Skip to content

Wildflowers

June 5, 2008

One of the most exciting things about our new home has been watching the  flora and fauna in our yard as spring brings it all back to life.  We moved to our home in July of 2007, so any springtime growth was unknown to us…  I found that I have much bulb planting to do this fall, to give me the amount and color selection of tulips I truly want…

Tulips and Iris’s.. I could have fresh ones every day and be a very happy person! 🙂

I knew of some plants that would be coming up…. the Daylilies, and the Dogwoods that would bloom… the lilacs, and of course the Hostas…  their plants were all still green and even flowering when we first came here..  however, the wildflowers have been the most interesting to see popping up in our front and side wooded yard…  I knew the pink lady slippers as soon as they bloomed…  the photo above is only one of probably 100 of them…  I‘m so glad that my yard is doing it’s job to protect them.

I don’t know what these are.. but the woody area seems to be a sea of them right now.. it’s quite a nice ground cover…  There’s the star shaped ones that are mixed in with the tufted white flowers.  It’s really quite nice to see them all blooming at once.
We have other lovely things blooming right now too, like this dogwood:

And Bleeding Heart

There’s a variety of things growing as flowering shrubs that I have no clue what they are… I’ll do a bit of research though 🙂

The rarest of wildflowers is this one…


She’s gotten herself into yet another predicament… nothing a bit of soapy water couldn’t handle though ! 😉  This wildflower is giving me a run for the money lately… I’m definitely earning my parenting badge with this one!

in knitting news… I have this to report…

My ONLY size US5…  grrrrr I loved those needles too.. I’ve previously broken another of the same brand… I’m guessing plastic isn’t for me as I knit too tight or grip the needles too tightly or something…   guess I’ll be stopping at AC Moore before my knit night tonight to replace these 5’s!

I’ll go with bamboo this time…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    June 5, 2008 1:04 pm

    Oh I love all the flowers!!! Those are regular flowers to me…lol Pretty and I’ll watch for future posts 🙂
    I can’t do plastic either, knit or crochet its too tight and wind up breaking. I’m doing okay witht eh bamboo ones though 🙂

  2. June 5, 2008 6:09 pm

    WOW! I got two peonies that came up this year, and some other stuff. I love seeing the surprise of the yard 🙂 I will have to plant lots of tulips as apparently the previous owner didn’t have any!!! And irises too!

  3. June 5, 2008 10:05 pm

    Beautiful pictures. And I have to say, Bamboo is the only way to go. I don’t use anything else anymore

  4. June 5, 2008 10:20 pm

    Beautiful flowers! Lady Slippers are one of my favorite flowers. Illegal to pick in NH!

  5. June 5, 2008 10:34 pm

    All of your flowers are just lovely! 🙂

    I like the fishy bath set a lot! How creative!

  6. chanknits permalink
    June 6, 2008 8:18 am

    Pretty flowers!

  7. June 6, 2008 10:45 am

    Look at you… rough knitter! I think I might have some “old fashion” metal size 5’s… you need them? heehee

    Beautious flowers!

  8. June 6, 2008 1:12 pm

    I’ve snapped bamboo needles in half too. I would recommend addis or Boyles. They are metal and can’t be broken.

  9. June 6, 2008 6:41 pm

    Oooh–what are you knitting in those nice bright colors with all those short rows?

Leave a Reply

