Skip to content

What we have here…

May 30, 2008

Is a failure of the science kind.. or at least maybe?

Why yes… I do have my Masters degree, and yes, it’s in Biology, but didn’t I say I did my research on amphibians…

I’m curious.. I’m not sure what our little amphibious metamorphosing critters are…  I thought they were salamanders simply because the pond we found the eggs in was so LOADED with salamander nymphs that I was certain that these were their eggs… did we see any frogs?  NOPE…

Today our little Sally’s are looking more and more like little Tads (tadpoles that is)…

our size is now 1 cm, by a body width of 3 mm.  Yesterday’s body width was just under 2mm… as these guys get more and more teardrop shaped, I’m starting to lean more towards the Tadpole thought… though there is one remaining thing that gets me, the appearance of small little gills that you can only JUST make out in the above photo on the lower guys in the pond…  I guess I need to get googling

🙂

In other news… my run yesterday was awesome… 5 miles… a bit tough and hilly, but generally great!  Wahoo… still being gentle with the foot, and stretching, icing and ibuprofening… (is that  verb?)  Our family is still having a fantastic time with our Wii Fit.  See, even the kids are getting in on the action… the big girl was thrilled to see that after a bit of practice with some of the balance games and time on a few of the aerobic games that her ‘Wii Fit age’ dropped from 31 to 16! **Wii Fit calculates your ‘fit’ age based on your true age and some balance and stability exercises.  I’m currently 4 years under my true age, while my hubster, he’s AT his true age (no we’re not competitive with this or anything! 😉

She had so much fun last night trying to get her Daddy ‘OFF’ the leader board in Hula Hoop.. .she was so close, but had a few more rounds to go before he was ALL gone… 😉  She gets better with each attempt though… (as a side note she mentioned she wasn’t sure if she’d ever get Mommy off the leader board!)

hehehe

I am doing some knitting, but it’s taking me FOREVER and a day to finish even the simplest of items… I mean seriously, I decided to join in on a dishcloth KAL.  I belong to a few of them but haven’t been doing them lately..so I joined in and then, for some reason I didn’t get the last few emails… though I do know the pattern and they’ve since published the complete pattern…  here’s as far as I got… (One piece Swimsuit)

I will finish it… but I have to print out the remainder of the pattern…

Also, I’m working on the Itty BItty version of the Kitchen Sink bag… I have so much kitchen cotton I figured I knit a few grocery bags and cut down on my plastic use 🙂

This is the knitting I brought with me to camping, however I didn’t get too far.. maybe half of the pattern… ? I’m not sure

And , while I’m VERY ahead of plan on this one, I haven’t done much on my mom’s Hemlock Ring blanket

It’s hard to photograph since it’s on a circular needle… but, I’m on row 85 I think of about 120 something…

I spent some time last night working on designs, and it’s coming along nicely… 🙂 I”m working on some bath sets right now.. .but have a few other things in mind also…. stay tuned…

Now.. off to the store.. my Big Girl and I are camping tonight with the girl scouts…  so we have some things we need to get packed and picked up at the store…

hasta

9 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    May 30, 2008 8:03 am

    I want a Wii Fit! Can this crippled old woman use it?

    And the Hemlock Ring is INCREDIBLE!

    So, Sallies are now Taddies?

  2. May 30, 2008 10:12 am

    Ha I knew they were tadpoles, lol.

    I’d love a Wii, but at my weight I think i;d step on the pad and it would breathe it’s last Wii breath, {{{sigh}}}

    Have fun at the campout

  3. May 30, 2008 1:27 pm

    If they’re frogs soon…how do you keep them from jumping all over the house. You have enough there for a Biblical plague.

  4. May 30, 2008 6:48 pm

    Ok, I googled the Sally’s and Tad’s…. if they are getting gills they are more likely Sally’s, if they get visible back feet first then they are likely Tad’s…. that’s what I found so far. 🙂 Can you tell I love researching stuff? LOL

  5. Mary permalink
    May 30, 2008 8:01 pm

    Oh that purple is gorgeous Michelle!! Can’t wait to see that all finished up 🙂 Hey, your farther along on the KAL than I am..I’m at row 12..lol have a great weekend!!!

  6. May 31, 2008 12:41 am

    Your Hemlock blanket is coming out BEAUTIFUL!

  7. May 31, 2008 2:42 pm

    LOL At least they’re not snakes!

    I hope we get some of the WiiFits out here sometime soon. It looks like fun!

  8. June 1, 2008 11:02 am

    Well lookit you – imagine that! You’re being amazingly productive and busy as usual 😛 I love the purple in the blanket for your mom; my mom’s a huge fan of purple too and I’m sure she’d love that one!

  9. June 8, 2008 7:54 pm

    Beautiful Hemlock blanket!
    Weird coincidence, I’ve got my masters in science too, animal science technically.
    Looks like you guys are having fun with your Wii!

Leave a Reply

