house clean-up afterwards…lol
    Love the new haircut!! You look great!!

  8. Anita permalink
    June 14, 2008 2:40 pm

    Love your hair!! I can’t believe how close our hair is in style! If you could have seen mine yesterday, I had it fixed the exact same way as yours! LOL

  9. June 14, 2008 6:14 pm

    Great cut!!!!!!

    We have a couple of those do it yourself places but none that are super close… so I usually just do it myself in the bath tub…… :/

  10. June 16, 2008 2:29 pm

    Neat doggie wash. I haven’t seen any out here… that’d be handy!
    Cute haircut! Hope your feeling better!

  11. fireflynights permalink
    June 23, 2008 2:37 am

    We have a similar place here called Wag and Wash. Never used it but they must be doing well. I see their ads frequently. We also have a mobile dog groomer in the area who operates out of an RV sized van.

Trackbacks

  1. a skunk sprayed my dog

Leave a Reply

