Skip to content

Only in a small town…

May 13, 2008

Grab a cup… this is a picture heavy post…

I haven’t been blogging…

I mean really.. did I have to say that??? It’s obvious I haven’t been blogging … but I had to acknowledge that I haven’t so you can understand why… first… it’s been beautiful outside… and I’m a dirt lover… see…

That right there… that’s our veggie and herb garden, taking over my patio. We’ve had a garden in all but 1 of the last 7 summers… and unfortunately, our yard doesn’t have the ‘right’ location for a garden in it (meaning one with the right size, space, and sunlight hours).. so we’re going to give it a go with a container garden. In all reality, we’re Salsa gardeners… tomatoes, peppers, and onions make up the majority of our veggie patch, however.. I’m the Veggie freak of the house, so I always throw in my favs (lettuce, spinach, and herbs) a few ‘new’ things to try. This year’s NEW addition is artichokes…

wish me luck..

Some of my previous new trials were hits (for example the mini watermelons and cantalope, or the broccoli of 2 years ago), and other’s were flops, (like the carrots and eggplant of 4 years ago).. and let us NEVER forget the summer 3 years ago of the attack strawberries.. those buggers took over the ENTIRE garden bed (they gave great strawberries, but sheesh, they didn’t leave room for much else!)

Some of the above plants are store bought, others are seedlings I started… All of them will surely be good!

Today, I had to run to our local nursery to pick up some cilantro plants. All of my years of starting seedlings has taught me that I am completely unsuccessful at starting my own cilantro for whatever reason… and while we were at said podunk nursery/hardware store… the little girl asked for a quarter to get a gumball. Well, of course I didn’t have one, but I had a rogue dollar bill in my wallet ( I swear I don’t have a clue where that came from,) I mean seriously..

I. never. have. cash.

My kids claim it as theirs as soon as I have any anyways…

well I handed it to the cashier and asked for quarters, to which he said, ‘you just spent $20 on plants, you can have a quarter’… I tried to refuse, but he wouldn’t have any of that.. and then he stood and watched my little one ask me for a specific purple/pinkish (kinda tye dye like) gumball. I told her that it’s the luck of the draw what you get.. and we put the quarter in and she started to turn it when the guy walked over with the keys to the machine and he opened it, picked out the ball that she’d wanted and handed it to her!… I swear.. you only get that kind of service in a small town..

What else has kept me from the computer you ask?… well.. knitting for one…

I made the completely INSANE challenge for myself to knit an afghan for my little one for Christmas… BY JUNE 30TH!!!! Holy moly?? what was I thinking. Now granted.. .this is a dishcloth afghan, so I just need to knit dishcloths… and sew them together. She loves bugs, and gardening and all things creepy crawly.. and at the same time she’s a bit of a princess… so.. I’m picking girly squares as well as gardening type squares… and while I had the idea that I’d be knitting it to fit her bed.. she just wants it to be a blanket she can snuggle under on the couch… so I think it will be significantly smaller than a twin sized afghan, which honestly is totally fine by me… here’s where we are so far…

8 squares in…

The Dragonfly

Purple crown (her favorite color)

A pretty yellow flower

Butterfly

(that strip is actually all knit together, which I’ll continue to do for the rest of the throw.. it will save me significantly on the seaming… but requires that I alter patterns to a consistent # of stitches… )

I also have the following squares which I’ll seam together later…

Fairy #1 (I think it’s called Leila), I’ll find a pattern link and put it here at some point…

Fairy #2, Tatiana

Gabe the snail

Yellow crown…

And yes… I do plan to duplicate some of the squares. Also on my list are another (different) dragonfly, another (different) Butterfly, a hummingbird, a lady bug, and one other fairy.

I’ll be sticking with these four colors.

For Mother’s day, we stayed home due to a visit from the stomach flu fairy… hubby made me a nice home cooked breakfast, and we spent much time working on transplanting our veglings… I got the cutest tee-shirt from my middle guy… he made it during school… and I did my annual, knit only for myself thing… I started a tank…

yeah.. I’ve acknowledged before that I’m a fast knitter… that’s where it stands as of yesterday afternoon.. I plan to have the neck completed tonight and perhaps seam or get blocking 😉

Well, my in-laws just showed up… so I’ve got to get off the computer! 😉

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2008 4:52 pm

    Wow Michelle

    I love the gumball story too funny

    I also love the dishcloth afghan idea, I have several squares I have been saving for a charity afghan. I sometimes test the pattern in acrylic in case I don’t like it I haven’t used up my dwindling supply of cotton

    I was happy to see you had blogged I was about to send out a search party for you.

