Skip to content

What? No Pictures?

May 27, 2008

Yeah, I left the camera in the Big Guys car… sheesh…

We’ve had a crazy insane busy week… or was it just a weekend? Man it felt like a week!

Friday my Middle guy had a field trip to the aquarium. Loads of fun was had by all.. at least AT the aquarium! The drive there was uneventful, as I had to follow the bus with the Little girl who sadly was not allowed to take the bus with her brother… she napped much of the drive though which was good for both of us… the ride back however… as far from FUN as anything can get. First, I’m unfamiliar with Philly and it’s highways/driving region… and promptly got myself ‘lost’ if that is what you can call it when you don’t even KNOT where you’re supposed to go (the directions given to me were incomplete let’s just say)…

By the time I was ‘righted’ and going the correct direction I was a mere 5 miles behind the bus… one would think that in the 2 hours (normal traffic) driving time I should catch up and pass the bus… to get us home in sufficient time for leaving for our camping trip. Let’s just point out that I specifically took the little girl and drove so that I could scoop up the middle guy and bring him home myself instead of riding the bus such that we arrive sooner and get going on our 2 hour drive to the campground… 5 miles at 4pm on the Friday of a holiday weekend, in Philly, on I76… well… all that spells certain disaster. The usual 2 hour drive ended up taking me 4 hours. I left the aquarium at just after 3 pm and pulled into my driveway at 7:15… a full 25 minutes LATER than the bus returned! I’m still surprised I never caught up with the bus… they were only 5 miles ahead of me in that parking lot that is called the Schuylkill expressway? or also known as I76… (and for the Philly folks who laugh at my pain… the 476 toll road wasn’t better… I sat in that parking lot until at least 5-10 miles past the Northeast extension… bleh!

Our drive to the campground started at 7:30, and we pulled into our site at 10pm (yeah we missed a few turns in the boonies and the dark and sheesh was my bottom sore… ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Fortunately setting up a dome tent in the dark isn’t hard.. and we all crashed into our sleeping bags not long after getting everything ‘operational’ enough for the night.

We met up with my brother-in-law and his wife and 3 children, and on Saturday two of our other friends joined us. We had a great time and even though our hike in the PA Grand Canyon was greatly shortened due to my daredevil speedster middle guys magnetic attraction of his head to the ground … it was still relaxing and fun.

We returned yesterday with a clutch of salamander eggs that sit here on my kitchen table wiggling away. We tend to hatch some critter each year… this will be our first experience with salamanders… I’m not 100% sure which kind they are yet but I think they’re two-lined salamanders, which we did see in their mature form along the stream that ran beside our campsite.

There was minimal knitting on this trip.. for various reasons.. the majority of which were that it was inevitable that if I sat in my camp chair for long enough to pick up my knitting, I was sure to be asked by the kids for something or to do something.ย  I only brought cotton work with me because of the campfire smell…ย  I am working on a few different bags for grocery shopping.ย  But I really wanted to bring my Hemlock Ring blanket I’m working on for my mom’s birthday this August.ย  I’m well into the pattern and it’s knitting up nicely in spite of the fact that I’m using Acryllic.ย  It’s a color my mom loves, and since she lives with my sister and herย  2 year old, both of which make equally bad messes and spills.. I figured that I could give up a little on the blocking for a pretty blanket my mom will love.ย  Of course.. it’s also a bonus that the yarn is from my stash! ๐Ÿ˜‰

We had a ton of fun with freeze tag, tackle sports, salamander and crawfish hunting, fishing, and just general playing. We will be joining my BIL and his family again in July for a camping trip to Watkins Glen.. and the kids are already excited about it and chatting away about the fun we’ll have there. My husband and I have both camped there in the past… and have thoroughly enjoyed the hiking and trails and all the state park has to offer. We’ll probably find a dog sitter for Murphy though as those stairs and hikes will be extremely difficult for his hips. It will be a tad sad because he loves camping, but he had a lot of trouble with the small hike we did on this trip and we plan for much more hiking at Watkins Glen…

I had something I wanted to share.. but it escapes my mind right now… I think it’s the massive pile of laundry that I washed yesterday that is distracting me. I’ll be folding ALL day I think! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cass, can you send me your b@$#h?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2008 10:20 am

    Sounds like y’all had a lot of fun! I miss camping, but I’m not going to attempt it until the youngest is potty trained. lol

  2. May 27, 2008 12:41 pm

    you can have her! She hasn’t done shit around here for days. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Nice weekend! Now fill in with pics! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    XOXO

  3. May 27, 2008 8:36 pm

    Sounds like you had a great time!

  4. May 28, 2008 11:35 am

    Watkins Glen huh? Too bad you aren’t a NASCAR fan, lol. Too bad irt wasn’t like the Adirondacks then maybe we could have met up. I think I am as far from Watkins Glen as I am from PA

Leave a Reply

