Skip to content

How will you reduce your carbon footprint?

April 22, 2008

Info on this photo can be found here

I visited the Earth Lab website and took this test this morning on my family’s carbon footprint…

Honestly, I am proud at how well we are doing with our recycling, our ‘green’ gardening, our energy conservation in our home, but still… I faired poorer than I’d expected on my test… I’m certain that it is in part that I do not know how much of our energy comes from renewable resources (a lot of the energy (electric anyway) here in NEPA comes from wind.. if you look on the mountain tops as you drive up US 81, you’ll see the wind turbines… Also I am unsure of our exact ‘average’ monthly costs for our electric and natural gas. I will update my test with those averages and will research the renewable resource deal this afternoon as well… maybe our footprint will be better than the 443 score we received. (**Which by the way was higher than the average for our area which floors me since so few people here recycle and everyone has to drive to work down the mountain!)

443….

WHAT?!?!?!

I’ve started taking the NUMEROUS pledges on the Earth Lab Website, and strongly encourage you to do so as well… Many of them I already do.. so I picked those first since you can only make 20 pledges per month.. I figured.. .check those off the list and move on to others… I did of course pick a few that I do NOT already do… and will work hard on those moving forward.

How will you spend your Earth Day? Well … for one.. here at our house, it’s Earth Week… we have various activities planned for each day.. and today we are planting our veggie garden. We will start in pots on our window sills, and will move them to the outdoors when the weather is perfect (though honestly lately it has been.. I do have to remind myself though that we are in NEPA.. and the weather might change in 5 minutes…)

We’re using recycled yogurt containers and the like (the ones our local recycling plant won’t take.. **They only take #1 and #2 plastics, so we’re using #5’s and #7’s which are popular for yogurt containers etc. That way we’re doing our own ‘version’ of recycling with those particular items… and we’re also using the various terracotta pots I have… we’re going to do a pot garden that we have a spot to put them in … this is our first garden at our new home and sadly our back yard gets limited sunshine for a real garden plot… planting in pots seems most reasonable as they can be moved around if needed.

We will be planting some trees as well… and of course, our regular recycling. We have a semi secret recycling project going on in the basement as well.. the TOYS that are unused will be donated by the end of next week at the Salvation Army donation center in our area. It will clean up our basement for one, and bring lovely ‘gently’ used toys to kids who might not be able to afford new versions. My kiddos are in on this project at a certain level, however, Mommy has been doing a bit more ‘adding’ to the box than they realize…

I’ll update more on this post a bit later today, specifically about my pledges and how I plan to implement them… but also about our garden, what will be planted and why we’re doing such a varied garden this year… but I have a job interview to get ready for… and limited time.. plus the nerves are just about killing me 😉

wish me luck!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. chanknits permalink
    April 22, 2008 8:22 am

    I’ll take the quiz and make you feel better. Hold on…

    Job interview?! You’re holding out on me, chickadee!

  2. April 22, 2008 10:49 am

    Job interview? Where will you squeeze in a job with all the cake decorating? =0)

    I took the test…and scored a 282 with 10.1 carbon tons. I think the fact that some days I don’t drive my car at all really helps us out. And we haven’t flown anywhere in years. And we do recycle/garden/compost. I guess I’m greener than I thought.

  3. April 22, 2008 10:56 am

    After I saw Inconvenient Truth, I went online and took a similar quiz and was shocked (and appalled) at how high our score was. It was mostly due to the fact that for our research, my husband and I both drive trucks. While we bike as much as possible, even a small amount of mileage is a huge impact.

    Thanks for sharing what you are doing to help…It’s inspiring to see the changes people are making to have less of an impact on our resources. Kudos to you!

  4. Cindy permalink
    April 22, 2008 10:56 am

    I got a 331, we drive too much but there is no (as in none, nada, nothing) in the way of public transportation here. So if I can ride a bike and have the time okay, if not, we drive.

  5. Mary permalink
    April 22, 2008 11:15 am

    Well I tried to take the test..lol can’t get one vehicle listed, nothing for a 66..lol had to guess on the 85..lol newest we own! Oh well..I do recycle and do garden and I think we would fair pretty well though it would be nice to know, probably be the vehicles but we do drive together so that saving lots!

  6. April 22, 2008 1:25 pm

    Well, mine was around 312. We are a one-car family, so perhaps that helped. Plus, we have no children and I think extra people count against you.
    I’ll be planting trees this weekend too! Two chestnut trees to replace the ones my neighbor ripped down. Mutter.

  7. April 22, 2008 8:01 pm

    I’m not even going to try 😮 I drive an SUV – a baby one (crossovers I think is the posh term now – a Rav4), and don’t intend to give it up anytime soon. That said I do try and combine trips and do other good things! Thank you for the post though – gets me to thinkingn – can’t wait to hear more about the interview!

  8. April 23, 2008 8:16 am

    I scored a 343, but if I removed all the flights we take it would be much lower. My hubby travels a lot for work and we travel a bunch too.

  9. April 24, 2008 12:00 am

    I am off to take the test. Thanks for this we all need to do our bit don’t we.

Leave a Reply