    You were missed

  2. May 13, 2008 6:31 pm

    love the gumball escapade sounds like he is a great salesguy!!! I love the idea of the dishcloth afghan, how cute!

  3. May 13, 2008 7:59 pm

    Good goo woman – fast doesn’t begin to describe it! That’s looking fabulous though – and I’d considered doing something similar for Katie; we’ll have to see though, I’m not sure she can appreciate it at her age LOL

    Your planting makes me wish I had a house again!

  4. May 13, 2008 9:01 pm

    The person at the store was so sweet to give you that gumball. It’s the little things that restore my faith in people. (well, some people – ha ha)

    Can’t wait to read about your garden. Hope you are enjoying all that life has to offer you right now, I know you were having a tough go of it a while back.

  5. chanknits permalink
    May 14, 2008 7:31 am

    Love the squares, and yes, that does happen only in a small town. Our local greenhouse is owned by my toddlerhood best friend’s aunt, so it’s like family. I have shown up, only to discover I left my purse at home (it’s not five minutes from the house), and the plants and I go home, and the Knight pays next time he drives by…

    Can’t wait to hear how the artichokes grow. I love ’em!

  6. May 14, 2008 8:27 am

    Holy cow, woman! I didn’t realize you could knit that fast! 🙂 The blanket is looking beautiful. Would you mind keeping track of which patterns you used? I’d love to make something like that for the girl-child. 🙂

    It was good talking to you last night!

  7. May 14, 2008 8:40 am

    The afgan is going to be so cute. And I can say that I’m very jealous of your plants. I wish we could put in a garden this year, but since we’re moving in July, its just not worth it. There’s always next year- right?

  8. May 14, 2008 9:44 am

    Loving the blanket idea. Might have to steal that idea from you. I have some great pattern books for themed dishcloths.

  9. May 14, 2008 12:19 pm

    The afghan you are making for your daughter is absolutely adorable! She’s going to love it.

    Oh, no, I read what you said about the strawberries. I planted strawberries this year. I hope they leave enough room for my Anise and Onions to grow.

  10. May 14, 2008 1:38 pm

    You ARE a fast knitter. Could we wire something up to your needles as a way of solving the energy crisis?

  11. Mary permalink
    May 14, 2008 2:46 pm

    Thats what I like about small towns! They are like that.
    Oh garden fever got ya too..lol I’m behind on my planting seedlings so will have to buy plants. but my tomatoes so far are doing great.
    That afghan is gonna be beautiful! Love the oclors you chose too. can’t wait to see it finished and you can do it!!
    Enjoy your nice weather!!

  12. May 14, 2008 7:18 pm

    I just love your “garden”! 🙂 I’m a dirt person myself….

    That throw is going to be great! And you aren’t a fast knitter, you are a super, super, super, super FAST knitter! I’m in awe!

  13. May 15, 2008 2:43 am

    gotta love a small town. Nice people make me smile. Thanks for the start to my day.

  14. May 15, 2008 1:39 pm

    Hi there! It was nice to hear from you, and I caught up on your blog. 🙂 Isn’t Spring great? I love, love, love the gumball story, and your afghan is just perfect in the themes and colors…she’ll love it.
    I’ve spent (ahem) quite a bit this year so far at the local nurseries…but not on veggies yet… but on Clematis, sage, heath, lupine, annuals for bedding and baskets, etc…oh, and a broom plant. It’s a quest to find nice stocky sturdy cherry tomato plants around here, but I’m on the hunt! 🙂
    P.S. I LOVE the bag you made me! You MUST cast one on for yourself…it’s great, sturdy, beautiful, and I’m going to make a spring/summer one as well. It’s the best!!!!!
    I’ll be keeping in touch via your blog…
    Kris in NH 🙂

Leave a Reply

