Skip to content

Over the Top!

April 28, 2008

Our weekend started with the blossoming of our tulips! Yay.. spring is really here (though this mornings chilly 46 F at the bus stop was a bit frightful!) As new home owners it’s been fun to see what the previous owner had planted in the yard, and what I want to add for next year… (yes the dork in me already has a notebook started of what to plant and where)…

there are some other tulips that didn’t bloom until Sunday, so I didn’t get their photo just yet…

Also this weekend the first of our veggies started poking through… no photos yet.. but big girl and I are pumped that our Artichokes are already taking root!

The biggest plans for the weekend though were the Middle Guy’s birthday party at the skate rink… and the trip to Philly for the circus with grandma and grandpa.

The middle guys party was a hit… to the bottom for some, but most actually were upset about having to leave at the end of the day…

here’s a few select shots…

The finished cake turned out great and everyone loved the whipped cream topping… much yummier cake when it doesn’t have the heaviness of the butter cream frosting on it..

Little girl did quite well once we switched her to these skates…

These however were much too ‘rolly’… the wheels spun too freely for her to even stand alone on the skate rink floor!

Big girl had a friend (sibling to one of the Middle Guys school friends) who was there too so she had a nice time visiting with her!

Eventually he was out there on his own… he had a ball.. in fact he fell asleep on a 5 minute drive to the park after the party had ended!

Cake time!

6!?!?! Where has the time gone?

After surviving the roller rink with 13 kids… we moved onto the Circus. My Father in law works in Philly and his company had discounted tickets to the circus. This is the first time I’ve been in I don’t know how long… at least 25 years! There were protest signs at the entry area about animal cruelty… which is always a concern for me.. however I have to say I was impressed with Barnum and Bailey’s new (to me) ‘information’ about animal protection and conservation. Talk is cheap though, so I will be doing more investigating. The show was SENSATIONAL to be honest.. I had as good a time as the kids, or maybe even better! What a fun time! They had performers on the floor for a pre-show and you could get autographs and watch acts from up close. The clowns were hilarious, the acrobats strong and amazing, and the elephant beautiful! we didn’t take many pictures because our seats were up high… we did get some from the pre-show though and I’ll share with you a taste of today’s ‘Over the Top’ Barnum and Bailey’s show. They offer a variety of shows now and ‘Over the Top’ was fabulous!

This first set of photos is of the Chinese acrobats. First off.. the strength these men have was just phenomenal.. however.. some of the unusual positions they were in had me mildly worried for a future family for them! I didn’t photograph ALL of their acts.. but there were a few that were really quite odd.. Flinging themselves off a swing onto a bar which they ‘caught’ between their legs? OUCH during many a practice session I’m certain!

A quick shot of part of the Elephant show

The finale

Each child had a favorite part… the Mama loved the agility dogs (yes they had a dog section!  Sooo cool).. motorcycles and contortionists… the clowns are also always a favorite with their various antics… The big guy loved the motorcycles in the ball and the acrobats,  the Middle guy loved those bouncy ‘wheels’ you see in the above photo… he even asked for one for Christmas (now that birthdays are over they’re already asking for Christmas… ugh)… the Big Girl loved the Tigers, the little girl was mesmerized by everything.. she slept for the second half but really enjoyed all that she saw in the first half! The Grandma and Grandpa really had a great time as well, they were most awed by the cost of cotton candy ($12) and coffee ($3.50) and it wasn’t Starbucks folks!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2008 8:25 am

    Wow, looks like a fantastic weekend – all your hard work really paid off!

    Thanks for sharing the pics of the kiddos having fun – I always like to see those.

    I have a garden notebook, too. Nothing dorky about it, my friend.

  2. Lesley permalink
    April 28, 2008 8:36 am

    Sounds like a busy weekend! Busy, but lots of fun.

    As far as circuses go, I’d still prefer to see all wild animals retired from circus work and placed in sanctuary. I remember going to the circus as a kid and wanting to go ride on the elephant. At one point in line, I was on the steps to the mounting platform and was eye to eye with the animal. There was so much pain and sadness in his eyes, it broke my heart.

    While you’re doing your research, I recommend not checking out PETA. They have a rather extreme view (they would be upset you have pets…they don’t believe in pets. It’s not info they’re obvious about, but if you dig it’s there) and they have a track record of falsifying info and using way outdated information.

  3. Anne permalink
    April 28, 2008 8:47 am

    I think the circus is grand – I’m so glad you all had such a wonderful weekend with the party and the circus! And I gotta tell you.. 12$ for cotton candy? In awe isn’t what I’m thinking – that’s insane!

  4. April 28, 2008 8:59 am

    I LOVE the circus! What a great birthday party.

    The bonnet on my blog is from Claire Montgomerie’s Easy Baby Knits.

    I modified the pattern – decreasing every knit row, not every other, and doing less total decreases (the pattern calls for 12. I did 7, and then k2tog on the next row.). Following the pattern exactly gave a very pointy back of the bonnet.

    Good luck!

  5. April 28, 2008 10:52 am

    Sorry I haven’t commented in so long but I just had to stop in and tell you that you have MAD cakes skills!

    Hugs!

  6. April 28, 2008 12:25 pm

    What a fantastic weekend! The pictures of the roller rink brought me back to the many times I went skating with friends. Such fun!

  7. chanknits permalink
    April 28, 2008 2:12 pm

    What fun! I spent many a Friday night at the skatin’ rink…

  8. Mary permalink
    April 28, 2008 6:53 pm

    Oh what a beautiful tulip!!
    Looks like skating was fun…lol Hope they enjoyed the circus. gosh its been years since we went there. One of Mikes aunts would always takes our boys (when younger) every year to the
    B&B Circus in Philly! MIss it!
    The cake turned out great!!! You sure are one heck of a talented gal!

  9. April 29, 2008 9:05 am

    You are one busy lady. You are amazing! The cake looks fantastic. Best of luck with the flowers – you can do it. The circus looks like fun. I want to go roller skating!!!

Leave a Reply

