Skip to content

See-sawing through spring in PA

May 8, 2008

That right there is how to ‘teeter totter’ (which is what I always called a see saw when I was a kid)… when you have 3 children. The little girl and the middle guy weigh just a tad more than the big girl, but it works pretty well ..

The weather is typical of the northeast for spring… we go from gorgeous sunny days, to rain and/or cold ones.. but this is much more of a Spring to us than it was when we were living in NC. There you get 70 for maybe a week, which was usually rainy, and then… 80’s followed soon with humidity… oh the fun!

I’m definitely enjoying this weather. What it means for my blogging though is.. on those gorgeous days, we’re outside, shooting hoops, hula hooping, catching bugs, hunting fairies, maybe if I’m lucky I get to sit and knit in my camp chair… but… lately it’s been more like… games of Dinner with the wolf (I think that’s what it’s called, it’s sort of a red light green light thing that ends in a chase/game of tag)… and soccer…

I’ll probably only be intermittently posting here in the next few weeks.. dependent on the weather… actually saying that is even a tad premature as we’re expecting rain for the next several days… and then cooler temps again early next week… but you never know.. my kiddos are all about saving the worms from their suicide drownings in our puddle at the bottom of the driveway… I’m sure you can picture it.. all three in their rain coats and boots, and me holding the umbrella while they sift the wiggly little buggers out of the puddle..

oh the fun! (I totally am serious)

πŸ™‚

I have been knitting though.. I’m working on a Knitty submission… sorry, that’s about all I can say here, and I’m working on a Q2 challenge knitting project (an afghan) for one of my kiddos for Christmas next year. I need to take photos of the squares I’ve knit so far… (not nearly enough of them… )

9 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    May 8, 2008 8:20 am

    Cute!! Seesaw is what we called it…

    Can’t wait to see your next Knitty accepted design. Before long, I’ll be seeing your name in yarn stores all over the country!

  2. May 8, 2008 8:32 am

    I haven’t seen a teeter totter like that in ages. I loved them as a kid…. though it hurts like you wouldn’t believe when the person on the other side jumps off suddenly, dropping you like a stone, onto feet curled under the seat. Ouch!
    We always called that game “What time is it Mr. Wolf?”, though your title works well too :).

  3. May 8, 2008 12:22 pm

    The boy child discovered recently that if he bounces down really hard on the see saw, his little sister will go flying. *sigh* Little stink. πŸ˜‰

  4. May 8, 2008 12:41 pm

    Oooh… can’t wait to find out what your next Knitty submission is! I’m here to test knit if you need… πŸ™‚

    Love the see-saw pic!

  5. May 8, 2008 1:42 pm

    That’s a great photo.

    We called it “What Time is it Mr. Wolf?” but Dinner with the wolf works too because at the end he yells DINNER TIME! LOL we used to get so picky about kids taking ittybitty steps… sooo cheating! LOL

    Break a needle (knitter’s version of break a leg) — for the Knitty design!

  6. May 8, 2008 9:09 pm

    Cute photo, I always thought it was a see saw too! πŸ™‚
    Believe it or not, we’ve actually had a “Spring” so far this year! Usually it does go from cold to scorching hot but for some reason we’ve had plenty of nice 70’s days. And plenty of wind & thunderstorms… can’t have it all I suppose!

  7. Mary permalink
    May 9, 2008 5:06 pm

    Oh looks like fun! Gosh its been years, but I still love me a swing!!!
    Enjoy the nice weather!!

  8. stillkickin permalink
    May 15, 2008 12:31 am

    Hey all you guys over in the Colonies! Spring has also struck in England, we’ve had temperature in the mid-twenties (Celsius; work it out!!) And most importantly: No Rain!

    This has involved a series of seemingly never ending chases of the boys, known as Muppet #1 and Muppet # 2 by either the Kissing Monster (Me) or the Tickling Monster (also Me). Great fun!

    Good ole spring.

  9. May 19, 2008 1:37 pm

    I know that PA weather only too well, having grown up in the “country” north west of philly.
    Have a great spring!

Leave a Reply

